We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We came to the Newport for our honeymoon and it was very nice! We spent a lot of time around Door County but Newport was great "home base". We stayed only for a weekend. The suite style room was awesome, and the fireplace and kitchen made it homey and comfortable. And the bathtub was amazing!

It was a disappointment to my husband that he was not able to smoke on the balcony of the hotel. We made sure to book a room with a balcony so that he would have a place to go, and he of course knew not to smoke in the room. We didn't really understand why it wouldn't have been okay to smoke on the balcony since it was outside, but I assume there is a good reason.

Room Tip: our room was upstairs on the farthest west side. no bright sun waking us up and it was quiet and of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked a suite for a Saturday night to spend the weekend in DC to celebrate our anniversary and this place didn't disappoint at all. Glad we booked ahead because they had no vacancy sign up. They said we could check in early and we did as rooms were ready early as promised. Upon arrival we found out we ended up getting a 2 bd suite instead of 1 bdrm on first floor. It had a kitchenette, family room had gas fireplace with flat screen, and 2 baths - 1 with shower, 1 with 2 person whirlpool tub and 2 bdrms each with TVs. The decor was updated and the whole place was very cozy. We really enjoyed the gas FP and whirlpool tub on a chilly night though you should know the tub is in bathroom and looked smaller than in pics...probably due to 2 bedrooms. If it were warmer I'm sure the patio would've been nice to enjoy. Everything was very clean. Towels were fluffier than most. Front desk people were super nice and able to make good recommendations about where to eat. For a close place if you are craving pizza, Villagio's is only a few miles north and really good. We really didn't use kitchen much only staying 1 night but it was nice to have wine glasses on hand for the wine we bought and a nice fridge for the pizza leftovers. It was a real nice location with lots of shops and places to eat within walking distance and short drive to lots of the other DC towns. It was a great value at $99 on a Saturday night. We will definitely come back with kids next time as they would enjoy the pool and indoor play area. It would also be convenient to be able to cook and save money on eating out.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennmmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at Newport Resort on Trip Advisor. We look forward to having your family stay with us in the future. The children will love the pools and playland!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I read many reviews for cabins, hotels, motels, and resorts as well as posts in the Door County travel forum before selecting Newport Resort. We were happy with our selection. The resort is not new and could use a little maintenance and TLC, but our one-bedroom condo was clean and provided just enough space for our four-day visit to Door County. I splurged a little for an upstairs unit and was glad not to have overhead footsteps, but no real view was gained.

My photos will show our accomodations, so I'll let them speak for me. We were very happy to have a complimentary breakfast every morning before beginning our day's activities, and we were glad to have a kitchen for preparing our own dinner some evenings so that we would not have to eat all of our meals out. The location within walking distance to Main Street and the harbor was ideal; since the resort is one block off the main road, traffic noise was not an issue.

Regarding resort ammenities, the pool and hot tub were fine, but the hot tub jets could be better placed -- too bad there was no variety of heights to acknowledge the varying height and aches of the guests. The pool room was light and clean with an ample supply of towels. The buildings had laundry rooms on the second and third floors; it was a little disappointing to find only one washer and dryer in each laundry room. I spent 5 hours one afternoon/evening checking every half hour for an available machine. When the machine was finally available, I had to remove the clothes of another guest who did not return for their clean clothes. The most aggravating feature of the resort was the inconsistent internet connectivity. We were not the only guests who had to go to the lobby to keep a connection. During our entire 4-day stay, the connection never improved though the problem was reported.

Would we recommend Newport Resort -- certainly. Would we return -- definitely. The value obtained for the price paid was good, and the convenience of having a condo provided all we needed for an active visit to the towns and parks in Door County.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

It was a negative review on this hotel thatmade me want to stay there because that review just showed the reviewer was not very smart and "Wow" was I shocked at how great the Newport Resort is.

The room was a beautiful one bedroom condo with a full kitchen, a fireplace (which was great due the the cold weather) Televisions in both the bedroom and a large flat screen above the fireplace and a huge tub in the bathroom with very soft towels.

The rates were too good to be true and the lady on the front desk was wonderful.

We look forward to going back and stay longer, as it was like going home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coachpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

These suites really make you feel at home. There is a separate living area with fire place, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The rooms are very clean and the bed is very comfortable. The staff is great and your every need is taken care of quickly. There is a breakfast room, but no restaurant. There is a nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. The outdoor pool looks nice, but is currently covered for winter. There is a game room with 4 games, and a small exercise room.

This resort is in Egg Harbor, within walking distance of the downtown area. We are here now, the last weekend of October. Some of the shops are closed, including The Chocolate Chicken (which I wanted to check out). I was told by the front desk that area businesses are starting to close for the winter season. We did go to Shipwrecked to eat. Their microbrew, Shipwrecked Cherry Wheat was excellent!!! This beer was worth the trip, if nothing else. They have mac n cheese on the menu that is excellent (with a beer cheese fondue type cheese sauce). Very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GandYMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for sharing your great experience at Newport Resort!!! While a number of businesses close for the winter here in Egg Harbor nine restaurants and twenty two shops/galleries stay open through the winter season at least on the weekends. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed for a long weekend over the annual pumpkin festival weekend. The hotel is only a block from the main road where all the shops, restaurants and bars are located. We reserved a nice two bedroom with kitchenette and living room on the second level. The room itself was laid out nice with bedrooms on both sides of the living room/kitchen. The owners and the front desk were a great help with restaurant selections. They do have a nice continental breakfast each morning. The hotel is very well maintained and clean. The indoor pool and hot tub was very nice and the hours were great. We would stay here again and see the Fall colors. If you do stay here we would recommend head to Casey’s for a nice drink and lunch (smoked brisket)!!

Room Tip: We liked second floor with the bedrooms separted by the living room and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank backus2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The Newport Resort exceeded any of my expectations. We had stayed at other been to properties during other visits to Door County but the Newport is the best one we have ever stayed at. The staff is great, especially Jason who knows so much about the area and its attractions and history. Randy was always helpful as well, taking time to chat with us as if we were a member of his family.

The room was spotless and provided us with everything we needed during our stay. A fireplace and flat panel TV in the living room are an enjoyable way to spend an evening or sitting out on the deck. The continental breakfast was wonderful with a large selection and fresh hot coffee and cold orange juice. Shopping and restaurants in Egg Harbor are within walking distance of the Newport. They have a large indoor pool, sauna and hot tub to relax in after a long day. The first floor has an indoor area for bicycle storage. They also have 4 outdoor gas grills undercover and an area to eat outdoors as well.

Many of the shops and restaurants in the area either close down or have weekend hours for the late fall & winter that begin in the last week end in October.

We wish to thank all of the staff at the Newport for the wonderful experience we had there and hope to return there for a winter visit to enjoy Door County at that time of the year.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms facing the gazebo are quiet and have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ILBoomerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
222 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
809 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range: £67 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing