We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still love the place!”
Review of Parkside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellison Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkside Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ellison Bay
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Parkside is the only place I've booked for my weekend visits to Door County since the mid-1980's. Love the service, the setting and the location. I usually book room 11 or 24, a king corner. Large and spacious. The rooms could use some sprucing up and effort has been made with some new lighting and new countertops but more could be done. Also disappointed that the ice machine was not working. Ice was available in the lobby but they had already closed (7:30PM). With that said, you can't beat the price, location and service. Delicious coffee in the morning. I wouldn't feel right staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: A refrigerator and microwave in each room...so bring your favorite beverage and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLGWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

good and friendly service
clean motel standard rooms
quiet atmosphere.
good and affordable base to explore the area

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holgomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I read the reviews on TA before booking our 2 night stay at this motel.... I do not agree.

The rooms are old and dated. and kind of smelly.

The beds were hard, sheets stiff... typical cheap motel fare.

We decided to get a room in a different motel for the next night, when I told the inn keeper (@ 8:30 am the second day) he told me he could "stick me with it".

All in all, I wouldn't go back.... even for free.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eedlingmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Would recommend to anyone. Friendly staff. Grounds are beautiful. There is a beach right across the street. Very nice. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Out9922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I think this place is a steal! It is about half price of what most hotels charge in Door County, but it is just as quaint. Really cute exterior. Room decor was a little bit dated, but the room was quite clean and comfortable. I thought the staff was very friendly as well, happy to help in any way they could. The beach across the way was small and pretty grassy, but had a nice view of the harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddyNie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Our family stayed here summer of 2009 and overall were happy with our stay. Rooms are nice sized and clean. Mini fridge in room was handy to have. Public town park and beach across street was nice to walk to with the kids when my husband wanted to rest and watch TV. The beach was very small and clean and nice view of Bluff from there also. Not may people around so we had the beach pretty much to ourselves. Better beaches elseware in the county but this was fine for our limited use while at the inn between trips around the county. Rooms a bit outdated in style but in good condition and a nice quiet place that was family friendly . Muffins and coffee for breakfast. If you like to avoid the busy towns this is a good spot to stay..

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneenna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We would consider staying here again--but there is certainly room for improvement. Attractive hotel on the highway in Ellison Bay Wisconsin. Do not believe anything they say about an attractive beach across the road. Unkempt and dirty beach--much better municipal beaches elsewhere on the peninsula. Benches to watch a sunset are on uneven ground and covered in gull poop. But the hotel is not in charge of it. Othere towns on the peninsula take much more pride in their public spaces. Hotel is two story and rooms are large and clean. Beds are typical motel beds--bouncy. Sheets and blankets are clean. Check in man was perfunctory--no chit chat here. Definitely gave the impression he would rather be someplace else. Coffee an a muffin served in office starting at 7:30. Room air conditioner worked well. Plenty of hot water--and evidence they have remodeled recently. Very quiet place. Certainly nothing for children to do here--so makes it a great quiet place for older people. Proprietor will recommend the Viking in town to eat--awful. How about a canned cling peach with your soggy fish? Go to the Milk River Basin Supper Club across from the Viking--no frills and will be smoke free in July 2010--sit on the deck and enjoy a cheap drink and very good make from scratch food. They have an old fashioned salad bar that was very fresh. Good waitstaff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sellinglikecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellison Bay
5.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
182 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
81 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
261 reviews
11.5 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
16.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Inn

Address: 11946 State Highway 42, Ellison Bay, WI 54210-9738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ellison Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ellison Bay
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1990, the Inn is conveniently located in the quaint, peaceful town of Ellison Bay, Wisconsin directly across from the local public beach and town park. Nearby, and within easy walking distance you will find unique shops, an amazing art gallery, a variety of restaurants (including the original home of the famous Door County fish boil), a marina and much more. Only minutes away from Newport State Park and the Ellison Bay Bluff Park, the towns of Sister Bay, Gills Rock and the Washington Island car ferry are right near by. The Parkside Inn provides the perfect location for a relaxing Door County vacation! Our rooms have all been newly updated and now include 28" flat screen TV's. We also offer internet access, a small continental breakfast and some very affordable rates. We hope you make The Parkside Inn your Door County destination! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Ellison Bay
Parkside Inn Ellison Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing