We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterbury Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed in a Flagship single bedroom suite. It was really the size of a hotel room with a queen sized bed and some kitchen items squeezed in. It could supposedly sleep 4, but it was cozy for just 2 of us. There wasn't room to do more than make coffee in the kitchenette. There was a patio door - but no patio or balcony. We couldn't keep the door open to let in the breeze because of the noise of neighboring air conditioners. Our air conditioner was so loud that it was difficult to sleep. The light fixture in the bathroom looked like it would soon fall down. The towels had seen better days. It was probably a nice place when built, but it needs an update. It was less expensive than the condo units in Door County and it did have the kitchenette, so if that is what you are looking for it could be OK. But having stayed in some condos in Door County in the past, this was a disappointment, though it was available on short notice. The staff was friendly.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kate290518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    38
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
57
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Friendly helpful staff
Family orientated
clean
Cook in your room or on outside grills
Two pools and exercise roo

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

The Waterbury Inn was not very impressive. The rooms are advertised as condos, but really are just out-of-date apartments. Our room was on the garden level (aka basement) and the hallway smelled horrible (like urine). Also in order to get to our room, we had to go in the main entrance, past the desk, drag our luggage across the first floor, carry it down a flight of stairs and then down another hallway. They do not have elevators. The room decorations appeared to be from a craft fair that was held in the eighties and the bed was small and uncomfortable. The mattress was not very firm and every time my husband moved it woke me up and vice versa. We did not sleep much at all for the two nights we were there. I also felt it was overpriced for what they had to offer. Also the "free" Internet connection was slow and had a low signal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brewerygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

I had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Waterbury Inn in a 1 bedroom with loft condo.

On the plus side:
--the rate was reasonable
--the room accomodated our travel situation very well. I was traveling with 2 other ladies and I was able to get a condo with 3 beds. It would also be ideal for families with kids who can sleep in a loft with twin beds. There was only one bath, so loft sleepers have to go downstairs to use the facilities.
--The condo had a small balcony.
--It was well equipped with the basics...microwave, dishwasher, stove, frig, large table/chairs, sitting area
--The lobby area had complimentary coffees, a large screen TV and a public computer
--Ephraim is in the heart of Door county, so it is a good location.
--Friendly staff
--Free internet and parking

On the downside:
--There are no water views....but water views come with a higher rate
--The carpet was a bit soiled
--No elevator
--Relatively short hours for the fitness center and pool. The early risers may miss having access to the facilities.
--The condos are on the small side.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailofIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford,Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed in one-bedroom, ground floor suite for 3 nights. Our room was musty and had an odor. There was a dehumidifier up against a wall that we emptied twice a day so there is a lot of moisture in the room. Plus had a window AC running continuously. I suspect there was flooding there earlier in the summer. Housekeeping doesn't show up until after 3P, by then we were back for the afternoon cooking dinner before going swimming. Awkward time to show up. Indoor and outdoor pools nice, grounds nice. Location was about a mile or so from downtown Ephraim on a busy road with quite a hill between the Inn and Ephraim. Makes bicycling to and fro difficult. I would look elsewhere if all they have is ground floor units available. Second and third floors were probably better.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyclist12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
1.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
4.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbury Inn

Property: Waterbury Inn
Address: 10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterbury Inn is nestled in the woods of North Ephraim. Just minutes away from so many great attractions. All units have kitchenettes, living space, flat screen TV and dvd player. Extra amenities: outdoor/indoor pool, hot tub, gas grills, picnic area, childrens play area, ping pong room and arcade room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbury Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing