We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A relative suggested this hotel as her family had stayed there many times over the past several years. We stayed in a one bedroom. We slept well as the bed was very comfortable. It was nice that the suite came completely furnished so we could fix meals there instead of eating out all the time. The staff was courteous and helpful . There is a large indoor pool that we had all to ourselves which was nice. The only suggestion I have is to put a taller toilet in the bathroom. It was low to the floor and very uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel - we made reservations to come back in the fall of 2014.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bailes222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Found this hotel on line and booked it because of previous reviews.

It was spectacular! Clean, large, new rooms and very friendly staff. Loved the private balcony. Got a 2 bedroom suite because the 1 bedrooms were taken. Didn't need the extra room, but the value was still phenomenal.

Will go there again next year but stay a little longer.

The town is newer buildings and very well kept with great shops and places to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Stampr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

There are three attributes I liked and one I disliked. Firstly, the two bedroom suite with two bathrooms, kitchen and living room was clean, well maintained, spacious and a good value for our three night mid-week stay. We stayed in a second floor room. We did not hear our neighbors until they took a shower. Secondly, the staff was extremely helpful in finding restaurants and attractions. Thirdly, the resort was decorated for fall with hundreds of pumpkins. After the festival, the staff allows guests to take one pumpkin home. My wife brought one home as did our friends. I did not like the breakfast. Choice is limited and there's no fruit. So, I went and bought my own fruit and kept it in our kitchen. If you want an interesting breakfast, you should go into town. Coffee is available 24 hours a day. Free bikes are also provided.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoverJungleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is OK, nothing particularly good or bad. The bathroom is tiny. The bedroom is so small you can barely get around the bed. The doors to the bedroom and bath meet at a strange angle taking up more space. The living room is small and made even more so by all the luggage that won't fit in the bedroom. The kitchen area is small but well stocked.

The room to room noise became annoying. So did the delivery truck parked outside our window at 7:00 am. The floor in the bathroom was sticky and the hairdryer was dirty and gross with hair sticking out of the back. Otherwise, the room and bath were clean and orderly. We did not eat here, so no comment on the food. Overall, OK, but average at best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, General Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the housekeeping concerns you have brought to our attention. We strive for excellence in our guest experiences and are sorry we did not meet that standard during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spent two nights in the 2 bedroom suite and for the price was a fantastic deal. We got the off season rate which really helped. The whole place was very quiet and well kept up. We didn't go to the continental breakfast but it did smell pretty good. It is a couple of blocks from Downtown so it's not much of a walk to get anywhere in town. I would definetly stay again . The only downer was there was absolutely no view of the bay from hardly anywhere in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seriouslycheeseheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We and another couple shared a 2 BR 2 Bath unit for 3 nights. We had stayed here several years before and found everything still well-maintained. Housekeeping does an amazing job of making sure everything is clean. There is no buildup of soil in corners or along edges. Although this resort is at least 12 to 15 years old, it appears to be in near-mint condition. It would be nice if the bedrooms were a little larger but with the large living/dining room there isn't much need to do anything but sleep in the bedrooms.

The pools and exercise room looked inviting but we didn't use them.

Other than lack of fruit at breakfast, there were plenty of options. Either hot biscuits and gravy or scrambled eggs and bacon for the hot entree. Also 3 or 4 kinds of cereal, instant oatmeal, bagels, muffins, sweet rolls, 3 or 4 kinds of juice, yogurt, hard boiled eggs. In other words, plenty of good basic choices. And very convenient without having to cook or go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: If staying here in hot weather, be aware that the second bedroom does not have an air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed60062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Newport resort. It was a spacious two bedroom two bathroom suite located right in the heart of Egg Harbor. A quick stroll to the restaurants, market, and shopping made it a easy choice. Breakfast was okay, nothing extraordinary but it was close to the Village Cafe which has a great menu selection. Washers and dryers available for a reasonable price made it nice for a 2 week stay. Room had a nice size dining room table and chairs and comfortable furniture in the living room with great views out the windows. Nice small patio was nice to enjoy coffee when the sun was coming up. We would stay again for certain!

Room Tip: You can walk to the market and buy your own groceries to make it an affordable stay. You can also re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your extended stay with us. We recently added hot items to our continental breakfast offerings, but The Village Cafe is one of our favorites as well! Thank you for chosing Newport Resort! We look foward to seeing you on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
828 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range: £63 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing