We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big restaurant, big service”
Review of The Log Den

The Log Den
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Egg Harbor
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big restaurant, big service”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Like many "big box" eateries, the Log den provided average service for the masses. Salad Bar and suitable food. Would not go back, but rather move on to another place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chrlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    58
    40
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sounded better that it was”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Looked at the menu before going and the entrees sounded good. I tried the chicken Oscar, which is topped with a lagostino & shrimp sauce. I got worried when it arrived and had a strong "fishy" smell. The sauce was way over-salted. The veggies were limp. The prices were high. Won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindaeatsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Waiter Great, Food Average”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Thanks to an amazing waiter, Carter, our dining experience was not a total flop. Wife tried the elk and I the prime rib. Carter warned me that the prime rib was overcooked to medium, which normally is how I order it. But this cut was dry and overcooked beyond medium. The cooks should have taken the prime rib off the menu that night. Wife's elk was over-seasoned and in a word, awful. Having had excellent elk before, we were disappointed at the taste. Again, kudos to Carter, he could make top dollar at much better restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank THESEIDLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Northwoods Supper Club”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We usually travel to the Door twice a year and typically operate on the fly, going where we want, when we want. We passed by the Log Den on our way back to Stugeon Bay, it was getting close to dinner time, looked like a good place and the lot was reasonably full. After a very short wait on the patio, we were seated and had a great meal. The place is a huge, rustic lodge type structure, but has been recently built. The dining room is separated into a number of smaller areas, so it still feels cozy. Service was good, food was prepared well and portions were appropriate. There are several outdoor areas for dining and waiting, though we chose to sit inside. Food is typical Northwoods supper club fare, with some unique twists. Great place for both couples & families of all ages.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeview, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Have gone here several times for dinner. The dinners are always delicious. Every evening they always have a few specials. The soup & salad bar is included with the dinner & there is a great selection. This restaurant is a little bit south of the hustle & bustle of the other Door County places, but well worth the trip. Great atmosphere in a quiet woodsy setting. We always go in the fall, so the evenings are a little cool for the patio, but I am sure in the summer it would be great for dining. We even sat at the bar one Sunday & had an appetizer & drinks while we watched the Bears. This is one place where we have dinner at least once when we take our annual trip to Door County.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ANN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Log Den also viewed

 
Egg Harbor, Door County
Egg Harbor, Door County
 

Been to The Log Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing