We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our #1 place to stay in Door County”
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I am almost afraid to write this review. Edgewater Resort is such a wonderful retreat that I don't want it to become over popular and not be able to reserve a few nights when we visit. We stay in a suite on the 3rd floor that has a private balcony and a spectacular view of the harbor. As mentioned by someone else, there are a few stairs to climb to get to this suite, but we find it worth it, even for the extra cost. The suite provides plenty of room: a large living area with fireplace, small but ample kitchen with usual utensils, big bedroom with whirlpool and plenty of room in the bathroom for two to use. The room is clean and the front desk has always been responsive to our questions. One reviewer used the word cozy, I would have to agree. We had a great time, Ephraim is in the middle of activities in upper Door County and we could not have found a better place.

Room Tip: Definitely chose a room in the main building. Both the second floor and third floor have balconies w...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for Edgewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed in a nice suite on the 3rd floor, which had a tremendous view. The only problem is that the steps seemed to go up and up and up. The stairwell was not cooled, so by the time we got to the top we were sweating profusly. We found out later, the rooms on the 2nd floor also have a nice view, and cost much less. When on vacation, who wants to cook in the kitchen, when there are so many interesting places to eat. I also don't like paying for a Jacussi, have one at home we never use!! When we go back, we will stay in one of the more modest units.

Room Tip: Lake view side in the units overlooking the pool, which closes early.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

What a great time. Super clean room with all the amenities. Full Kitchen fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Awesome getaway for couples. Friendly and informative staff. Well worth the money and we will be back. Thanks Edgewater Resort for a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Steven:

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We hope you come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We visited on a very rainy fall weekend and we were so happy that we had such great accomidations to enjoy. We loved that we had a fireplace to keep us warm and cozy after long cold and rainy days. The rooms are very clean and simply decorated. Made yiou feel like you were in a little cozy cottage. The resort is literally right across from the water and in walking distance to Wilsons. The staff was very attentive both over the phone and in the office. We loved our stay at the Edgewater Resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in the courtyard queen fireplace room (suite 202)It was beautiful with a small kitchen, sm...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed here about a month ago and we were a little disappointed in the amenities. The view was wonderful and the specious deck also. But the decor of the room was a little dated , especially the T.V. Very minimal seating. Also, there was not an elevator to the 3rd floor, so especially after my husband having heart surgery, was a little rough. Usually, when we stay at an inn or bed and breakfast, they always ask to help with luggage. Not so here. Nice location, but for the price, was not worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveinns03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review. I am sorry your experience was disppointing. Your opinions are of great value to us and we appreciate your input. Please know that if our staff is aware of any special needs, such as helping with the luggage, we are more than happy to assist. We strive to have all our guest’s experiences be positive and comments such as yours help us maintain the best possible service for all our customers. I will share your review and take appropriate steps to address the concerns that you have noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent the night on a short trip to Door County in September. The room had a fire place and spa, but the room was mediocre. The location was wonderful as well as the view. We attended tyhe fish boil at the Old Post Office Restaurant attached to resort. It was interesting watching the bonfire and hearing the stories. We were surprised at how good the food was. We are glad we stopped.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The rooms are very nice, clean and spacious. It is very nice to be able to stay right by the water and the service is above average. The prices are a bit high but you get what you pay for , especially compared to other properties in Door County. The beds need updating and can get a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
400 reviews
8.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range: £80 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing