We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will love it!”
Review of High Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Point Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Very nice and cozy... everything we wanted. Rooms have a fireplace, whirlpool tub, private deck...

Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
Thank ChristineO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

My family have been going to Door County every fall for 12 or 13 years. We have stayed at a few different places, but this one is by far the best one we have stayed at.

The staff are polite, courteous, and always willing to help out their guests. They make it a point to try to have someone at the front desk at all times, but there are times when there is no one there. The cleaning service is outstanding! They clean the bathrooms everyday and change bed linens every other day for people who stay longer than one night (which we usually do). The sinks and table are never sticky or dirty when we first enter the room and the carpets are very clean.

The rooms come in three types: 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites; we usually stay in a 2 bedroom suite. Our room was very spacious and tastefully decorated, and the bedroom did not have an overabundance of pillows (it bothers me when there are 10 pillows for every bed). Our room had a kitchenette with dishes, glasses, and silverware. I always like this hotels because then you don't have to worry about forgetting to ask for silverware with your take-home desert. I don't use the fitness or business centers, but they always look nice and clean. However, I always use the swimming pool! The pool and jacuzzi are my favorite part of High Point, or maybe its just the fact that they allow you to go swimming when its cold outside that I like :-)

All of Door County is connected by two main highways, one on either side of the penninsula. They provide access to most everything you would want to see in Door County and most shops and hotels are right along these main drags. High Point is no different, it is located right on Hwy 42. From here, its not too far to go either direction of Door County and be back before dark, even in the late fall. The High Point property itself is beautiful. It is a relatively small hotel, but the property extends out from the building quite a ways and our room provided a nice view of a wooded area at the back of the property.

In short...
*Favorite Things --> swimming pool & access to shopping
*Least Favorite Things --> the cost (it is more expensive than your average hotel) and no continental breakfast

Despite my least favorite things, this is a place I would recommend to people looking to go to Door County and have a good time. I hope this helps someone make up their mind about where to stay.

Thanks for reading!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shooting_star609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

This was our first time at the High Point Inn, and we chose it because it was one of the few places to offer a three bedroom suite. It provided plenty of indoor and outdoor space for our family. There were few frills but the site was well-designed and practical for young children.

Although the furniture was recently remodeled, it is rather simple with a country theme that seems a bit old-fashioned. The open concept was nice, and the kitchen had plenty of room for serving food, including a bar counter with full-sized fridge and stove/oven. There were plenty of dishes for cooking. The bedrooms were simple and had room for a crib/air mattress in each if needed. The mattresses were shoing their wear but most of us were happy with them. The split bedroom design was nice for separating the children. The TVs were small but the DVD players were easy to use. The lighting was a bit dark in the evenings, though not more than other hotels. The highlight of the room was a very long porch that was fenced in and ran the length of the suite. The kids were able to run back and forth with their cars/balls and there was still room for a table/chairs and another seating area outside the bedroom. This was accessible from the living room and one of the bedrooms.

The pools were simple (no slides, etc) but adequate. The playground was a composite-type that was perfect for our children but would likely be small for older children. We did use the gas grills and they were in great condition, with tables beside them for easy serving. The front desk was very helpful with providing a vacuum for a spill in our room. However, room service was pretty minimal except for exchanged towels and beds being made.

The hotel is within walking distance of a mini-golf course and a good pizza restaurant, as well as multiple stores. You cannot walk to downtown Ephraim however.

We would consider staying here again as it met our needs. However, it was not exceptional. The price is high, but such is life in Door County in the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNBBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Overall, High Point Inn is a decent place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The common areas are well-maintained. The indoor and outdoor pool, game room and free public computer are all nice amenities. However, the two bedroom suites are very cramped-smaller than at other places we've stayed. There were also several things not operating properly in the room. One set of mini-blinds did not work properly, and one of the windows did not open. There were also several light switches in the room that did not work. One of the toilets clogged during our stay, and the desk clerk indicated that this was a common problem at the hotel. We would consider staying at High Point again, but it would not be our first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sew_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

This was about our tenth time staying at Highpoint Inn. We love how clean it always is and where it is located but most of all we are so impressed with the people who work there.
Missy ( the General Manager) is just the sweetest person you would ever meet - she truly makes you feel like you are most important to her and you feel like she is just so happy you are staying with them. The rest of her team( Faye, Cathy, Karen, and Debbie) have certainly learned well from her as they also make you feel as if this is your home away from home.
We have stayed in many places across the country and have never been treated as wonderfully as we have been here!
We can hardly wait to return.

Gary and Rita
Waukesha, WI

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Doorcountytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

My husband and I have been going to Door County for 13 years....we find it our home away from home. This is a very relaxing place to visit for us. We just returned from a 15 day driving trip to the southwest visiting the National Parks in Utah, Arizona and Colorado (May/June 2008). Needless to say, there is no comparison to Door County, but after all that driving, hiking, more driving, more hiking, etc., we were close to exhaustion after returning home (and putting 4,200 miles on our car!). Door County is relaxation personified - we can just take our time visiting all the little shops in the villages along the way, eating in all the marvelous resaturants (one of our favorites is the Village Cafe, with all the quaint decorations inside and great food. Another favorite is JJ's up on the north end for Mexican Food. Yum! ) We love to just sit in the evening and watch the sunset along the shore line in Ephraim. After all these years I can't believe I still take sunset pictures, but there I am, taking more pictures. High Point Inn is our favorite place to stay so far. We have tried several other places, but keep coming back here - it's clean, comfortable, nice kitchenette so we can make our own light breakfast (so we can eat more later!). The staff has always been great, helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We stayed in a 2 BR at the High Point Inn for Memorial Day Weekend. The rate was $189/night. Much to our dismay when we arrived we were informed that the $189/night rate was for 2 people only; and there would be an additional charge of $12/night for our 11 year old son. The room was clean and ordinary; nothing special; however we did not receive housekeeping service during our stay. Upon checkout when we asked about the housekeeping we were not offered a discount, nor an apology for the lack of service. We have stayed at many places throughout Door County and won't return to the High Point Inn-$630 for the weekend was not worth it. There are too many other nice places with much more affordable rates. Note the pool closes at 9pm on weekdays and 10pm on weekends, so if you enjoy relaxing in the pool after a long day of sight-seeing, walking, biking, etc. this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 79TR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
5.2 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
807 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
219 reviews
23.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Point Inn

Address: 10386 Water St., Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range: £99 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Point Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing