We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunset Better Food”
Review of The Shoreline

The Shoreline
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Ellison Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Sunset Better Food”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had dinner with my family on a Friday night (perch night) on the first weekend we have ever spent in the Door Peninsula. We arrived in time to watch the sunset from the patio with a drink. Waited a quick hour to get a table. Service was great and the waitress suggested we try the perch as it is a Friday staple of many in the area. The food was excellent and filling (because they give generous portions and I chose to eat everything on my plate), beer was cold, atmosphere was friendly and boisterous. Good crowd. We left very satisfied.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    80
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunsets AND Whitefish”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Fresh whitefish a beautiful view of the bay and sunset-that is why we always go back. Plus a friendly staff and good atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Eat !!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is one of the better places to eat in Door County, with a wonderful view to add !!! Come early, yes........... there was a waiting line already 30 min. before it opened !!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank scrappermom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorites”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

There's nothing better than staying at the Shoreline Motel and being able to walk over and have an excellent dinner at their restaurant. Went there twice this month after watching the sunset from our balcony. The food is first-rate, whether you want a complete dinner or one of their perch or whitefish sandwiches. This was our 5th visit and we'll definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rpsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawyer, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have been going to Door County for over 14 years, and The Shoreline is our favorite restaurant on the peninsula. The view is fabulous, the staff are really pleasant and helpful, and the food is always wonderful. It isn't just fish/chips, chowder, etc. It's a great, creative, menu and less expensive than other places in Door Co with food as good.
They don't take reservations but it isn't ever a problem since any waiting time can be spent on the outdoor patio overlooking the bay, and you might just catch a sunset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seasoned L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shoreline also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Ellison Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Ellison Bay, Door County
 

Been to The Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing