We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Good Value”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Value”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This place was recommended by neighbors who have since purchased a home in Door County. We had a 2 BR suite with decent kitchen. Nice indoor pool. Walking distance to good restaurants, shopping, grocery store. Great for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GotTicketWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    107
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
136
114
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Newport offers a lot. We had a two bedroom suite which was more like an apartment. We often look for a lodging with two bedrooms and two baths and here you get a kitchen and a living room with enough room for yoga, a big private balcony, a swimming pool large enough to swim in and a hot tub. And we got a very good off season rate. The downside might be that you don't get a lot of quirky Door County charm. It's on the edge of town, not in a quaint village, although it's walkable to downtown Egg Harbor. It doesn't have lake views. It's in kind of a suburban-feeling setting which has the advantage of being really quiet (despite being fully booked), but a little bit uninteresting. The bedroom with the queen bed was tight as noted elsewhere, but we appreciated the reading lamps. We were quite happy here, but not an over-the-top 5 stars. On the other hand, I think it's challenging to find 5 stars in Door County. Every place is going to have some pros and cons. I found the bed and pillows uncomfortable, but there's no accounting for taste. How about a thin pillow thrown in among all the thick ones?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dos_companeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed several nights during the 2013 summer, and this place exceeded expectations. Do not count on a large continental breakfast (As noted in other reviews) but other than that it's great. Nice, clean, quite, a lot of amenities including gas fireplaces, bikes and more. We will stay here again if we visit the area in the future.

Room Tip: Take the trip to Washington Island, it's a great day trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A relative suggested this hotel as her family had stayed there many times over the past several years. We stayed in a one bedroom. We slept well as the bed was very comfortable. It was nice that the suite came completely furnished so we could fix meals there instead of eating out all the time. The staff was courteous and helpful . There is a large indoor pool that we had all to ourselves which was nice. The only suggestion I have is to put a taller toilet in the bathroom. It was low to the floor and very uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel - we made reservations to come back in the fall of 2014.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bailes222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Found this hotel on line and booked it because of previous reviews.

It was spectacular! Clean, large, new rooms and very friendly staff. Loved the private balcony. Got a 2 bedroom suite because the 1 bedrooms were taken. Didn't need the extra room, but the value was still phenomenal.

Will go there again next year but stay a little longer.

The town is newer buildings and very well kept with great shops and places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Stampr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

There are three attributes I liked and one I disliked. Firstly, the two bedroom suite with two bathrooms, kitchen and living room was clean, well maintained, spacious and a good value for our three night mid-week stay. We stayed in a second floor room. We did not hear our neighbors until they took a shower. Secondly, the staff was extremely helpful in finding restaurants and attractions. Thirdly, the resort was decorated for fall with hundreds of pumpkins. After the festival, the staff allows guests to take one pumpkin home. My wife brought one home as did our friends. I did not like the breakfast. Choice is limited and there's no fruit. So, I went and bought my own fruit and kept it in our kitchen. If you want an interesting breakfast, you should go into town. Coffee is available 24 hours a day. Free bikes are also provided.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoverJungleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is OK, nothing particularly good or bad. The bathroom is tiny. The bedroom is so small you can barely get around the bed. The doors to the bedroom and bath meet at a strange angle taking up more space. The living room is small and made even more so by all the luggage that won't fit in the bedroom. The kitchen area is small but well stocked.

The room to room noise became annoying. So did the delivery truck parked outside our window at 7:00 am. The floor in the bathroom was sticky and the hairdryer was dirty and gross with hair sticking out of the back. Otherwise, the room and bath were clean and orderly. We did not eat here, so no comment on the food. Overall, OK, but average at best.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, General Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the housekeeping concerns you have brought to our attention. We strive for excellence in our guest experiences and are sorry we did not meet that standard during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Property: Newport Resort
Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing