We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont do it”
Review of Siebkens Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elkhart Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Siebkens Resort
Belgium, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont do it”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is my first online review ever. Wow...this place is old! Made reservations here because a friend was having a party at the bar in the resort. We were going to check out immediately but there were no rooms available anywhere else in town. When we checked out the next day the receptionist told us we should have been told that the hotel is "antiquated" when we called to make the reservation... we were not. The hotel is old and musty smelling and your room will have a 13" tube t.v. and that is it! It feels like a rooming house. We have traveled all over (Hawaii, Florida, Mexico, Chicago, New York) have never been this disappointed. A few things strike me as odd. The hotel acknowledging that they tell guests (sometimes) that the hotel is antiquated, so it seems they know the hotel is unacceptable on many levels. The employees that we dealt with upon check in and check out seemingly were not surprised by our initial complaints, as if they had heard it all before. And lastly, we got all this for the low price of 150.00 for the night. This place should be ashamed. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere- this place is a dump!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 4DENNIS_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    10
    5
    12
    12
See reviews for
23
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapids City, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Siebkens is always our go-to lodging in Elkhart Lake. Condo was clean and comfortable and staff was very friendly and accommodating, as we have found to be consistent for our visits (average 1-3 times each year). This weekend we brought our family up for a Winter Driving School experience at Road America.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaeggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed one evening in July in the condominium building.and had a disappointing experience. The room was nice enough but we could not get hot water in the bathroom. Management said they would make it up to us but did not call us back as promised. Seemed like a fairly nice facility but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elkhart Lake hotels

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This property was hard to evaluate.We enjoyed our stay but not sure we’d stay here again.

We stayed in a condo, the week after labor day when all was quiet. No crowds and virtually no one in town. The condo was clean and comfortable. The staff was generally friendly. Inside parking was convenient. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub where there were plenty of clean towels and chairs.

Siebkins doesn’t deliver what other $200/night properties provide. They give you a double instead of a queen. You get 1TV, not 2 like most other resorts. Don’t expect a working ice maker or a complete array of kitchen utensils. The poor lighting made it difficult to read in the living room and bed room.

Our balcony was spacious and could be accessed from 3 areas - our BR, our LR and 2 windows in the hall. That’s just 1 too many. It would have been easy to pull up the screen in the hall and have direct access to our balcony. This was a security risk.

The view from the beach was beautiful but the beach itself was disappointing. Only 6 lounge chairs and the chairs and cushions were moldy. Whereas the Osthoff had plenty of clean lounge chairs and had removed the rocks from their beach all the way out to the buoys, Siebkins had not. My feet sure wish they had.

We can’t report on the restaurants as they were all closed.

Our rate package gave us the 3rd night free and at that price the hotel was acceptable.If we had to pay full fare for all 3 nights, I doubt we’d stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the condos as close as possible to the lake. The street side might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene-o2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Elm Park hotel of the resort with our 10 month old daughter. Since there was a 2 night minimum, we reserved the room last minute and decided to drive up Friday night and get an early start Saturday morning. Unfortunately, we didn't read reviews of the resort until after we made our reservations. I am always skeptical of reviews because everyone has their own opinion and what appeals to one may not appeal to all. After staying at the resort, all I can say is that EVERYTHING I read in the bad reviews of the Siebken's was completely accurate. The noise from the tavern located directly across from our room kept us up until well past 2am. Once the bar closed, patrons spilled put into the alley directly under our window. Needless to say my husband and I got little to no sleep and had to deal with a very crabby baby the next day. We didn't mind the "antique charm" of the place but for 125 a night we don't think expecting a good night sleep is unreasonable. The layout of the resort is not conducive to over night guests as long as they have a bar with a screened on porch area AND deck that stays open past 2 am. That said, if you are one of the people who are likely to close the tavern down and would like to pass out steps away then it would be a perfect choice. The staff in the office the next morning handled our complaint very well by refunding our money for the night we stayed and canceling our next night. It was by far the WORST NIGHT we have ever experienced in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The rooms were very nice and we enjoyed them a great deal---HOWEVER tryng to get additional towels or TP seemed to be cause for a nasty attitude and at times flat out refusal on some of the employees part. We took a shower before they came to straighten the room and imagine our surprise to find that they didn't replace the used towels---nor did the leave it there so apparently showering dailey is new to them. One of the other people staying with us was lucky enough to spot housekeeping carts in the hall and "borrowed" TP for both rooms and also grabbed some towels.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels and TP and you should have a good time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janny242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

First, to be specific, my experience with Siebkens Resort refers to their hotel. I did not stay in their condo building.

The good: The location is central to Elkhart Lake and close to everything (such as there is) in the town. The front desk staff is nice and very pleasant to deal with. (They do not handle complaints very well, however.)

The bad: Because it is centrally located, the tavern in the resort attracts the town drunkards like moths to a flame. The swimming pool, which was located directly underneath our window, was supposed to be closed at 10 PM. However, at around 11:30 PM on a Saturday night, group after group of drunken frat-boy-types began to swim, shout, and do cannonballs in the pool. No one from the resort seemed to intervene. No security was ever seen on the complex at all, actually.

The housekeeping doesn't seem to be on any type of schedule. The room was cleaned at around 11 AM on Friday but the staff didn't show up until 1:30 PM on Saturday. Since we were relaxing in the room, we asked for clean towels and told the staff they could clean the room the following day. They took our towels but notified us that they had no clean towels to replace them with and would return with them "later". Two hours passed, and they arrived again to deliver the towels and asked if we wanted to room cleaned. *sigh*

We also saw the cleaning staff leave the rooms being cleaned with unlocked, unlatched doors, leaving the guest's personal belongings in full view of anyone who walked by the open door. Many times, the staff wasn't even in or near the room at the time. Thankfully, none of our belongings were stolen but apparently it would have been easy for someone to do.

The air conditioning in the hotel is controlled by a floor-level thermostat. Which means anyone on the floor can control the temperature to every room on the floor. The room we had reserved had no working air conditioning when we arrived. Several calls to the front desk to explain that it wasn't working despite following their instructions to "give the room time to cool down" were met with excuses. Only after we asked for another room did they call a serviceman to see if he could fix the air conditioning. Lo and behold, he did find it wasn't working.

The room we were finally given was relatively small but did have working air conditioning. But, we soon found that the hotel's walls are extremely thin. For example, a guest in the room next to ours coughed one night and it sounded as if he was in our bed. Coupled with the noise from the street and swimming pool, this made restful sleep nearly impossible.

The shower head is positioned at eye level for someone of average height. At least the water pressure was good.

We actually cut our stay short by a night so we could drive to another hotel so we could get a good night's sleep.

We were in town for a wedding but if, for some reason, we were to return to Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, we would definitely spend the extra money and stay in the Osthoff or Victorian Village resorts.

Room Tip: Stay in the condos not the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.1 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
14.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.4 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siebkens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siebkens Resort

Property: Siebkens Resort
Address: 284 S Lake St, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-2135
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Elkhart Lake
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siebkens is a landmark, turn-of-the-century resort purchased by Laura and Herman Siebken in 1916. Located on pristine Elkhart Lake, Siebkens is currently owned and operated by the fourth generation of the Siebken family. Guests will find relaxed surroundings, abundant with antiques, interesting people, great conversation, innovative cuisine and exciting night life. Lodging choices include deluxe and standard hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Amenities include, two restaurants - The Stop-Inn Tavern and The Main Dining Room. Other amenities are Sissy's Coffee and Ice Cream Shoppe, an outdoor pool and hot tub, live entertainment in the historic Stop-Inn Tavern, meeting facilities, and our private sandy beach. Golf, shopping, water sports rentals and a day spa and salon are all within steps of the property. In our authentic resort surroundings, abundant with history, you will find interesting people, great conversations, even greater stories and a warm, friendly atmosphere. We welcome you to visit us sometime soon. You'll see why so many of our friends and guests return year after year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing