We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Home, Awesome owners”
Review of Jay Lee Inn

Jay Lee Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elkhart Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jay Lee Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Elkhart Lake B&B and Inns
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Home, Awesome owners”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Never having stayed at a B&B, I had no idea what to expect. Actually, I had a preconcieved notion that my fellow guests would be an uptight bunch of tea totallers. WRONG! The place was full of fun interesting people and the home was a beautifully restored mansion. The owners, Leo and Monica are two of the nicest people you will ever meet and the breakfast was increadible. The location is great, walking distance to the tiki bars on the lake which feature live music on the weekends. After returning home, there was a letter in our mailbox on Jay Lee stationary containing my wifes drivers licence which had gone mia at some point during our stay. I'm a little afraid to try a different B&B, the Jay Lee set the bar so high I can only be disappointed. Great experience, four thumbs up.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpuf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was my third stay at the Jay Lee Inn in Elkhart Lake, WI and I felt like I was coming back to visit family. When I arrived at the Inn I was welcomed by friendly barks of the 2 four legged friends that occupy the residence with the two legged owners, Monica and Leo. Balou and Button, both boxers, are not let out of the owner’s private residence except at the request of the guests. I love to visit with them and they have excellent manners.
I made my way up to my room, Jennifer. This bright and welcoming room makes me feel like I am coming back to my old bedroom. Two very comfortable double beds covered by beautiful quilts and its location on the south side of the house gets wonderful sunlight. It has its own bathroom with modern amenities but with period appropriate fixtures from Kohler, of course. The furniture in the room is beautiful but not stuffy and you do not have to fear that you cannot use the armoire or the tables and chairs. They all function and just help to add to the enjoyment of the stay. While nosing around I opened the little secretary desk and discovered a small pair of binoculars placed in one of the cubby holes. It is just one of the small touches that make it so special to stay here.
Always accommodating, the owners go above and beyond to make your stay pure pleasure. I always need to leave the Inn at a very early hour. Monica always gets up to make me breakfast that is delicious. Yogurt with fresh berries, homemade bakery, eggs and bacon, egg, ham and cheese croissant, quiche, fresh coffee, orange juice, cranberry juice, tea and the list goes on. These are just a few of the menu items for breakfast that I have had! Since it is fall now and dark in the early morning the dining room table always is lit by the warm glow of the candle sticks, inviting you to come and sit and enjoy the delicious breakfast.
The whole house is always dressed to match the season and there are many things to explore throughout the first floor which has 3 sitting rooms, dining room and a small bathroom.
The location of the Inn is prime. Across the street is the public beach so in the summer it is perfect for swimming. At the end of the block is the 27 hole golf course, Quit Qui Oc. On Saturday in the summers the open air farmers market, located 4 blocks to the north, is a must visit spot. When blueberries are in season, stop by the Michigan blueberry farmer for a special treat. These berries are the biggest sweetest blueberries I’ve had. If you enjoy racing, the Road America race track is a quick 5 minute drive. And downtown is a quick 2 block walk along the lake to the north. This downtown has some wonderful restaurants and shops that help to make your stay interesting. If you are into bicycling the Old Plank Road Trail is not far away.
So with all that said I guess that another visit to my extended family at the lake is in order! Maybe during the Old World Christmas Market held on the Osthoff grounds….. The cost of a room at the Inn is amazing. Cheaper than most of the cookie cutter hotels in the nearby area that state they are a discount hotel chain.
The website for the Jay Lee Inn is located at www.jayleeinn.com

Room Tip: Rooms are configured to accomodate different needs. Some with one bed and some with two. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossmoor,Il.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We travel a lot, and stay in a lot of B & B's, but this one is something special!

Just five minutes from Road America, and an easy walk to Elkhart Lake's shops and great restaurants, this place has everything you look for in a great B & B.

Friendly, helpful hosts, beautiful guestrooms, fabulous breakfasts, and an old fashioned front porch for reading, relaxing, and watching the sun set over the lake with a glass of wine.

We started going here just for race weekends, but now also go for relaxing mid-week visits.

Love it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Wa
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Have been to numerous B & B's and this is a special one indeed. Was actually drawn to spend many hours exploring and enjoying the rooms, especially the fabulous porch, which feels like another room, just outdoors. Loved the exposed wood, tastefull choice of colors, patterns and textures; it's a good restoration, well conceived and executed. Great location, quieter than right in town, but still near everything. My room was fine, well equipped, with a comfortable bed. and nice amenities. Enjoyed Monica's breakfasts, everything homemade with fun surprises daily, that wonderful Alterra coffee and served in a lovely setting on fine old fashioned tableware, to candlelight, no less; try finding that kind of joie de vivre anywhere, these days, priceless. Both welcoming committee members, two legged and four were quite hospitable and easygoing as well. I was instantly at home. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpa4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

It was my first experience in a B&B, but our traveling companions (several other couples) had been in B&B's before. Honest truth is that this was the most perfect weekend. Monica (the proprietor) and Balou (the dog) are perfect; the home is perfect; the food was perfect; and the service was... you got it - perfect. Monica did everything she could to make our stay comfortable and lovely. The bed linens, towels and toiletries are first class... the rooms were large and most of the rooms had private baths. The breakfasts were home cooked and fresh... we had no complaints. You'd make a mistake to stay in any other place in Elkhart Lake (and I've stayed at several of the hotels in the area over the years). Oh, and if you're here on a summer weekend, enjoy the porch with a glass of wine!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicag0Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.3 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
100 reviews
6.1 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
113 reviews
5.9 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
14.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
12.8 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay Lee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Lee Inn

Property: Jay Lee Inn
Address: 444 S Lake St, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1921
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jay Lee Inn offers 5 bedrooms with private bath and 2 additional rooms with shared bath. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing