We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Handicap Accessible Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, Wi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Handicap Accessible Rooms!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

FANTASTIC hotel!

We were just there for a convention this weekend. We had a 2-room HC Accessible suite, rooms 411A and 411B. The rooms are very beautiful and more than spacious! We had a kitchenette, a pantry with basic plates and utensils and pots and pans. A dining table for 4, a couch and 2 chairs and a fireplace! The bedroom had a wardrobe with a TV in it but you can't open one side all the way because the door to the wardrobe and the bathroom door get in the way of each other. I think if they moved the wardrobe 6 inches to the left, that would solve that.

There was plenty of room to drive my scooter in the kitchenette, living room and even the bedroom and bathroom! There is a large area next to the toilet for parking a wheelchair or scooter. The shower is a very nice zero barrier shower with nice adaptable fixtures, and there is also a whirlpool tub with HC bars on all sides for easy in/easy out! You can pull a wheelchair right under the bathroom sink, which is a great feature. One thing I always recommend that hotels change in handicapped rooms is that they had glass glasses in the bathroom with tile floors. Glass is not a good option for many handicapped people because we frequently have trouble holding onto things. I would change that to a nice looking plastic glass, just to avoid problems.

HANDICAPPED TRAVELS NOTE: 411B appeared to have a regular height bed but 411A (these are adjoining rooms) had a VERY high bed. I'm 5'10" and had to have help climbing in! If you have difficulties with this, take this into consideration. I estimate it was about 30 inches from the floor!

Everything was extremely clean. There are a couple of minor cosmetic areas that need touching up such as dings in furniture, but every hotel has this and they seem to do a pretty good job of dealing with the details.

Our wing had 2 elevators, one on either end. However, they are small elevators and the doors close VERY FAST, so be prepared to move! Twice I missed the elevator because I had to back up to let people out and I couldn't get to the door before it closed.

Employees are great and were really helpful. When we checked in we had a minor housekeeping issue (coffee grounds spilled in the mini fridge) but they were there 10 minutes after we called and had it cleaned up perfectly.

All in all I LOVED this hotel and would love to go back again!

Room Tip: Suite 411A/411B is VERY nice and is close to banquet facilites if you are attending a convention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    163
    37
    23
    7
See reviews for
188
193
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just a wonderful place for couples and families to spend some time. In the summer it has one of the great family beaches in the Midwest. It isn't huge but it is just the right size lake and just the right amount of people to make you remember what resort vacations should be about. Love to rent a kayak and paddle around the lake. Very nice beach for children as they have sand toys and the shallows are kid friendly. The food is very nice at the resort and if you stay a few days you might try some of the local fare. We stayed on a multi night midweek deal that saves a few bucks but I would not hesitate to pay full price on a weekend if that is what I had available. The rooms are really nice one and two bedroom condo style accommodations with a full but compact kitchen. Mattress was fine for me but my wife likes it very firm. It was a pillow top type I think. Indoor and outdoor pools are provided. I've heard that fall and winter special weekends are well planned and executed.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you be careful of rooms on the far wings and chip in a few dollars for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Why would you go to Wisconsin in the dead of winter? Especially if you don't ski! To go to the Osthoff Resort, of course. This was a three day vacation with my sister and mother. We can't say enough good things. We arrived on a day when the power had just been knocked out by a careless driver. But we still got right into our room without any trouble.

We had several nice meals at Ottos (breakfast, lunch and dinner), and one very nice dinner at Lola's. We spent a full afternoon at Aspira spa getting pampered.

Everywhere the staff was helpful and attentive. We hope to make this an annual event.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Beautiful resort. Suites are fantastic! Restaurant food very good and service everywhere was excellent. Very relaxing in an excellent setting. First time visiting and it was the winter. Would definitely look to go back in the summer with all the lake activities available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at The Osthoff during January. The lake is frozen over right now, but the Resort is so fabulous there was plenty to do inside the Hotel. The staff was courteous and friendly. I was suffering from a slight cold, and called the front desk late at night for some tea bags. They brought a variety to me very promptly, making my cold feel much better! I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Couples, family, wedding party. What an amazing property!`

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our 2-bedroom 2-bath suite at The Ostholf accommodated my family of 4 with room to spare. The room and staff were great. Sat out on my deck and watched kids ice skate on the pond....very cool. Inside pool area and hottub was ok. Will be going back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2vrods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We just tried the Ostholf Resort after numerous post-Christmas weekends at the nearby American Club. We always enjoyed the atmosphere, service, restaurants and especially the spa treatments at the American Club. The Ostholf delivered a comparable experience to my family.
Our 2-bedroom 2-bath suite at The Ostholf better accommodated my family of 5 and it was a better value. But the overall atmosphere is slightly less expressive the the American Club.
Spa services and restaurants were just as good as the Kohler comps. The nearby village is a plus, too.
I recommend families try this well run resort.

Room Tip: Go with the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TahitiJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
98 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#2 of 5 in Plymouth
107 reviews
16.2 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
112 reviews
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Avenue, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing