We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Thomas Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thomas Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Elkhorn B&B and Inns
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I booked this room thinking it was a cheap clean mom n pop motel. The Reviews i read gave me this impression. I was WRONG. I opened the door and the smell was unbearable. Even if the room was clean I could not sleep in it because of the smell. But to further my disappointment the room was beyond dirty. The AC unit had wood around it that had mold on it. We have stayed in cheap mom n pop motels before and very satisfied but I could not stay here even for a night. Got my money back and left and went down the road to a clean, nice motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Once again, it was a great service. Clean rooms. And affordable. Now they have Free WI-FI internet. It was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I been frequent customer of the motel for couple years now (6x/yr) and there is a reason I keep going back. The family that manages the motel are so nice and super friendly. The rooms are great considering the rates compared to the other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
x
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

My husband and I wanted a place "just to sleep" because we would be "out and about" all during our stay. We were not looking for a pool or a spa or a breakfast buffet or Internet or "frills of any kind". What we were looking for was a convenient, clean, friendly, low-cost place. The Thomas Motel provided all that, and we will definitely stay there again and repeatedly. Also, we really appreciated the HUGE 24-hour grocer/deli/sundries store that is walking distance from the Thomas Motel (it's called "Frank's County Market") and there' also a Walgreen's at walking distance.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank K_Shaynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhorn
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkhorn Lake Geneva Area
2.4 mi away
Americinn Lodge & Suites Elkhorn
5.3 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Crossroads Motel
The Crossroads Motel
#3 of 3 in Elkhorn
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Motel

Property: Thomas Motel
Address: 840 N Wisconsin St, Elkhorn, WI 53121-1137
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhorn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elkhorn
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Thomas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing