We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Log Den

The Log Den
Ranked #13 of 26 Restaurants in Egg Harbor
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
madison, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Log Den is our favorite restaurant by far! We have come here several times, in winter and in summer, and the food is always excellent and the staff is even better! This is how much we love it - we had our dinner here after our wedding in July 2013! We had a semi private room and 25 guests. Everyone was promptly served - drinks and everything - by one amazing waiter, Gerald. He is really something special! We had kids and adults both, and all the guests still talk about what great food/service/atmosphere they had! Especially my mom. She had a very small amount of food she wanted to take home, and when it was accidentally cleared, they literally made her a BRAND NEW dinner and packaged it up for her. Now that is service! Plus, they were so easy to work with - I really appreciated that since I was planning a wedding. The decor is beautiful and the building is nothing short of impressive!

We just went back this last weekend. Off season is quiet and cozy, but the food is still excellent!
Our waiter recognized us and we had great time chatting about our last visit for our wedding. They made us feel like family! We will be back year after year. If you know anything about food or service, you will love this place as much as we do!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    54
    37
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Valentine's Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

While we were up in Door County to celebrate Valentine's Weekend, we decided to have dinner at The Log Den. What a pleasant surprise that was. We felt like we were in someone's rec room. The atmosphere was charming, log cabin in the woods. The drinks were good and the food was spectacular! Dinners came with a wonderful soup and salad bar, everything was very fresh for being in the middle of winter. I must stop while in Door County.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a large group of 10 and tried a variety of the entrees. Basically underwhelmed. Salad bar is basic supper club. Food for the most part was dry - including the ribs and the salmon. Had to order extra sauce to compensate. The building itself is pretty amazing. A drink at the bar would suffice - if they got a bartender who was a little more friendly. All in all - nothing special about the food. Fortunately for them the options become more limited at this time of year. Would I go back in the near future - no.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene2433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grand Log Building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just average on the food. We had good service and were here on a Friday night for fish fry. It was off season and not very busy. Salad bar was nothing special. Our dinners were all good. Really no complaints. I think it may be very loud in this building if it was full. The building itself is very impressive. Many details on doors,logs light fixtures,etc. I hope it is busier during the peak season than it was this first weekend in November .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2eat4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big restaurant, big service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Like many "big box" eateries, the Log den provided average service for the masses. Salad Bar and suitable food. Would not go back, but rather move on to another place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chrlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Log Den also viewed

Egg Harbor, Door County
 
Egg Harbor, Door County
 

Been to The Log Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing