We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort”
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice resort”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at The Edgewater for 2 nights. Check in was super easy and quick. We stayed in a room that had a kitchen, family room with a tv and a nice bedroom with a king bed, bathroom, tv and a jacuzzi. I was really impressed with how clean the unit was. I'm big on that! 10+! The king bed was comfy and so were the pillows. The sheets and blanket on the bed were so soft! We loved the jacuzzi and used it both nights to wind down from a day of adventuring. They supplied some bath salts which was a nice touch. Coffee (regular and decaf) and tea were suppiled as well. Nice touch!
We visited D.C. off season which was nice. One drawback was many restaurants and shops are closed off-season so we kind of had to drive around to find some restaurants open but we managed just fine. What was nice was we were able to drive and adventure without much traffic and we didn't have to wait for a table for dinner or lunch.
We loved breakfast next door at The Chef's Hat. The owners were super nice and friendly and we ended up chatting with them for awhile!
We will visit The Edgewater again and I highly recommend it if you're looking for a nice clean, cozy location with a lovely view of Green Bay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmp7767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for your recent visit and taking the time to tell others about our Resort. We appreciate your feedback and our glad you enjoyed all of our room ammenities. For future guests, more businesses will be opening soon! Our Restaurant opens May 13. Book your summer vacation now as dates are filling quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    175
    56
    14
    12
See reviews for
167
513
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Edgewater Resort is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Door County regardless of the season. My wife and I head to Door County once a year to relax and hopefully gain our sanity back. We are always greeted by Brian with a friendly smile and a warm hand shake. Brian is the main reason we have decided to make a yearly trip to Door County and stay at the Edgewater Resort. Brian is always very hospitable and very informative on the best places to visit, eat and drink. We will definately be booking another trip next off season and have even contemplated heading up during the busy season this summer. Thanks Brian!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Edgewater Resort.
We greatly appreciate your return visit and hope to see you again in summer!
For those of you who have not yet stayed with us, Edgewater Resort is as this reviewer noted, "a great place to keep coming back too." Ask about our seasonal packages that will expire soon. Edgewater Resort is a great place to come and enjoy your spring break, we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We have come here in the wintertime for the past four years and just love the cleanliness of the rooms and the quiet atmosphere at this time of year. Even though it's winter, many businesses are still open...excellent restaurants and interesting shops...all without the crowds. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. We have recommended the Edgewater to all our friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovnleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Edgewater Resort. As this guest noted businesses are open and winter is your perfect opportunity to relax and take your vacation that you've been waiting for! Ask abour our packages going on from now until the first weekend in May. We hope to make your stay just as enjoyable as this guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We have been visiting the Edgewater Resort for several years now and always love it. The location is perfect for us, sitting between Fish Creek and Sister Bay. We never have to drive too far for a restaurant, hiking or shopping.

The rooms are decorated very cute and have a beach feel with white woodwork and hardwood floors. The rooms include a separate living room, kitchen, bedroom, hot tub and fireplace. We have a baby, so it's nice to be able to put her to bed and be able to hangout in the living room by the fireplace. The view of the lake is amazing.

We tend to visit the Edgewater during the off season when everything is much quieter. I love that we can go hiking and feel like we have the entire state park to ourselves. I would highly recommend the Edgewater Resort.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank this guest for the review.
As they have noted Edgewater is beautiful even in our off season.
Start 2011 off right and call us today and ask about our great seasonal packages which include a five course dinner catered into your suite. Packages also include two half hour massages. Packages are valid January through the first week of May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We've stayed many places in Door County, but we always go back to the Edgewater. The manager is great -- always friendly, resourceful and helpful. The entire staff is very easy to deal with and seem to enjoy their jobs. The view is spectacular and we like having a restaurant right on the property.
It's always fun to rent a pontoon boat or sailboat, then get some ice cream from Wilson's.
We're already looking forward to our next trip to the Edgewater!

Laura from Illinois

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_lamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed here on our first trip to Door County, and I'm glad we chose this resort. Ephraim is a fairly centrally-located resort on the upper part of the Door peninsula, it was just a short drive to Fish Creek or Sister Bay, where we found most of the activities. The grounds at Edgewater were nice, and we had a great view out on the bay. We stayed in one of the rooms in the middle building (there are three main buildings, plus four stand-alone cottages), on the second floor. All of the rooms in the main buildings (except for three suites in the southern building) had shared verandas, they don't have private balconies. So, while other guests can possibly walk in front of your room, we didn't find this to be a big issue. IMO, it's probably not worth it to pay more for one of the rooms with a private balcony, since the view is not that much better.

The room was nicely decorated, and had a huge bathroom and adequate living room. One thing, though, the jacuzzi tub is definitely not made for two! That was a little disappointing, given the price for the room and the fact that it had a king bed, living room, kitchen, etc. Some of the other rooms might have larger jacuzzis, I would call to confirm. That was probably our only gripe. The resort does have a pool and hot tub, but they were closed for the season, so we didn't try them out. I noted other reviews that said the noise from the pool could be an issue, and I can understand that, given the proximity of the pool to the rooms.
The attached Old Post Office Restaurant was a nice stop for breakfast, and our room rate included a $10 certificate for the meal, so that was good. The restaurant also offers a traditional Door Co. fish boil, but we didn't try it, opting to dine somewhere else. All in all, a nice choice for a Door Co. visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btuftee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Point, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Sent our parents there for 60th. Was just what we were looking for they just loved it. The rooms were just what the picture show, close to everything you need to see. The workers were very nice. We are very glad we found this place and our parents enjoyed their stay and would for sure stay again. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbeadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
368 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
8.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Property: Edgewater Resort
Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing