We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We tried”
Review of Lake Street Cafe

Lake Street Cafe
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Elkhart Lake
Price range: US$8 - US$36
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We tried”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were going to eat lunch here, but the bartender was so snobby and pretentious we didn't want to bother him. We won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramblingon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    56
    14
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average, at best”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Pricey lunch, but nothing special! I had hoped for a bit more creativity, but no such luck. I'd skip this one and head for the Paddock Club or Off the Rails instead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichTravelerKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Surprisingly excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Elkhart Lake boasts a population of 967. Despite that, it has two excellent restaurants right next door to one another. We enjoyed blackoned Haddock and chicken with mushroom sauce, both that were very tasty. The staff was very friendly (heck, the whole town is very friendly) and they boasted an excellent wine and drink list.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Talon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a fun atmosphere.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just overall high quality meals, excellent wine and beer selection. They have an outside party area, a bar seating area, and a more formal dining area. The owners are always on site and the staff is excellent. We had a beef tenderloin, a halibut dish and tomato bisque that were all presented with flair and tasted great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Springs, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fine with kids - but bet it'd be more fun without!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Everything was good. One of my little guys with special needs was just not having a good night (first night of the trip, new place, long car ride etc). We hurried up to go, but no one made us feel bad that he was crying pretty loudly. Has more of a bar feel - seems like it would have been a fun night out for just my husband and I - next time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lake Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing