We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect complement to a beautiful fall day in Door County”
Review of Chef's Hat Cafe

Chef's Hat Cafe
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Seminole, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect complement to a beautiful fall day in Door County”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were lazily working our way up the peninsula when lunch pangs hit. Ephraim is a favorite town, so when we saw Chef's Hat Cafe, it all came together and we pulled in. We must have just hit a mid afternoon lull, because although we were seated immediately, the place filled up again while we were there. The waitstaff were all very friendly, and within minutes we had water and placed our order. We wanted to share the Salmon Club and the Cranberry Nut salad, and they were very accomodating of this request. Both were excellent. The salad was a nice mix of greens, peppers, and onions, with walnuts, cranberries, and topped with slices of strawberries and a light tangy raspberry vinaigrette dressing. The Salmon club was cooked just right, and the bread was crisp and well seasoned. Yummy times two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hillis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    129
    39
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chciago
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Breakfast Delight”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

When we visit Door County, we often stop here for breakfast because it is consistently good. The prices are affordable and the servers are very nice. The place is somewhat small but there is a quite a good view of the harbor from some of the tables. Food is healthy and it arrives quickly. Parking can be a little tricky because it is limited on the street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stopped for a late lunch at the Chef's Hat while exploring Door County. I had a turkey wrap and my wife had a veggie cesadilla. Both were very good, with extremely fresh ingredients.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgrif1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cozy Breakfast”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wife and I had a great breakfast the last morning of our annual DC trip. Interesting and flavorful breakfast scrambles, utilizing many herbs and spices. Great big cups of fresh hot coffee, and do I really have to mention the scones? Tried the blueberry and raspberry/white chocolate and the buttery goodness just oozes out of them.
Nest time we will have to try for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beamer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast with an amazing view”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Had the Asparagus Scramble (a spectacular blend of 3 eggs, red peppers, ham, andouille sausage and some other magnificence), the white chocolate and raspberry scone (which was perfectly dense and pliable) to go along with a beautiful view of the bay of Ephraim. Charming place with huge portions that will carry you well beyond lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef's Hat Cafe also viewed

 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Chef's Hat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing