We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Vacation salvaged by the Maintenance man” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Oakdale, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Vacation salvaged by the Maintenance man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Staying at this hotel for 4 days. Had car trouble with our foreign car and had to consider cancelling our stay and going home for repairs. Their new maintenance kept trying until he found a local repair shop that had the part we needed which was installed at no cost to us other than the part. Without this mans efforts our little vacation would have been a bust! Customer service at its best. They have just won our continued desire to stay at the Edgewater resort from now on. Oh, yes, great food , the best fish boil, view, ressonable rates. What more can you ask.

Room Tip: First floor is great as it has just as good a view and is easy to get to the nearby parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    152
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
150
451
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plover, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We are frequent visitors to Door County and always try to schedule a stay at the Edgewater Resort. The staff is so friendly and attentive to making your stay in Door County the best! The accommodations are exceptional. Because Ephraim is located between Sister Bay and Fish Creek, we find so many shops, restaurants, and golf courses within minutes of the Edgewater. Spending our evenings on our patio overlooking a spectacular view of Eagle Harbor after a walk to Wilson's Ice Cream Shop was the perfect ending to each perfect day.

Can't wait until we can return next year!

Jean J.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for making the Edgewater Resort your vacation destination. I am glad to hear of your positive experience during your recent stay and we look forward to your return visit. We strive to have all experiences at the Edgewater Resort be positive and comments such as yours help us maintain the best possible service for all our guests.

I want to let you know that we offer special special rates during the fall and winter. Door County is a great destination in the off-season. Our property is one of the few that is open year-round for your relaxing getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater! We stayed in Room 111. It was very spacious and clean! We loved the location, proximity to the bay and short driving distances to Peninsula State Park (be sure to rent bikes!) and other Door County attractions. Breakfast at the Post Office (connected to the Edgewater) was delicious! We felt the staff was very accomodating, nice, helpful and knowledgeable.
We will be back! (BTW, sunsets on the pier....beautiful!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I recently found myself in Ephraim on a two day business trip. Unfortunately I am not familiar with the area and had not planned ahead to book a room. After several hours of searching for a place to stay with no luck, I happened upon the Edgewater Resort. I was expecting to get the same response as everywhere else in Ephraim,but to my surprise it was my lucky day. The general manager happened to be behind the desk. She was extremely sympathetic to my plight,and quickly came up with a solution. The resort,in addition to very luxurious suites also has several "bare bones cottages." The manager( Debbie) was very specific in what the accomodations were.and I was thrilled to get a room! The cottage was indeed bare bones,but at the same time perfect. As a first time visitor to the area,this is extactly what I had imagined Door County to be. The cottage was a one bedroom,had all the basic necessities,very clean and quiet(nicely tucked behind the resort). A very friendly staff,beautiful setting and my own private cottage-doesn't get any better!Thanks Edgewater-I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citydweller396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love that we were able to accommodate your needs and that you were so charmed by our resort. I will share your comments with my staff and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

The hotel has a great view of the water and within walking distance to a few restaurants. The staff was pleasant (not the nicest, not the meanest). The room we had was very spacious and we enjoyed having a kitchen, so we didn't have to eat out all the time. A few downfalls - the wireless internet was very slow and the pool closed too early!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank apple422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan,Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We booked the Edgewater Resort after reading all of the great reviews on the internet. We traveled with our two daughters ages one and seven so we were a bit nervous as some resorts frown upon families. Our room was available right at check in and what a great feeling after a three hour drive. During the check in process the manager came out and introduced herself and was very friendly towards our two daughters. We were in room #112 right next to the swimming pool and very clean and spacious. The room itself was very much updated with a kitchen area, nice living room area, and an extra large bedroom with a very nice sized bath. We were on the first floor but the view was still fantastic with gorgeous sunsets both nights of our stay. The housekeepers and grounds personnel were extra friendly and said hello with a smile every time we would see them. Our seven year old loved watching the fish boil which took place right behind the hotel every night that we were there. The man in charge of the fish boil put on a real show being entertaining and very educational at the same time. There is a tourist station right across the street virtually a thirty second walk from the hotel that provides all the information needed in regards to attractions in the entire Door County area.There were also a number of attractions within walking distance of the hotel. The Ephraim Fire Station, a nostalgic schoolhouse on top of the hill behind the hotel, a number of churches, and of course a number of restaurants. The hotel also has a pier with a number of chairs set out to enjoy the sunset. The resort never seemed overcrowded. Every time we saw the manager she asked if our daughters were enjoying themselves. We will certainly be back to the Edgewater Resort and have told a number of friends and family about our fantastic experience. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kensbhph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are so happy to that you chose Edgewater Resort for your family vacation and look forward to your future visits. Also, I was totally enchanted with your daughters - I loved Chloe's visit to my office!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I work for a local travel agency. My client does not have internet and came to me to find a hotel in Door County. I have never been there so I was hesitant to advise anyplace. We read the reviews on TA and decided on the Edgewater. My client came in today to personally thank me for booking this property. She had the room with the fireplace. She said she and her 85 year old mother thoroughly enjoyed their stay. She said it was a great price, clean and staff was very friendly. She wanted me to pass on her thoughts.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
2.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
8.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Property: Edgewater Resort
Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing