We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect picturesque inn in Door county.”
Review of Waterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterbury Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Great little Inn that should get more reviews and ratings. The rooms were great and equipped with full kitchen living room and dinning table. Each morning they provide coffee( French vanilla, pumpkin spice) and it's a short drive from sister bay and fish creek. Rooms were clean and they added little details to make you feel at home. The pool n whirlpool were nice as well. They only bad thing is that they are not as close to te water like the other hotels. But only a few hotels are right on the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milrockee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at Waterbury 9/15/11 to 9/18/11. It was nice and very clean. The rooms are on the small sizes but comfortable. The kitchen had all the necessary items, just not big. The beds are only queen size but comfortable, we had no problem sleeping. We had a one bedroom spinnaker and it was very satisfactory. It could use some upgrading but we do not spend a lot of time in our rooms so it was good. I would say it was a good value for the money. The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions as to where to dine and activities, especially the desk person, Wally, was very helpful. We've been going to Door County for 18 years and we had a good time. Thank You

Room Tip: Pay for larger one bedroom spinnaker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is a great Door County choice for lodging. The location is in the middle of everywhere you want to go. The rooms are comfy and have kitchens which is a great money saver. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are clean. There are 3 garden level rooms which I advise to steer clear of. Simply request not to have one of those rooms when booking. The other rooms are great. The pools are fantastic, both outdoor and indoor, and the hot tub is fantastic after a day of hiking and biking!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We loved the location in Door County. This hotel was close enough to all the other little towns. Two pools, indoors and outdoors, was great. The lobby is awesome with a huge flat screen and we would hang out there later at night to watch MLB games. We also loved the hot chocolate station and the board games. The room fit us really well. Family of 4 with two kids, 12 and 13. Private bedroom, living room and kitchen. It was nice to be able to spread out. We didn't use the pull out couch for a bed. Had one kid sleep on the couch and the other slept on the floor in his sleeping bag. More sleeping space for them that way and not have to share with their brother. While you are in Ephraim, you have to go downtown and watch the sunset on the water. It's the best sunset in Door County and lots of people start gathering to watch it. Don't forget to check out the shop next door to the Waterbury Inn, George Burr gallery for some amazing original artwork that is pretty reasonably priced. Also the two shops across the street. Best place to eat in Ephraim: Chef's Hat for lunch. Sit outside, try the salmon sandwhich. p.s. the zip lines in Gills Rock are great for younger kids about 10-14 or for first timers. But if you are experienced zip liners, they may be kind of too easy. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Don't forget to check out the hot chocolate station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gage038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The garden rooms are actually basement rooms and have a funky odor despite the various air purifiers the management has left around. Otherwise I would liken the experience to staying in your parents basement-it's relatively clean, but worn and outdated and probably wasn't that well built to start with.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aileen9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We arrived only to find a sign at the front desk stating that they would be right back. After waiting over 5 minutes, we were able to check in. Lobby area smelled of pool and chlorine.
Our room had a terrible musty and moldy odor...very unpleasant! Woke up Sunday morning to find the hallway from our room to the lobby dark and coffee not served until after 8 am in the common room. Don't stay here if you want a romantic getaway -- lots of kids!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olivia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed in a Flagship single bedroom suite. It was really the size of a hotel room with a queen sized bed and some kitchen items squeezed in. It could supposedly sleep 4, but it was cozy for just 2 of us. There wasn't room to do more than make coffee in the kitchenette. There was a patio door - but no patio or balcony. We couldn't keep the door open to let in the breeze because of the noise of neighboring air conditioners. Our air conditioner was so loud that it was difficult to sleep. The light fixture in the bathroom looked like it would soon fall down. The towels had seen better days. It was probably a nice place when built, but it needs an update. It was less expensive than the condo units in Door County and it did have the kitchenette, so if that is what you are looking for it could be OK. But having stayed in some condos in Door County in the past, this was a disappointment, though it was available on short notice. The staff was friendly.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kate290518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
4.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
High Point Inn
High Point Inn
#6 of 8 in Ephraim
131 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
9.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbury Inn

Address: 10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ephraim
Price Range: £78 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterbury Inn is nestled in the woods of North Ephraim. Just minutes away from so many great attractions. All units have kitchenettes, living space, flat screen TV and dvd player. Extra amenities: outdoor/indoor pool, hot tub, gas grills, picnic area, childrens play area and ping pong room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Waterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbury Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing