We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Visit - Love the place!”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“3rd Visit - Love the place!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is our 3rd visit and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all of the amenities like home. The pool and whirlpool are a great escape, clean and well maintained. The staff is and has always been very friendly and helpful. Love the library/game area. My husband and I love to play games, so every year we wander down there, play a game and relax with a cup of cappacino.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    108
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
140
114
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Newport Resort. We stayed there based on a recommendation from friends. Our suite was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The entire facility seemed very well maintained. We were there mid-week after the start of the school year, so there were very few children there during our stay. But, with the indoor pool, outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor playgrounds, and small video game room, it appears to be a good choice for families. Newport doesn't have the water view offered by some Door County facilities, but it also isn't as pricey as a similar property with a water view. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is pretty basic. Since neither my wife nor I are big breakfast eaters it wasn't really a problem, but if you want a nice breakfast you'll want to go elsewhere. The location is convenient and within reasonable walking distance to the business area in Egg Harbor for most people. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and felt that the Newport is a good value for Door County lodging. We will definitely consider Newport next time we visit Door County.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have been coming to Newport Resort for the past 3 years and always have a wonderful experience. The staff is super awesome and always willing to help or just have a conversation. The rooms are up to date and very comfy and cozy (just like home). When you walk though the door it is welcoming and clean. Both pool areas are kept up well and towels are always readily available. The continental breakfast is a plus and a great way to start your morning before heading into beautiful door county for your day! Newport Resort is also in the perfect location, it's nice to be able to walk somewhere to grab a bite to eat or shop. So if your planning a trip to door county don't pass up the opportunity to stay at Newport Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you!!! Sharing family time and creating memories in Door County is the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had a 2 bedroom room with a nice layout. It was nice to have a full kitchen, dining room table and 2 bathrooms. Our biggest complaint was the place was dirty. The showers were a bit dirty and they needed to clean the shower heads, as hardly any water was coming out of the one in the master bedroom. There was visible stains on the floor in the kitchen, which we needed to clean up ourselves. When we walked around without socks after our showers our feet we getting dirty. The pool and whirlpool needed to be cleaned. there was stuff settling on the bottom of the whirlpool that was unexplainable. Yes, we did call and ask for our room to be cleaned. We even left a better tip than we normally do, but that didn't help. The place needed to be updated more. They did have new furniture and looked like fresh paint, but more could be done. The staff who checked us in, were great and nice. The person we talked to ask to have our room cleaned, was a bit short, but think it was shock, because we did in person with other people at the counter. Next year when we go back to Door County we will try a different place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DOA1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

We decided at the last mint to visit Door, so our hotel options werevery limited. The Newport Resort was a VERY pleasant surprise our one-bedroom suite had a fully-equipped kitchen, jacuzzi tub and comfortable king-sized bed. My only real complaint was with the breakfast, which was starch heaven with an excess of bread, muffins, donuts, sweet cereals and instant oatmeal, no fruit whatsoever and only whole milk and some of the weakest coffee I've had in a long time. There were low-fat yogurt and hard-boiled eggs, but, on the whole, breakfast could use some improvement. That said, I'd definitely stay here again ( and bringy own breakfast foods to cook in my kitchen!)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Newport Resort and felt it was a great value. I am sorry the continental breakfast did not meet your expecations. We offer a simple continental breakfast year round to get your day going. Guests do love the having the full kitchens in all of our suites and nearby restaurants for alternative breakfast choices. We appreciate your comments and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We are a couple but would also find this resort kid friendly. Very clean and great facilities. Pools are clean and were not crowded during ou weekday visit. No water view but easy walking distance to town. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirlLRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our family of 5 spent our summer vacation at the Newport Resort. The resort has a great location just a short walk from the Egg Harbor shops, restaurants and marina. There are many amenities for a family with kids. Nice indoor and outdoor pools, fitness room, game room, ball pit, playground and lobby with books and board games. The rooms are nicely decorated, but a little cramped especially with the hideaway bed pulled out. Everyone was very friendly. The only complaints are everyday housekeeping kept wanting to clean our room at about 9:00am. We had to continually ask them to come back later. I've never experienced this before. I thought housekeeping tried to clean rooms between 11:00 and 3:00 when guest were most likely to be out their rooms. The other minor complaint is the continental breakfast. The options were very bland and we actually could not eat it after the third day. We bought food and cooked in our room. Other than that it the Newport is a great resort for a Door County vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
203 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
743 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Property: Newport Resort
Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing