We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Host is horrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Feathered Star B&B

The Feathered Star B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egg Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Feathered Star B&B
Ranked #4 of 4 Egg Harbor B&B and Inns
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Host is horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

Well, we took a chance on this place which we knew might be a risk given that they aren't part of the BBB. It was overall a dissapointment. It was really close to the highway and this is a "modern" building, not like what you expect...a little history, a step back in time. And the prices were a little higher than what you would expect given that its only "features" are the supposed handmade quilts. But the worst part was when the host became so hostile to us when I asked her if she bought the quilts on QVC, which if anyone has every watched they sell some really beautiful quilts. After I asked that question, the host Sandra was just horrible to me and the rest of my group. I will never go back and i would never recommend this place to anyone else. If you do go, take caution and don't do anything that might upset Sandra or you'll end up regretting the day you stepped foot into her establisshment. Two thumbs down from this guest as the host is a big part of making a stay at a B&B wonderful or not.

  • Liked — It was easy to find along the highway.
  • Disliked — The host Sandra seems emotionally unbalanced, easily becomes hostile.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacFmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2007

The rooms are charming, large and clean. The location on the highway was a little disappointing on arrival but was actually quiet. The breakfast was a modest continental. A good place for pets and very accessible. (No cable tv although another reviewer listed it. . ) I would probably stay somewhere else in Door County because of the location - several miles south of Egg Harbor.

  • Liked — Rooms were large and nicely appointed
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2007

Feathered Star is an absolutely fabulous place to stay. We stayed for a week last summer ('06) and returned again this summer for another week.

The rooms are beautiful with handmade quilts and fireplaces. Some of the rooms have outside entrances. It's a great place to bring dogs. The owner loves dogs and there is ample place in the country setting for dogs to run and play. My dog Molly, loved playing with the resident dog, Thunder. Last year Thunder taught Molly how to catch a frisbee! (Although, your dog will have room to play separately if desired as well.)

The breakfasts each morning includes homemade baked muffins or coffeecake, fresh fruit and the best coffee with cream I've ever had.

Even if you don't have a pet, or care for pets, this is a great place, because there is plenty of room for people to be away from the pets too. The rooms are so spotlessly clean that no one could tell pets had stayed there previously.

Also, this bed & breakfast allows children and is handicapped accessible, which is not true of all bed and breakfasts.

Overall, would I stay here again? Yes, definitely (probably next year!)

  • Liked — Pet friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing--loved everything about it!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tajgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2007

What a find! Fireplaces in every room, also a TV, cable, DVD player, refridge and cold bottled water. Each room has a porch, restroom and a theme. There is a hot tub, sitting room, beautiful dining room with fresh muffins every morning. Hand made fudge is delivered to each room at night. PETS WELCOME! Wheelchair (ALLL SIZES) can be accomodated, as well as equipment. Not on the water, but who cares!

  • Liked — The inn keeper, clean and allow dogs
  • Disliked — Not on the water
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JakeEllwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2006

Looking for a bed and breakfast in Door County? Look no further! The Feathered Star is wonderful. The service is outstanding, it is extremely comfortable, the decor is beatiful, and the location is prime. My wife and I enjoyed our stay so much that we will be returning to the Feathered Star in December. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank upnorth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
6.0 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
15.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathered Star B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathered Star B&B

Property: The Feathered Star B&B
Address: 6202 State Highway 42, Egg Harbor, WI
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Egg Harbor
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Feathered Star B&B Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing