We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely love love LOVE the Edgewater”
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“We absolutely love love LOVE the Edgewater”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was our second year at the Edgewater! Once again we had the most amazing time!!!!! The staff at the Edgewater are truly the most amazing and friendly people... from the manager Brian at the front desk (always smiling and ready to serve), to the housekeeping staff (providing extra towel and coffee!), to the folks working on the landscaping (who held the sprinkler as I walked by... so I wouldn't get wet) and the waitstaff (friendly and smiling)... all the employees we so sweet to my husband and I and our teenage kids! The rooms were immaculate!!! The fish boil was the best we have ever had... and we have had quite a few over the years!
Can't wait to go back next year!!!! We used to try different hotels in Door County over the years... no need to do that any more! The Edgewater is absolutely our favorite hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms over look the pool... some rooms are closer to the road... all the rooms have an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We are glad you experienced great customer service. Thank you also for your descriptive comments on our grounds so that future guests know which rooms to choose. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for posting this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    175
    56
    14
    12
See reviews for
168
513
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wood Dale, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had the best room the best view. The pool in front of us the fish boil in back of us and the view of Green bay to the right of us. Sister Bay within five minutes of us with a grocery store we cooked in our kitchen every night which saved us alot of money. Great places to shop within minutes of us. Sunset every night very friendly people everywhere you went....Have told many people and advised them to check out this resort breathtaking views......Alot of people just walking down the street but not overcrowded it was perfect. We are going back as soon as possible!!!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and the bay not one on the side or in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeybonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review as well as your comments. We'd also like to thank you for posting pictures so that future guests can see our outdoor pool area as well as the beautiful sunsets. We guarantee the outdoor pool is open until Labor Day which is fast approaching so make your reservation today. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Prairie
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We decided to stay at the Edgewater Resort in Ephraim after reading all the helpful reviews on tripadvisor. The reviews were all very positive for this resort and our experience surpassed all of our expectations. We were in door county celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary during Memorial day weekend. We were fortunate to stay over 3 nights and enjoy the most beautiful view in the area with the top level suite. The management (Brian- he is awesome! super nice) and workers were all wonderful and very accommodating. If you can afford to spend a little more and get the top level suite- you will not be disappointed. The view off from your balcony is breath taking and the whirlpool tub in the room is very relaxing. We enjoyed walking down to Wilson's for ice cream and hiking and sight seeing at the Peninsula State Park that was just down the road. The Old Post Office restaurant at the hotel was very good for breakfast. The eggs and jam are exquisite. We enjoyed other sightseeing around the area but was always so happy to get back to the Edgewater Resort to enjoy each others company and the beauty of it all. Thank you Edgewater! We will be back!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the top floor- amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliDreaming5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Edgewater Resort. We greatly appreciate your patronage. We look forward to your next visit in 2012. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnebago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have been to Edgewater Resort for the passed 17 years. We missed twice and regretted staying someplace else. It has the best view of the water besides the rooms are clean and great. We also love the Old Post Office Restaurant. Cant beat the cherry pancakes there. Over all Edgewater is the best! We love looking forward to coming there every year! Thanks staff of Edgewater for making my vacation and my families, the best every year!
Lynn Allabaugh
Winnebago, IL

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We certainly appreciate your feedback and our glad to know that you have made Edgewater Resort your home away from home. We hope to have you as our guest for year number 18 in 2012. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkinson, IL
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We just got back from staying in Door County at the Edgewater Resort. Our whole trip was wonderful. We stayed in a premium waterview one bedroom room overlooking the water. We loved relaxing on our balcony watching the harbor. Our room was beautiful and clean. I loved having a full kitchen with a table. Our only complaint would be the air conditioner. When it kicked on it was pretty loud. Also it was in the living room so we had a hard time keeping the bedroom cool. There is a ceiling fan in the bedroom that helped. Other than that it was perfect! Everyone in the office was so nice and helpful. The grounds were well kept. Their is a fish boil out back. Even if you don't want to eat it be sure to watch them do it. We stood on the balcony and watched. Edgewater Resort is perfectly located in Ephraim. Just a short walk from shopping and restaurants. Ephraim is perfectly located in Door County. Great shopping all around and right next to Peninsula State Park. Wilson's Ice Cream Parlor is a short walk away from the resort. It was great to get our ice cream there then watch the sunset while walking back to the resort. We'd have a hard time staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pajamama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to Edgewater Resort. We also appreciate your comments you have posted for others to read about. We do apologize for your loud air conditioner unit. The weather this summer has certainly been warmer than past years. For future reference we do have floor fans available upon request for the bedrooms and this certainly helps as well. Thanks again for your comments we look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our favorite wisconsin getaway is the Edgewater Resort in Ephraim WI. We love everything about it and come every year. This year we had a last minute emergency and had to cancel. We believed that their policy, like the vast majority of hotels, we would have to forfeit our first night's payment so when we called to cancel we couldnt believe that they told us all we had to forfeit was a $25.00 processing fee. This was very generous and we appreciate their courteous service.

Cant wait to rebook.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your past business with us and were certainly sorry to hear about your last minute emergency which caused a cancellation. We hope you will be able to stay with us again at a future time and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My children and I enjoyed a lovely suite at this family-owned and operated hotel in Door County. The room was beautiful, clean and couldn't have been better. We will be back again and again!
J. Marie

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmariefieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for writing about your recent visit to Edgewater Resort. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and the Old Post Office restaurant. We look forward to having you as our guest again on your next vacation. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
370 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
8.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Property: Edgewater Resort
Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing