We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable and Close to everything”
Review of Waterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterbury Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Close to everything”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We return to the Waterbury every year. We are never disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The entire resort is equally as clean. The indoor and outdoor pools are very well maintained.
The staff and owners can be crabby. However keep in mind that in order to have a resort be this clean you need to have some order. They are pleasant to deal with as long as you are following the rules. They NEVER bend the rules so do not ask. Again they are very pleasant and run a beautiful property.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the pool side facing the woods. Those are quieter than those facing the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    38
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
58
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abrams, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Waterbury Inn and enjoyed it tremendously. We stayed in unit G2 which is in the back of the building where we found it to be very peaceful. Deer made several appearances past our window. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badgerb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Waterbury Inn and loved it! The room was more of a small apartment really and fit my kids, my mom, and I perfectly. The pool was a hit with the kids and it was nice to have a more "homey" home base. Love that they have games in the lobby/lounging area and movies to rent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinmom227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for choosing the Waterbury Inn as your home base while you were here in Door County. We are glad that all of you had a great time at the Waterbury Inn. It is one of our goals to make people feel like they are in a homey environment. We look forward to having you as our guests again when you come back to Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just spent two nights at the Waterbury Inn during peak leaf season. It was a two bedroom suite with a lovely woodsy view. The room was spotless, and as many have commented, the people working at the hotel were friendly and helpful. I have to confess, though, I was a little disappointed in the room. Perhaps my memory is faulty, but when we stayed at a similar room in another hotel in Door County, the other room seemed much more spacious and better laid out. That sounds like a quibble, but given the price we paid for the room--and I know it was peak season--I was disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdinmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for choosing the Waterbury Inn. We're glad you had a good stay and were able to enjoy Door County during peak colors. Thanks also for your review and the compliments to our staff and cleanliness of our facility as we take pride in both.

In regards to the room layout and value during peak season, there are two basic types of condominium resorts in Door County: Family friendly condominiums and luxury condominiums. The Waterbury Inn is a family friendly condominium that's full of guest amenities. Our two bedroom Deluxe Suites come with a private bedroom, upstairs loft, fully equipped kitchen, small dining area, living room and private balcony. The other facility that you are describing as "much more spacious" would qualify as a luxury condominium and would be priced at least 20% higher than our peak rates.

Again, we're glad you had a good stay and definitely appreciate your review. We just feel it's important to distinguish between the two types of condominiums that Door County has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I just spent a week in Door County to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Normally we have some or even all of our 5 children with us. While we could have chosen to stay anywhere the Waterbury was our first choice. We have come to truly love everything about it. From the cleanliness, to the location it has always been a good fit for our family and as usual we were once again happy to be there. We've been going to Door County since our honeymoon and have stayed a number of places. The Waterbury never disappoints and has become our first choice. It's a wonderful place to make memories!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HisGirlPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary. We are honored that you made the Waterbury Inn a part of such a momentous occasion. It's a privilege to have been a small part in creating those special memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I decided to be bold and take our 21 month old triplets on a trip. We had originally booked lodging at some cottages in Sturgeon Bay as it was a bit cheaper and the cottages appealed to us. HUGE mistake! They were disgusting and extremely unsafe for our kids, though they had gotten excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We forced ourselves to stay for 24 hours, then popped over to Waterbury Inn to see if they had any availability. Thank goodness they did. I had been coming to the Waterbury Inn since I was a child. According to my father, since 1987.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious enough and clean. The playground was well kept and safe. Pool area was clean. I really appreciated the coffee bar. The Waterbury Inn was exactly the same wonderful, warm, happy place that I remembered from my childhood and I definitely plan on returning with my family in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glowfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Another outstanding stay at the Waterbury. This is a beautiful property, very reasonably priced, and it has every amenity that a family with three children could want. The staff is top notch, the facility is clean and exceptionally well maintained, and the location is very convenient to dining, beaches, bike trails, play grounds, and shopping. We always enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools, movie check outs, games, outdoor grilling facility, and the welcoming staff. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We prefer any of the two bedroom unites when traveling with our 3 kids. When traveling as two adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
1.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
9.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Point Inn
High Point Inn
#6 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbury Inn

Property: Waterbury Inn
Address: 10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterbury Inn is nestled in the woods of North Ephraim. Just minutes away from so many great attractions. All units have kitchenettes, living space, flat screen TV and dvd player. Extra amenities: outdoor/indoor pool, hot tub, gas grills, picnic area, childrens play area and ping pong room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Waterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbury Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing