We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Egg Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Resort & Golf
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

How we wished we had read the reviews before we booked 3 nights in a "cottage" at this resort. As we drove up to the resort in the late afternoon we immediately thought we had been misled by their advertisments. What sat before us what an old, dilapidated building that was in desperate need of maintenance. On check-in the staff were courteous but we were a little puzzled about why they requested payment in full up front, when usually hotels will ask for this when you leave so refused to pay the balance until check out.We were directed to the cottage accommodation and were appalled at the condition of the facilities and furnishings offered to us. We were completely put off by rooms that were old, poorly kept, and dingy. There was nothing "quaint "about it – it is just old and tatty. The carpet was filthy and full of stains. Nothing was properly sanitized. The bed linens so old that you could almost see through the sheets and the towels grey and rough. There was the strong smell of mildew and unclean conditions. The cottage was little more than a shack It did not meet standards described in their advertisement for a two bedroom property. In one corner sat an old TV. The other corner had old cabinets containing a sink, small microwave & mini-fridge. A 2-person couch sat on the opposite wall. There was no crockery or cooking equipment and except for a mini bar of soap, there weren't any other amenities in the bathroom such as a hair dryer. Everything--furniture, carpet, windows, walls and bathroom was very dated --35 + years old. We decided to go back to reception and tell them that we could not stay and were offered alternative accommodation, which on inspection was equally appalling. At this point we left and stating that we would like our deposit returned and we would not authorize any further charges. Needeless to say due to their terms & conditions we havent seen our money and are in the process of negotiating further. This facility had been grossly misrepresented on the website and they should not be in the tourist board brochure as they do not reflect the standard of accomadations available in Door County.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank UKvisitor122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpineresort, Owner at Alpine Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Hi, I’m Emily, third generation of Alpine Resort. Thank you for your blog. I guess I’m old-fashioned. I believe that you would have talked to me honestly and in person if you were not pleased with our family resort.

Our resort was built in 1921 by my grandfather and great uncle, Paul and John Bertschinger. We focus on clean and well-maintained accommodations where families and loved ones can truly enjoy their time together on the Door County shoreline. We accommodate approximately 6,800 visitors at our resort each season and make every attempt to ensure everything is maintained, in good condition and ready for a fun vacation.

We continue to remodel our property every year during our off season (we’re a summer resort and we’re open from late May through late October). I’m disappointed that you were not able to appreciate our history and heritage. Yes, the property has been here for generations. And yes, we will continue to work on our remodeling projects in the winter.

I would like to communicate with you directly. Please contact me at through our email or by phone. Our email address is alpine@itol.com and our phone number is 1-888-281-8128.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    37
    24
    30
    66
See reviews for
83
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
waterloo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Old tired out cabin. Doors that wouldn't shut in both bedrooms. Worn out furniture and not enough seating for 4 people. Reservations for 4. Grossly over priced. Two coffe mugs. There was one love seat and no chairs. Two kitchen chairs. This was the worst place I have ever stayed out. Pictures do not much the ads.

Room Tip: Don;t stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank larry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Egg Harbor hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The accommodations in the resort were awful. Our room was the size of a closet. We felt like steamed lobsters because of the radiator heaters in the room. Aside from the obvious safety concerns about this heating system, we resorted to leaving the windows open day and night despite seasonal temps for October down in the 30's at night.
The linens were stained and faded. The decor was somewhere between 1970 and 1980, with furnishings from the 1960's. Chipping paint fell from the windows as you opened them. The bed was like a board with a hole in the middle. It did not appear any $ was invested in updates or repairs in at least 30 or 40 years. The only bright side of this stay was the location, on the waters edge of Lake Michigan and close to shopping and restaurants. Extremely overpriced considering the poor quality of the accommodations!

Room Tip: No options for a "good" room in this resort.....and I use the word "resort" loos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cheeseheadRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We've been going to Alpine for close to 20 years now. We love it for its vintage appeal, views of the lake, staff, relaxed vibe. That being said, my feelings are always mixed. This year my sons wanted to borrow some free bikes but the ones available were unusable: rusty chains, kickstand rusted solid making the bike unusable. (They could probably get 20 bikes cheap on Craigslist if they wanted.) Bathrooms and floors of the rooms are never that clean, which makes it really, really difficult for me to to tip the housekeeping (and I ALWAYS generously tip housekeepers). Beds and pillows are uncomfortable; I've never slept well here. Comforters are scratchy. TVs are old and clunky (cheap flat panels are crazy cheap right now and would save tons of room on their dresser drawers).

I know it costs a lot to run hotels and given Alpine's location, I can only imagine what the nightly rate would be if this hotel were fixed up to its fullest potential.

So what to say....we love the Alpine for all its charm, but are very careful when making recommendations. Our best description: it's like camping, but in a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MKECityMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

To us, the Alpine is a wonderful trip to a simpler time, like visiting a favorite Aunt. It's about family, connection, and fun things to do together when you need time away from the clanging metropolis. Swim (pool or nearby beach), watch the sunset on Adirondack or rocking chairs, play ping pong or a board game, borrow a bike or walk on the trails, breathe fresh air, have a quiet drink and meet new friends in the two nostalgic bars... no rush, just enjoy!

If you're looking for 5-star marble bathrooms, indoor exercise in a gym full of treadmills, and a cadre of 24-hour a day servants this is probably not the place for you. If you're looking for a place to reconnect with and enjoy the people you love, we recommend the Alpine highly!

Room Tip: We love the Bay View rooms, also you can pay a few dollars more for a room refrigerator if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cad185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We've been going to Alpine for 7-8 years now. We have tried other Door County hotels/motels, and while they were nice, Alpine is so amazingly comforting and friendly, you feel like you are at home with a big family! The owners and staff are always helpful, they have something going on in the lobby every night, and the lake front location and the view from the incredibly large veranda is amazing! Add to this several types of accomodations to choose from, a beach just a short 1/4 mile walk away, and a short mile trip into Egg Harbor itself (Chocolate Chicken for coffee and ice cream, and Shipwrecked for great burgers and beer!), and who would want to go anywhere else! It may look a bit outdated, but that just adds to the charm and makes you feel like you are visitng a fmily establishment that truly cares!

Room Tip: A bit of a secret is...they also have a few cabins up in the town of Egg Harbor itself! Your own li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The view - nothing better than seeing majestic Lake Michigan. You can even sit on the lodge porch and rock and watch the waves. There is a big entertainment room where you can read, play games or cards. The staff- beyond wonderful and friendly. The food - very nice for breakfast, didn't try any other meal. The cottages - NO WAY!

This was the only place I could find a 3-bedroom and I had heard it was "rustic" and that would have been okay. Our cottage had a fabulous view facing the lake. A welcoming park area for picnicking. But the cottage "Wisconsin" smelled so bad of mold that I could barely breathe. Two sons are allergic and they were stuffed up for the entire weekend. In addition, the front, bathroom, & bedroom doors all stuck and the sound of opening them carried throughout - if one person is up the entire cottage is up. I don't know if the other cottages have the mold problem. Saw alot of kids having a ball swimming, biking (free bikes) and laughing with their families. I would not go back unless I stayed in the lodge.

I did look at the rooms in the lodge and they were also simple and small, but would be adequate because they did not seem to smell of mold. Old style vacationing for families. So close to Egg Harbor you could bike or walk if necessary.

Room Tip: Pick more expensive room in the lodge and you'll be happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.5 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
12.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
6.2 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Resort & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Resort & Golf

Property: Alpine Resort & Golf
Address: 7715 Alpine Rd, P.O. Box 200, Egg Harbor, WI 54209
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Number of rooms: 82
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort & Golf Hotel Egg Harbor
Alpine Resort And Golf
Alpine Resort Egg Harbor
Alpine Hotel Egg Harbor
Alpine Resort & Golf Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing