We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Point offers high quality experience”
Review of High Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Point Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“High Point offers high quality experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The High Point is a great place to stay when visiting Door County. We have stayed there a few times before but this year decided to try the Landing in Egg Harbor instead. What a huge mistake- so huge that we checked out after the first night. We lucked out in that the High Point had one room left so we took it. High Point is clean, convenient and very accommodating. The beds are very comfortable and the kitchen well stocked with dishes, etc. The staff is friendly, welcoming and very helpful. We dealt mainly with Missy and Jasmine who are an asset to the High Point team. Having tried many of the lodging establishments in Door County over the years, High Point is our first choice and have already booked a suite for next August. You will not regret booking here. Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the second floor, woods view room are our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    38
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Spent two nights at the High Point Inn for a girls get away. Had a two bedroom suite - everything was great. Very clean, great to have two bathrooms. Can't think of anything negative. This was our second time staying at the High Point and we were greeted with a box of candy and a lovely note welcoming us back. Nice touch, loved the candy, Door Counties finest! The location of High Point Inn is great as it is within quick driving to Fish Creek, Ephraim and Sister Bay. We used both the outdoor and indoor pool at the resort and found both to be very clean. I have stayed at many resorts in Door County and the High Point in is on or near the top of my list of favorites. After two visits, I have nothing but good things to say. Thank you High Point for another good trip. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler,46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This resort was recommended to us by family friends. We thought the room was large and clean and the pools were great (indoor and outdoor). We didn't make much use of the kitchen since there were so many great restaurants in the area. It's a little drive from downtown but we were able to easily find parking when we drove there. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gk b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a large family group coming to Door County, so we booked a 3 bedroom suite at the High Point Inn and got room 101, right behind the reception area. It was certainly large enough - 3 large bedrooms, two bathrooms (one in the "master" bedroom), a large living/dining room with wall hung flat screen TV, and a fairly well equipped kitchen. The kitchen could have been stocked a little better with more dishes, pots and pans and utensils, but it was adequate. There was also a very large back porch that spanned from the living room all the way around to the bedrooms, and a large grassy area behind us, which was nice for some of us to play soccer in ! There was a king size bed in the Master, and queen size beds in the other two bedrooms. There are two pool areas - one inside and one outside, which is nice. And on the 2nd floor there is a video/pinball game room that was used by some of us. There is also a pay washer/dryer room, which we used. Near the reception area there is a large living area with TV and games for all to use, and also a room with 24 hour a day coffee available.
As other reviewers have stated, there is some room for improvement. The thing we didn't like is that you almost have to ASK to have your room cleaned. It wasn't done everyday on a regular basis, and when it was done, the job wasn't thorough. I would expect them to clean every room each day just as any good hotel does. When they did "clean" our room, it was very cursory - just pulled up the sheets and blankets and maybe replaced a few towels. We stayed for 4 nights and the sheets were never changed. The bathrooms were not cleaned at all, nor the kitchen. We had to do that ourselves. The rooms weren't vacuumed either. Since we were in and out a lot, and there were 8 of us in our group, it didn't bother us much, and we did all pitch in to keep things clean and dishes washed, but since we are paying guests, it would have been nice if the hotel was more proactive in their attitude towards clean rooms. To be fair, we did have our stuff all around but it was in neat piles here and there. However, this aspect did not interfere with our enjoyment of our stay here. Also, on our day of arrival, there was no one at the reception desk, even though there was a line of 3 or 4 people waiting to check in. There was just a sign on the desk saying " Had to step out. Will be back soon". But we all waited 15 minutes for her to come back. During our stay, we found that this is a regular habit and found that sign on the desk several times.
We probably would stay here again if we come back to Ephraim - the practicallity of being able to rent a 3 bedroom suite is nice. The grounds of the hotel are well landscaped with pretty flowers. It is in a good location - not far from activities and restaurants and beaches, or Peninsula State Park (through which we took a 10 mile bike ride on rented bikes). We also drove to the end of the peninsula and took a ferry over to Washington Island.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, but that was probably also due to the beautiful Door County and our activites there.

Room Tip: I only know that our room on the main floor was a nice size - didn't see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We shared a 2-bedroom suite with friends. Clean and comfortable. Good location in Door County. Some shopping nearby. Restaurant within walking distance (tho we didn't go there). Screened balconies would have been nice (no bugs in Wisc, ?). Good location to start a back-roads bike ride. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnOnTheFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billuwm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife, infant and I found the High Point Inn to be a great place to bring the family for a getaway. We had a two bedroom suite. The spare bedroom had enough space to set up the pack and play for the baby, and it was very sound proof... we barely heard her cry in the morning! The living room, kitchen, master bedroom and balcony all had plenty of space. The front desk staff was very friendly, as were the other guests staying there. The location is great, too. There is a nice, old-school mini-golf course right next door and a restaurant across the street. A short drive will get you down to Sister Bay. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billuwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall Creek, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I looked online for a 3 bedroom suite for my husband and me, our 4 children, and my in-laws for a few days to see Door County...The High Point was PERFECT! It allowed my in-laws to have their own "quarters" and we were next to the kids. The kitchen/dining/living area was wonderful and saved us money by allowing us to get our own groceries for the trip. We were all impressed and the staff was SUPER friendly and accommodating. We know where we will stay our next trip to DC! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
1.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
10.3 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#5 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Point Inn

Property: High Point Inn
Address: 10386 Water St., Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Point Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing