We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Terrific”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always Terrific”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have stayed at the Newport many times. Usually for a few days around the New Year.
Stay in a two bedroom, have never been disappointed, the staff is friendly and our room has always been clean. It is centrally located so not far from anything you may want to do.
Can't imagine someone not enjoying their stay.

Room Tip: north wing is quieter, away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoHelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    109
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
140
115
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My brother-in-law stayed here (from out of state) and invited us up for a portion of the stay. He is a repeat customer so we thought we would check it out. It was an enjoyable time with plenty to keep the kids occupied and a sauna and comfortable living quarters for the adults. We enjoyed having our own kitchen as we eat healthy meals most of the time. It was nice to have a functional kitchen and enough space to spread out.
The winter views out the window were excellent too. On a Thursday night the place was almost empty and things started picking up on Friday but we still had a quiet stay.
The people at the desk when we arrived and when we departed were very friendly. I would say "typical northern Wisconsinites" but I know one of them is from elsewhere. It is nice to have a low stress mini-vacation in Door County.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wind Lake Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I decided to take a quick trip up to Door County the day after Christmas this year. We've been there many times but never in the winter and we wanted to see the decorations up there. Was able to book a room at the Newport Resort for a single night when most places were either full or required a two or three day stay. For a little over $100 we got a two bedroom two bath suite with living room, full kitchen, and fireplace. This was out second stay at the Newport and will not be our last. Over the years that we've been driving around our wonderful state we've paid much more for much less. Thanks to the Newport for a very romantic getaway. (by the way, the Christmas decorations in Door County were terrific!)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneNovotny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison,Wi
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Went for a Girl's weekend. Couldn't belive how great this hotel was! The front desk staff was wonderful. We had a two bedroom suite. It was clean. The towels were fluffy, and the sheets were not worn at all. It even had a great outdoor patio, but since it was winter, we didn't get to enjoy that. They have a pool, and many little resturants close by. Will definitely stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WannabeeSpringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here towards the end of summer and we loved it! We booked a 2 BR suite and the place is very well equipped. Clean Bedrooms, living space, clean bathrooms and well equipped kitchen. Located close to a grocery store, where you can find whatever you want. It also features indoor pool and kiddie pool. The water temperature was just right and the kids had an awesome time. I would love to visit this place again with a group of friends. They also have outdoor barbeque/grilling areas. You can ride bikes (no additional charges, if I am not wrong). Its a few minutes to Fish Creek and there s a beach just around the street, where we went for kayaking.

If you are visiting with the family and need a clean and comfortable place to stay, Newport Resort must be on your list!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive stay here at Newport Resort. I have also received great feedback on the Kayak tours here at the Egg Harbor Beach by Door County Adventure Center! Happy to know your had a great family experience. We look forward to having you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Surprised my wife for her 40th birthday with a trip here in September. The hotel was just off the main drag of Egg Harbor. But close to everything. If I can recommend travelling to Door County, this is definitely the time of year to do it. Fall Colors and weather was perfect. Our Suite had a private balcony. Spent 2 peaceful mornings sipping coffee, bird watching and basking in the beautiful fall colors. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Newport Resort for your special get away!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We came to the Newport for our honeymoon and it was very nice! We spent a lot of time around Door County but Newport was great "home base". We stayed only for a weekend. The suite style room was awesome, and the fireplace and kitchen made it homey and comfortable. And the bathtub was amazing!

It was a disappointment to my husband that he was not able to smoke on the balcony of the hotel. We made sure to book a room with a balcony so that he would have a place to go, and he of course knew not to smoke in the room. We didn't really understand why it wouldn't have been okay to smoke on the balcony since it was outside, but I assume there is a good reason.

Room Tip: our room was upstairs on the farthest west side. no bright sun waking us up and it was quiet and of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
755 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Property: Newport Resort
Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing