We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A best- kept secret and a pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Ellison Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A best- kept secret and a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I have been celebrating our anniversary in Gills Rock for 14 years, always staying at Dockside condos. We love the beauty of Door County, but not the maddening crowds. The property changed hands and we could no longer rent our usual room, so we checked across the road at the Harbor Lights (used to be Harbor House). What a wonderful surprise! Larger room with more ambiance and more amenities than we had been staying in all these years, for a lower price! And Becky is such a treat, too. Outstanding Service Ethic, pleasant, friendly demeanor and full of information. We will definitely be back.
Duane Q., Green Bay, Wi

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cadeuces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you Duane for such a kind review! It was great to have you and your wife at the Inn - hope you'll be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    13
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We've been in the hotel business as owner-operators since 1995. Holiday Inn, Comfort Inn, Clarion and Ramada. We've also renovated some apartments into Corporate-style short-term lodging. So I think we've seen and done enough to make an honest assessment of Harbor Light Inn. What a nice surprise it turned out to be. We live in the country now and wanted something off the beaten path - you know, a bit different - not overrun with tourists. What we found was certainly above expectation. A friend who tracked us down by electronics somehow convinced the manager to trek the better part of ten miles to acquire an anniversary beverage as a surprise when we returned from dinner. What lodging operator does that? Very clean, Quiet. Private-feeling. Obviously very recently remodeled. We were backed against the woods and could see the harbor. The way they managed to bring privacy into the various separate accommodations was unique - special. Don't be fooled by the seeming too-reasonable price, or put-off by the extra few miles up to the Gills Rock harbor. We found a real gem in an ocean of 'typical fare' and multiple bodies. Hope to find good enough reason to get back there soon enough. Thanks for the sweet room Becky!

Room Tip: Hey: Ya want something different - off the beaten path yet close enough to the rest of the 'Door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DENNIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you so much for such a thoughtful, generous review. It was wonderful to have you both and I'm so glad you had a special anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We decided at the last minute to travel up to Washington Island before we left for home near Chicago. We booked a room, sight unseen, and I can't tell you how happy we were with it. I wish we could have stayed longer. The room was large and homey, the bed, very comfortable and the bathroom a really nice, modern surprise. I hope that we are able to return, with some family and/or friends for a longer visit next time and get a chance to use the Common Room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janvb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Harbor Light - I'm so happy you had a nice stay, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I & my husband stayed at the Lighthouse suite over the weekend. I kind of not want to spread "the best kept secret" but will share it anyway. Hard to believe that the rate is so reasonable during the high season. The suite is very spacious, has a huge whirlpool tub. In the living room, there is a gas fireplace which I didn't think I needed to use, but I used it every morning as it is already fall in the Door. We also had a good size balcony looking over the dock. There is another smaller one by the bedroom - you can enjoy fresh air in the woods at night. The room comes with a micro-wave, a mini-coffee maker and fridge. We really didn't need to eat out a lot because we shopped at the local supermarket and bought some delis and other items. Gills Rock is a quaint charming little town away from all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
What a kind review! Thank you so much for sharing our little secret :) I'm so happy you and your husband had such a lovely visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here a couple weeks ago to celebrate our ten-year anniversary and we had an excellent experience. The location was convenient, as being on the tip of Door County, it provided convenient access to the ferry station for a day trip to Washington Island. There are also a couple of county parks close by which have great sunset views. It was also nice and quiet. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite and really enjoyed the generous space and personal touch the owner used in decorating. Overall, a very enjoyable and positive experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks for the review - I'm so happy you enjoyed your time here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My six sisters, and I, met in Ellison Bay Wisconsin to surprise our bother on his 70th Birthday. We all stayed here, renting the entire place, with the exception of the Lighthouse Suite and a cottage out back. We LOVED it. Each of us had our own room, with a balcony. We would lean out the balconies to talk to one another, or we would gather on one of the lower ones. It was a blast. Nothing like sitting in my upper room at night, reading a good book and listening to my sisters laughing below. Management left us to our own devices for the weekend. The place was clean and light. It has 2 acres and views of Ellison Bay. Loved it!!! Please note that while this hotel is by the 'City Center' , there IS no city.

Room Tip: Any upstairs corner room, or downstairs corner room is great. All rooms are nice, but a few have mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! It was so much fun having you and your sisters here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My niece and I stayed here last weekend and it was a wonderful place. Beautiful view and excellent location. New carpet,, new paint, bed was a tad hard but overall excellent place. My niece loved the 2 person shower stall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetpea24_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky K, Manager at The Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks so much for the review! Glad you and your niece had a pleasant stay with us, and hope you'll come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellison Bay
9.0 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
68 reviews
8.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
10.2 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
225 reviews
9.5 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Light Inn

Property: The Harbor Light Inn
Address: 12666 State Highway 42, Ellison Bay, WI 54210-9784 (Formerly The Harbor House Inn)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ellison Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ellison Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Harbor Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor House Hotel Ellison Bay
The Harbor Light Inn Ellison Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing