We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Waterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterbury Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Our first trip staying at the Waterbury Inn was fabulous. Clean, comfortable room... nice indoor pool and hot tub....also very clean. Grounds well kept. Friendly helpful staff!!!! Affordable!!!!
Looking forward to staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    40
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
60
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have stayed at The Waterbury Inn many times. The most recent this past June and October. Both stays were FANTASTIC!! The trip in October was a surprise for my Dads 70th birthday. The staff at the Waterbury helped keep it a secret for over 6months! While they were all helpful, Wally went out of his way to help keep things as a surprise. He is an exceptional staff member-always has a smile, is fabulous with our children(who love him) and is always willing to do what he can to make our stay a pleasant one. The Waterbury Inn in Ephraim is our family's choice every time we vacation in Door County Wisconsin. It's clean, affordable,a great location, spacious condos with kitchen(excellent for our family), outdoor barbecue grills which we use every trip, indoor/outdoor pools which are clean and wonderful and the lobby with the checkerboard is always a great place to unwind and relax. Excellent resort all the way around!

Room Tip: We have stayed in several different rooms. Room 207 has a beautiful view. My parents stay in that ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denbethpryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I had a chance to speek with your father when he checked out and he expressed that he had no clue what his family had planned and was very surprised. I will pass on all the great comments to Wally. He is a great asset to our team. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your fathers celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Reasonable price for a comfortable 3 night stay. Outdoor pool was closed for the fall season but the indoor pool and hot tub was very clean with towels furnished in the pool area. Room was clean and fresh smelling. Free coffee and hot chocolate in the great room and a welcoming fire in the fire place. We asked to pet the house dog and we rewarded with some friendly licks and tail wagging. We saw 2 deer outside our window one morning when we opened the blinds. We will come here again.








'

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank porge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I checked into the Waterbury this past Friday (September 28) and stayed two nights. The room was dated (1980's), the sheets were dirty, but the worst was the mold/musty smell. The odor was horrific. My wife has allergies and the mold smell really affected her sinuses. We had to keep windows open the whole time we were there so we could survive the two nights. We would have left after the first night, but we had already paid for the two nights and after experiencing the terrible mold smell I was in no mood to argue with the owner/manager.

Room Tip: Don't stay here is my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as we can. I was very surprised to hear that you would have had this issue. It is very rare that we have this complaint and never on second floor. I wish you had come up to the front desk to let us know your situation. We would have tried to fix it to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here because it offered a kitchenette witout the $250.00 price tag....SCORE!! The staff was wonderful. I have allergys and after reading the reviews, I saw that it could be "musty" in the basement level. Not at all! They offered to upgrade us, but I wanted to check it out first and it was fine, so no upgrade. The room we were in was clean (except the shower curtain) and comfortable. We could have even brought our two kids and had PLENTY of room. The amenities were nice (bikes, pool still open end of Sept. in WI, indoor pool and hot tub). It wasn't a 5 star hotel, and we can't afford a 5 star. It was resonably priced, as clean as larger more expensive hotels, had a great location and the staff was friendly. We were sad we only stayed one night! ( The only recommendation I could make to them would be to have a small cont. breakfast, that would be a nice touch).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMBC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your comments about having a great stay in our garden level. Broad steps were taken to address the realtively few issues that we had down in our garden level. After previous complaints, the rooms were stripped down to the concrete. All the concrete floors have been re-sealed with a moisture barrier. New pad and new carpet were also put in and we've had no issues since. I also will let our board of directors know about your continental breakfast idea. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We arrived around 2 p.m. and checked in early.
The front desk gal was trying to corral her two dogs....who barked and barked.
Very laid back front desk atmosphere. I guess I was expecting something a little more formal.

Stayed on the 1st level as I've read the 'garden' basement level was musty smelling.
Even at that the hallways smelled funny - musty. Room smelled a different kind of funny...more floral or something.

Room was okay. They still use old fashion 'keys'. One for the outside door and one for your room, so you are always carrying two.
Outdated bathrooms and kitchen, but it was nice to have a kitchen. Had all the basics and more.
Bed was comfy. Would have been nice to have some blinds or curtains that blocked out the light though. There were cheap miniblinds on all the windows.
TV was a bit small.
Killed a few bugs (earwigs & spiders) while there. Which was kind of yuck.

Hotel was on the main drag (Hwy 42), so a little busy if you thought you'd want to walk to downtown Ephraim, that probaby would be a little 'hairy' as this Inn is located a bit north.
The room was quiet.
Pool was clean and pretty vacant of activity. Pool temp was okay.
Fitness center was small - after thought.
Lobby was nice. Played some checkers and surfed a bit on the computer. BIG screen TV also located here.
Free hot chocolate, coffee.
They also had free use of bikes, but we didn't try them out.

Room Tip: Do not choose the garden level (basement) rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingmom3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Waterbury Inn for one-night. We had a two bedroom loft and was perfect for our family with 2 small children. We enjoyed the pool, though it did get a little crowded. The artwork in the room was great and from local artists. They also have free DVD's that you can borrow for a night, a fitness room and even a room for table tennis.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
1.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
4.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
225 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbury Inn

Property: Waterbury Inn
Address: 10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterbury Inn is nestled in the woods of North Ephraim. Just minutes away from so many great attractions. All units have kitchenettes, living space, flat screen TV and dvd player. Extra amenities: outdoor/indoor pool, hot tub, gas grills, picnic area, childrens play area and ping pong room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbury Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing