We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful setting, warm friendly people, rustic and woodsy, on the quiet side of Door County”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowleys Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellison Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowleys Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellison Bay
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beautiful setting, warm friendly people, rustic and woodsy, on the quiet side of Door County”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My family has returned many times to this lovely lodge, and have also stayed in many of their vacation homes. Highly recommend it for the ease of relaxation, very good food, excellent Grandma's Swedish Bakery, beautiful setting, and variety of activities away from the crowds but easy to get to the quaint towns with many local budinesses and artisans.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CinnamonNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    41
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
57
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Loved this place. From the bakery, to my room. Good atmosphere and beautiful view. Well worth it. To show you how nice the staff was, I was having trouble with my luggage and the man doing the garbage for the resort stopped doing his thing and carried my bags out to the car and helped me load it. Would go back.

Room Tip: Get a room in the newer section
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We rented kayaks at the shop across the road a couple of years ago and have always kept this resort in mind for a return trip to Door County. It is a beautiful location, a bit off the beaten path, but a good base for exploring the Door. We ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant most days, convenient and good. Staff was helpful and very friendly! This is an older resort, reminds me of a trip to my grandmothers house. But clean and had all we needed. Great stay and I'm sure we will be back

Room Tip: Third floor balcony room had a lovely view of the bay. We were warned that elevator only goes to 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our first visit to Door County in many years and I don't know what took us so long to return. This is a great classic spot with good baked goods and fabulous coffee. The staff was nice and the location unbelievable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We've been going to Door County for years, but have not stayed here for at least 15 years.
I'm happy to say that this family owned and managed hotel/resort has gotten better than before.
And it was excellent before!
Everything from reservations a week before to check-in to check-out was smooth.
Friendly faces on the entire staff. Food was excellent at the buffet for dinner and lunch.
A small, low key bar was inviting after long hot day on the road.
The Pool was quiet and great for the end of the day.
You can't go wrong here, at the the quiet side of Door county!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hogdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

The breakfast buffet and the dinner at night were both wonderful and all the food was homemade. The great variety of homemade bakery items were delicious. Beautiful view of Rowley's Bay in Lake Michigan. We had a Viking whitefish boil with a very entertaining storyteller. The rooms could use an upgrade but overall we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WYPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo. Mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We felt right at home with the friendly staff, excellent food, a nice room with a lake view and an ideal location to explore the island from. We really have no complaints with this resort. If we ever return to door county, we will stay here. We were in a Road Scholar group that used the resort as a base camp to explore Door County. It was great to return every day to the wonderful buffet of fine foods and even a fish boil. We liked it because it was out of the way and quiet, yet not far from the nearby towns. We shall return!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the lake with a refrigerator and a microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellison Bay
5.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
7.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
5.9 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowleys Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowleys Bay Resort

Property: Rowleys Bay Resort
Address: 1041 County Road Zz, Ellison Bay, WI 54210-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ellison Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellison Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's Affordable Waterfront Resort Rowleys Bay Resort offers the best of both worlds-a waterfront destination with affordable lodging options. Whether you prefer a traditional room, suite, cottage or vacation home, all are just steps away from our 700 feet of shoreline. As the largest waterfront resort in Door County, we accommodate and cater to the needs of a wide range of groups. The atmosphere is casual, relaxed and friendly. With our restaurant, bakery, banquet hall, meeting rooms and other amenities all under one roof, families and groups feel safe and connected. 100 Acres of Solitude on a Pristine Bay Rowleys Bay Resort is situated on 100 secluded acres dominating a pristine, undeveloped bay on Lake Michigan. Think of our unique, peaceful setting as a cul-de-sac without noisy through-traffic and bumper-to-bumper people. Be as one with nature as you hike our five miles of trails and enjoy four-season bird watching on our never frozen bay and the unique Mink River Estuary. Nature's light show on the water at sunrise and sunset come at no extra charge!Water Sports Access at Your DoorIf you have a passion for water sports, you have to come to Rowleys Bay Resort. From canoeing and kayaking to sailing and fishing, you won't find a better place in Door County for aqua adventures. The marina and DNR launch are your gateway and quick getaway to Lake Michigan and the Mink River. It's like having your own private playground on the water. Kayak rentals and tours, as well as charter fishing boats, are available dockside.All-You-Can-Eat Restaurant OfferingsIn addition to an all-day full menu and bar, Rowleys Bay Restaurant features Door County's longest buffet and salad bar, providing you with variety, flexibility and tremendous dining value. On Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday night the generous buffet includes the area's only all-you-can-eat fish boil. The restaurant's famous Sunday Brunch buffet includes pecan rolls and other scrumptious treats from Grandma's Swedish Bakery. Historic Swedish Scratch Bakery For 40 years, Grandma's Swedish Bakery has been tantalizing the taste buds of Door County visitors and natives with homemade pastries, decadent sweet rolls and other from-scratch bakery items. Family recipes have been handed down from generation to generation, ensuring that you will receive the same authentic Swedish delights originally baked by Grandma. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowleys Bay Hotel Ellison Bay
Wagon Trail Hotel
Rowleys Bay Resort Ellison Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing