We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place to Stay”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Newport Resort. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath room we stayed in was well-appointed ... full kitchen, living area w/sofa sleeper, 1 flat screen and 2 smaller tv's, gas fireplace and large outdoor patio. The beds were super comfy, and overall we had plenty of room for 4 adults. The general amenities were great too ... an indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, free small continental breakfast, commons area for reading/playing games. And the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The only downsides, and they weren't really that big of a deal, were listening to the guest upstairs walk around, lack of cream rinse for long hair and no view of the water.

The resort sits by itself about 1.5 blocks from downtown Egg Harbor ... so quiet surroundings and an easy walk to restaurants and shops.

While visiting, we highly recommend the Door County Trolley tours ... we took the 4 hour Haunted Pub Tour (which initiates in Egg Harbor) and had a blast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paintgirlchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

This place was recommended by neighbors who have since purchased a home in Door County. We had a 2 BR suite with decent kitchen. Nice indoor pool. Walking distance to good restaurants, shopping, grocery store. Great for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GotTicketWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Newport offers a lot. We had a two bedroom suite which was more like an apartment. We often look for a lodging with two bedrooms and two baths and here you get a kitchen and a living room with enough room for yoga, a big private balcony, a swimming pool large enough to swim in and a hot tub. And we got a very good off season rate. The downside might be that you don't get a lot of quirky Door County charm. It's on the edge of town, not in a quaint village, although it's walkable to downtown Egg Harbor. It doesn't have lake views. It's in kind of a suburban-feeling setting which has the advantage of being really quiet (despite being fully booked), but a little bit uninteresting. The bedroom with the queen bed was tight as noted elsewhere, but we appreciated the reading lamps. We were quite happy here, but not an over-the-top 5 stars. On the other hand, I think it's challenging to find 5 stars in Door County. Every place is going to have some pros and cons. I found the bed and pillows uncomfortable, but there's no accounting for taste. How about a thin pillow thrown in among all the thick ones?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dos_companeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed several nights during the 2013 summer, and this place exceeded expectations. Do not count on a large continental breakfast (As noted in other reviews) but other than that it's great. Nice, clean, quite, a lot of amenities including gas fireplaces, bikes and more. We will stay here again if we visit the area in the future.

Room Tip: Take the trip to Washington Island, it's a great day trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A relative suggested this hotel as her family had stayed there many times over the past several years. We stayed in a one bedroom. We slept well as the bed was very comfortable. It was nice that the suite came completely furnished so we could fix meals there instead of eating out all the time. The staff was courteous and helpful . There is a large indoor pool that we had all to ourselves which was nice. The only suggestion I have is to put a taller toilet in the bathroom. It was low to the floor and very uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel - we made reservations to come back in the fall of 2014.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bailes222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Found this hotel on line and booked it because of previous reviews.

It was spectacular! Clean, large, new rooms and very friendly staff. Loved the private balcony. Got a 2 bedroom suite because the 1 bedrooms were taken. Didn't need the extra room, but the value was still phenomenal.

Will go there again next year but stay a little longer.

The town is newer buildings and very well kept with great shops and places to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Stampr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

There are three attributes I liked and one I disliked. Firstly, the two bedroom suite with two bathrooms, kitchen and living room was clean, well maintained, spacious and a good value for our three night mid-week stay. We stayed in a second floor room. We did not hear our neighbors until they took a shower. Secondly, the staff was extremely helpful in finding restaurants and attractions. Thirdly, the resort was decorated for fall with hundreds of pumpkins. After the festival, the staff allows guests to take one pumpkin home. My wife brought one home as did our friends. I did not like the breakfast. Choice is limited and there's no fruit. So, I went and bought my own fruit and kept it in our kitchen. If you want an interesting breakfast, you should go into town. Coffee is available 24 hours a day. Free bikes are also provided.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoverJungleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
230 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range: £63 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing