We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Sunset”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ephraim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pioneer Acres Cottages
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is a great place for many reasons.

First of all, the view is amazing. The way that the buildings are placed on the site, it seems like they would all have a great view of the harbor. Sitting on the porch, we experienced one of the prettiest sunsets that we have ever seen (take a look at the attached photo).

It is within walking distance of the main Ephraim amenities.

We had a double room with living room, kitchen and two full baths. It was spacious enough to comfortably accommodate 4 adults and 2 children.

The room was VERY clean and nicely decorated. We did not feel uncomfortable with our two year old crawling around on the living room floor (we are normally VERY uptight about letting him do that outside of our home).

Kay the owner is very service oriented, and a very warm and nice person.

The internet connection worked very well with my android phone, and the room had a phone that I was able to make local calls with.

Kay also provided us with a great deal of Door County brochures which listed the many things to do in the area.

Wood logs were provided for use with the fireplace in the living room. A Weber charcoal grill was provided as well.

The rooms are situated in a quiet relaxing setting.

I highly recommend this to anyone with a family, or anyone that has a need for a bit more space and prefers a homey feel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

This condo rental has it all - comfortable bedroom and living areas, convenient parking, outdoor patio (or deck) providing a picturesque view of the harbor. The locaton up the hill from the main road puts you above the shoreline traffic and offes a beautiful view of the sunsets over the water. Even after the sun goes down, the soflty lit spire of the church below is a lovely sight. Ephraim is a short drive to all the favorite Door County destinations from Sturgeon Bay to the south to Washington Island to the north. In town restaurants are good, but don't offer late night fare nor alcohol. Ephraim is the only dry municipality in Wisconsin, so if you wish to enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset, bring your own beverage. The Wilsons provide a nice kitchen with plenty of equipment to make preparing simple meals a breeze, but I do recommend walking down the hill for at least one breakfast at the Chef's Hat - it opens at 8:00 a.m.

Room Tip: Loved the view from the upstairs unit 6, but noting the positioning of the other units, I imagine th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our family has been vacationing in Door County for 30 years and has steyed everywhere: campground at Peninsula State Park, home rentals, motels, and resorts. About 20 years ago we discoved the Harbor View and have stayed there ever since. Three generations of the family and numerous friends have now made it our home away from home! Paul and Kay Wilson are wonderful hosts and have given us, not only clean, attractive, updated, and well equipped accomodations, but insider tips on the best local restaurants. The grounds are beautiful and the views spectacular. You cannot go wrong in staying at the Harbor View for your Door County vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful but we like to stay in the 2 bedroom units farthest back (toward the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

When I called the Harbor View to see if they had any openings, Kay Wilson was absolutely wonderful from the moment she answered the phone. My husband and I flew into the Penninsula, and as such we had no car, but Kay and Paul made sure we were taken care of, both to and from the airport, and during our stay. And the condo was wonderful! Spectacular views of the bay from the deck and the living space of the condo, during the day and at sunset, with views of the water and the brilliant colors of the foliage of Door County. And the accomodations were very clean and beautiful. A fully stocked kitchen allowed my husband and I to prepare a lovely meal, with a fire in the wood-burning fireplace, while taking in an awesome sunset off our deck (see picture). Although the penninsula had been without power for 36+ hours when we arrived, due to a highly damaging windstorm, Kay was there cleaning the condo just a half hour after the power came back on, to make sure we could get right into the unit and get into town for lunch. They made great recommendatoins for dining, and for site seeing also. I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay and our hosts, Kay and Paul. It's folks like them that make Door County what it is! Not only will we recommend this spot to our friends when they are travelling to Door County, but the Harbor View has found lifetime loyal guests in myself and my husband. We will be back year after year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the condos appear to face the water. No less than a spectacular view in any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

To make my reservation was quick and easy speaking with Kay Wilson. She not only gave me great site seeing information but excellent restaurant recommendations. I would reccomend Harbor View to anyone that is going to Door county.

Room Tip: Very Clean and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IllBOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Being on the side of a hill offered great views of the harbor and sunsets. Rooms were very clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Best views from second floor units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam45_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ephraim hotels
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eagle Harbor Inn
The Eagle Harbor Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
405 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Point Inn
High Point Inn
#6 of 8 in Ephraim
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ephraim Motel
Ephraim Motel
#4 of 8 in Ephraim
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waterbury Inn
Waterbury Inn
#1 of 5 in Ephraim
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Acres Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Acres Cottages

Address: 2965 County Q, Ephraim, WI 54211 (Formerly Harbor View Resort)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ephraim
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing