We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Romantic, Refreshing Stay”
Review of The Ashbrooke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ashbrooke
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We stayed one night in the French Country Suite and decided to extend our stay but, due to availability, we moved to the Wicker Suite.
It's located on the highway, just outside of Egg Harbor. I suppose it is technically walking distance to town for most, but I wouldn't do it after dark on the road shoulder. It also isn't a very interesting hike. In my ideal world, it would either be closer to town or farther out and away from the highway. But that's my very, very minor preference.
The grounds are very neat and well kept and we couldn't resist enjoying a relaxing, pre-dinner cocktail (or two) outdoors in the Adirondack chairs. The highway noise is noticeable, but isn't a huge distraction. The deck off of the pool was nice and very popular. Like the rest of the property, the pool area was very clean and neat.
The first room was flawless, well appointed, very spacious, bright, comfortable, clean and, as advertised, romantic. We put the wet bar, whirlpool tub and fireplace to good use. The robes were a nice touch. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.
Our second room was similar but smaller, without a fireplace and not as bright. It was still very nice and comfortable. We faced the highway, but couldn't hear a thing from the road. It too, was flawless. After a day of hiking and sightseeing, though, the whirlpool served a more therapeutic purpose. Both rooms had a microwave and refrigerator neatly hidden in the cabinets. The TV's weren't HD, but we only had them on briefly to watch the news and weather.
The small workout room seemed adequate and a library/business center had a computer and wet bar. Each morning, the office had fresh muffins and coffee to supplement the in-room coffee maker.
It may cost a bit more than some other properties, we'd definitely recommend this to other couples.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeverUnpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

The Ashbrooke is so clean and comfortable. It is within walking distance of the downtown shops and Egg Harbor is centrally located in Door County. The staff is so helpful with suggestions on places to eat and sights to see. There is a gym, a great pool and deck, and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFDollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Picked this hotel because of the positive reviews on tripadvisor, and I was pleased to see it live up to my expectations. We stayed in a room without a whirlpool, and it was very clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationingfun6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We travel quite a bit and always book at good motels/hotels. The Ashbrooke, however, was the best by far. Our room was immaculate, very comfortable and fully appointed. The grounds, parking, and general appearance of the Ashbrooke add to the overall feeling of serenity. Although we didn't use them, the fitness center, pool, whirlpool and sauna are excellent and inviting. All in all, we truly felt like guests rather than customers!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

My wife and I recently stayed in a "french country suite". We loved the windows in this
suite that gave us a beautiful harbor breeze. The housekeeping in the entire resort
is to be commended. This resort was built in 1990 and even though the late 80's and
early 90's design motif it all still looks brand new. The pool,whirlpool and sauna are
very well maintained - we were very glad to take advantage of this ammenity. Just a
short ride to Fish Creek and Peninsula State Park where most of action was. It was
nice to go back to the quiet Ashbrooke though. The price was moderately high but
it was the peak season which is expected. The staff was very friendly and helpfull-

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtop5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Stayed at the Ashbrooke in the middle of May - before the full summer season began in Door Co - less crowds. The Grande Suite w/ whirlpool was very, very clean and very large. There may have been 10-12 other couples in the hotel for the weekend - we only ran into two during our three day stay. The room was extremely quiet and private. The in door pool area with outside deck is very well done and again very clean. It was nice being able to sit at the pool without a lot of screaming. It was like it was our private pool. The location is within a mile egg harbor shops and a nice food market where you can pick up items to store in the in room fridge. The Bedroom is separate from the living room. The living room easily could seat 4 without being crowded. The living room fireplace and cathedral ceiling is a very nice touch. The web site pictures do not do the room justice. The only minor issues we could think of was that the water temp in the shower was only on the "very warm" side - not "hot" as we would have liked. The whirlpool only had an on/off switch - no way to adjust the speed of the jets. Overall, we would stay again and would recommend the Ashbrooke to other couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNR2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Everything from top to bottom was excellent. Cannot say a bad word about anything.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jjw0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
8.7 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
829 reviews
13.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
227 reviews
5.2 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
11.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbrooke

Address: 7942 State Highway 42, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range: £107 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashbrooke 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ashbrooke, "Just for the Two of You". Our renowned attention to detail and unyielding commitment to excellence prove everyday that quality, comfort and courteous hospitality still count. Your escape to The Ashbrooke will renew your faith in customer service, and your stay will be an unforgettable experience. Your search for a great getaway stops here at The Ashbrooke, located on the beautiful Door County peninsula, the best Wisconsin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Ashbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbrooke Hotel Egg Harbor
Ashbrooke Egg Harbor
Ashbrooke Hotel Egg Harbor
The Ashbrooke Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing