We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to feel at home”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

These suites really make you feel at home. There is a separate living area with fire place, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The rooms are very clean and the bed is very comfortable. The staff is great and your every need is taken care of quickly. There is a breakfast room, but no restaurant. There is a nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. The outdoor pool looks nice, but is currently covered for winter. There is a game room with 4 games, and a small exercise room.

This resort is in Egg Harbor, within walking distance of the downtown area. We are here now, the last weekend of October. Some of the shops are closed, including The Chocolate Chicken (which I wanted to check out). I was told by the front desk that area businesses are starting to close for the winter season. We did go to Shipwrecked to eat. Their microbrew, Shipwrecked Cherry Wheat was excellent!!! This beer was worth the trip, if nothing else. They have mac n cheese on the menu that is excellent (with a beer cheese fondue type cheese sauce). Very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GandYMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for sharing your great experience at Newport Resort!!! While a number of businesses close for the winter here in Egg Harbor nine restaurants and twenty two shops/galleries stay open through the winter season at least on the weekends. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Newport Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed for a long weekend over the annual pumpkin festival weekend. The hotel is only a block from the main road where all the shops, restaurants and bars are located. We reserved a nice two bedroom with kitchenette and living room on the second level. The room itself was laid out nice with bedrooms on both sides of the living room/kitchen. The owners and the front desk were a great help with restaurant selections. They do have a nice continental breakfast each morning. The hotel is very well maintained and clean. The indoor pool and hot tub was very nice and the hours were great. We would stay here again and see the Fall colors. If you do stay here we would recommend head to Casey’s for a nice drink and lunch (smoked brisket)!!

Room Tip: We liked second floor with the bedrooms separted by the living room and kitchen.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank backus2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The Newport Resort exceeded any of my expectations. We had stayed at other been to properties during other visits to Door County but the Newport is the best one we have ever stayed at. The staff is great, especially Jason who knows so much about the area and its attractions and history. Randy was always helpful as well, taking time to chat with us as if we were a member of his family.

The room was spotless and provided us with everything we needed during our stay. A fireplace and flat panel TV in the living room are an enjoyable way to spend an evening or sitting out on the deck. The continental breakfast was wonderful with a large selection and fresh hot coffee and cold orange juice. Shopping and restaurants in Egg Harbor are within walking distance of the Newport. They have a large indoor pool, sauna and hot tub to relax in after a long day. The first floor has an indoor area for bicycle storage. They also have 4 outdoor gas grills undercover and an area to eat outdoors as well.

Many of the shops and restaurants in the area either close down or have weekend hours for the late fall & winter that begin in the last week end in October.

We wish to thank all of the staff at the Newport for the wonderful experience we had there and hope to return there for a winter visit to enjoy Door County at that time of the year.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms facing the gazebo are quiet and have wonderful views
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ILBoomerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

1 bedroom ,with full kitchen.
Kitchen was nice, included dishes ,towels ,even dish soap. Cozy living room with gas fireplace. Rm 201,very nice! The view ,morning sunrise & eveing sunset was beautiful on our private balcony. I'm picky with the cleaning, i usually clean the tub myself to make sure it's done, otherwise everything was clean and kept up. Staff was friendly and helpful.
It's a short walk to for a bite to eat or shopping. Will def go back again , hopefully have the same room.
Check out the Shipwreck. good food , had the Scallops & Shrimp Mac & Cheese..Yum!
Not a huge beer fan but the carmel and cherry beers were Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracy2hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed here for a girls weekend in October. We had two two-bedroom rooms that were very clean and easily accomadated us. The staff was polite and helpful. We liked how close it is to downtown Egg Harbor and not too far from Fish Creek. I would definetly reccomend this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you enjoy another stay with us at Newport Resort!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Recently stayed at Newport Resort in two bedroom unit. Very clean, wonderful staff and close to everything. Enjoyed our balcony during the day and gas fireplace came in handy in the evenings. Would be a great place for couples or families with children. We stayed in 131 which faced back of resort and was very quiet. Would not hesitate to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solitude033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here while attending a wedding in mid September. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was very nice The suite also featured a kitchenette and a sitting area with a gas fireplace which we turned on one evening. Very cozy on chilly evening. The bedrooms are small but beds are quite comfortable. Linens smelled a little antiseptic but at least you know they are clean. One thing I did not like was that the the light switch to the bathroom is actually behind the door so finding your way in duriing the middle of the night can be somewhat awkward. Our room was hot the first night and the window air conditioner did not appear to work that well. The desk clerk explained to us that it was due to the outside air temperature which had dropped down to the low forties that night. She said that the outside air is drawn into the air conditioner and the air conditioner thermostat senses the cold temperture and therefore does not acutally work to produce and release cooler air. That is my technical interpretation but makes sense in my odd sort of way!!! Anyway, it was quite easy to open the window the next night. Pluses to the room: Very clean, gas fireplace, cute balcony, whirlpool tub, seemed very quiet in the room despite no vacancies, complementary coffee (please get rid of the styrofoam cups!). There is also a continental breakfast served where you can grab a sweetroll and a small box of cereal. Very minimal! Service very good. The hairdryer did not work in the room and the wall unit was replaced immediately with a working dryer after a quick phone call to the front desk. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is bright and sunny,not musty smelling like so many other Door County properties that do not get much sun. It is clean and the staff friendly. Location is one block off the main highway and you can walk to a supermarket, restaurants and shops. Price was very reasonable. We stayed without kids but it looked like it had an indoor and outdoor pool, and a game room. There is also a small exercise room with a few treadmills and other equipment. It is not the Ritz Carlton but one of the nicest places I have been to in Door County in a long time.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 227.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wisgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
215 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
785 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range: £69 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing