We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THE OSTHOFF!”
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“LOVE THE OSTHOFF!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

If you live in the midwest, and even if you do not, you owe it to yourself to visit the Osthoff Resort. The Osthoff is located in Elkhart Lake WI, and is about 60 miles/60 minutes straight north from the Milwaukee airport, about 3 hours from downtown Chicago, and only 2 hours from the north suburbs of Chicago.

The Osthoff is a large, elegant resort situated on the shore of the 300-acre Elkhart Lake - around which lies the sleepy little town of Elkhart Lake WI. Nearby is the world class auto racing facility, Road America - one of the country's oldest and best road courses.

The Osthoff is elegant, spacious and restful - the lake is beautiful, with motors allowed six days a week, and Sundays being quiet Sundays - paddles or electric motors only.

There's a huge selection of rooms, from multi-room condos (Ask for 202A! - fantastic!) to small hotel rooms. Food is great and there are fantastic restaurants in town including The Paddock Club, Lakeside Tavern and the resort's own Lola's On The Lake.

HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewc625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    176
    42
    25
    10
See reviews for
212
200
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscoe, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

my husband and I got a special deal from Travelzoo.com for a wooded view room for only $99 including $20 toward dinner a this resort...we decided to take advantage & go on a road trip for a late Valentines present to each other. Our GPS took us on a scenic drive thru the Kettle Moraine Forest-it was snowing but it was still gorgeous. When we arrived all we could say was "ah"...very nice outside-upon check in-it was fast & friendly. We checked into our room-it was absolutely stunning. All granite tops/new applianes-fancy doors/dark mahogony and this was in the kitchen & bathroom. Bed had a pillowtop-very comfy-bath had a whirlpool-big enuf for us both-had fully furnished kitchen and water, etc in frig if u wanted to pay extra but we took a cooler full of goodies. I had upgraded prior to check in to a lakeside view for $50 more-so the only negative thing is that our view was the courtyard-i guess all the rooms were full as there were alot of army guys staying there-so with that- i didn't create a fuss but did call front desk & they couldnt give us anything better which was ok since lake was covered w/snow anyway. We traveled to town, a street over! ate at the brown baer and had a few drinks at the lincoln bar-played pull tabs and won over $100 (putting in only 20!). We ate at our resort for dinner, had a burger at Ottos-was ok. Had a drink at Lolas, very nice but bartender a little snobby. Late that night we did order room service & had an awesome pizza from ottos for $17, well worth it! We played pac-man at the arcade there and then used the pool before retiring (could not use the hot tub at the resort as it was way too hot!) overall, we loved this place, clean, spacious, friendly and gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Our visit to the Osthoff Resort from March 18th to the 20th 2011 was for a girl’s winter retreat (Gathering of the Goddesses March 2011). We stayed in room 444 (a Lakeside Premier suite). We were told the room had a special decorating and the staff at the front desk said they thought it was the nicest room in the resort. I don’t know what the other suites look like but the suite was fantastic. It was lofted with 2 bedrooms and a full bath on the 2nd floor. There was a powder room on the first floor along with the master bathroom. Every room was amply spacious and very, very comfortable. The kitchen had quartz counters with very attractive cabinetry. The living room was in a turret with a floor to ceiling slate gas fireplace. Perfect for the cold March evenings consumed with glasses of wine and girl talk. The only time we ate at the resort was room service for breakfast Saturday. Everything we ordered from the eggs and potatoes, to omelet and pancakes were superb. You MUST try the baked berry pancake. We ate at the local pubs and restaurants for the other meals. Each “eatery” had its own style and very good dishes. The Brown Baer had a delicious tuna melt on a ciabatta bread. The Loading Zone has a very good fish fry and the Paddock Club has wonderful finer dining. The shops were eclectic ranging from jewelry, fine art, high end crafts and metalwork, to old treasures (at very reasonable prices I might add). As far as the staff at the Osthoff, they were extremely professional yet personal. Really nice people. I was told the north wing has been recently redecorated so perhaps what others have written reflected the south wing. I would think that wing is next to be redecorated. It was a perfect girl’s retreat and will definitely go back – maybe it will be an annual event!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4seasonlover777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This was a great resort for a weekend girls getaway. The suite was very elegant with a complete kitchen/dining table, living room with gas fire place, balcony with table/chairs, and a separate bedroom with a dream bathroom (enormous jacquzi tub). Everything was sparkling clean and quiet. We never saw or heard any other guests in our wing, although room service plates in the hallway outside of a room indicated otherwise.

We had dinner and cocktails at Lola's on the Lake and loved every course and drink all for very affordable prices (compared to Chicago restaurants). We didn't try the spa. We went offsite and received hour long massages for half the cost of Aspira's prices.

The only negative I can think of was that a hotel employee knocked on the door an hour before checkout to ask "our plans for the rest of the day". Probably code for "are you leaving already?", which I have NEVER had happen before check out time at any other resort. There are worse things, but it was a bit off-putting for a higher-end resort. I was unable to get any cell phone signal in the room (T-Mobile), but my friend did with Verizon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CupcakeFanatic999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrens, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I stayed here for a convention. I shared a 2-bedroom suite with a coworker. It was huge! She was upstairs and I downstairs. We each had our own bathroom. There was a kitchen, a living room, dining table, and a balcony. Very comfortable! I saw other rooms coworkers had. It seemed nearly each room was different. I liked the jacuzzi suites.
Staff was friendly and the hotel was nice and clean.
The meals were all catered by the hotel. The lunch and breakfast buffets were very good. We had a wide variety on them. The dinners at the convention were not so good though. There were bones in my chicken pasta dish (yuck, shredded chicken on a pasta shouldn't have bones). I also had a portabella mushroom dish, the mushroom was very burnt and crispy. Also it tasted very, very heavily of soy sauce. The flavor was horrible and I only ate a couple bites. Desserts were very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanaMuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at a wonderful spot for business but felt like I was on summer vacation as a kid. The hotel is so relaxed and welcoming that even the stress of working during the day was quickly melted away. The town is very friendly and a brief walk around the downtown brought me back to the times I went on vacation to the lake with my folks! Great restaurants, fun shops, cute beach with a food stand, boat rentals, volleyball, bike riding, fishing, 3 pools, 2 hot tubs, great bands at the bars with plenty of nightlife, a wonderful spa, you name it and you have it available to you. The price is on the high side but with the large kitchen units you can save big and also build some memories taking turns cooking your favorite meal. There is a great grocery store within walking distance so no need to haul the ingredients. Plenty to do within the area also but I will take those sights in the next time I visit. I was just happy to be "at the lake" for my summer vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milwsccaregistrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I booked our family the $149 Holiday Package which included 2 tickets to their Old World XMAS Market. It was a Saturday night and they appeared to be hosting several XMAS parties & weddings but it played to our advantage as it freed up the pool and hot tub. A previous review said the water was cold. Quite the contrary the pool was warm and the hot tub was nice & hot. I hate it when it's set at a whimpy temp for the masses. I'm not a shopper but I have to say that the Old World XMAS Market was quite unique. It has a German flavor with lots of winter crafts and food. We also did the Sunday brunch with Kris Kringle and his reindeer, Prancer. They had a live reindeer for the kids to pet and take pictures with. The gentleman who played Kris Kringle might be the real Kris Kringle because he looked just like him. I'm still checking that out. The food at the brunch was good but other than the desserts it wasn't anything memorable. Overall a terrific stay. Was a nice way to get a surge of holiday spirit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
103 reviews
12.9 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
289 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.3 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
116 reviews
16.2 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Ave, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1976
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing