We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Not so great accomodations”
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have stayed here a couple times and it used to be one of the nicer properties in Door County. It's located right in the heart of Ephraim with beautiful views of the lake. You can easily walk to any place in Ephraim from the hotel. It has a nice pool and hot tub and the front desk employees could not possibly be nicer.

The staff seems to do their best to take care of the property. While we were there I saw someone scrubbing the wicker furniture on the porch and scrubbing furniture around the pool.

The suites are spacious and relatively clean but they are really starting to show their age and badly need to be updated. The floors are scratched, the carpets are worn, shower curtain liners are rusted, and the quilts on the beds are old and faded. The mattresses are as hard as rocks and are miserably uncomfortable. The linens feel like sandpaper and the pillows are lumpy and old. The worst part is the noise in the rooms. The hotel is 15 feet from the road and there are cars, trucks and buses driving on the road all hours of the day and night. For such a small town there is a lot of traffic and it's loud. One night, at 10:30 p.m.. I counted five cars in less than a minute.

The bedroom of the suite is not air conditioned. There is only a wall unit in the living room and it does not cool the bedroom. You can't sleep with the windows open because you're 15 feet from the road . . .

The condition of the suites does not merit the $300 per night they are charging. Sadly, we won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in one of the rooms facing the pool. Only one of them has a patio or porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank momtotwingirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

I am sorry that your stay was not what you anticipated and that you would not choose to stay with us again. We appreciate that you took note that we take very good care of the property. Each year we do a series of updates to the property and units. This past winter we installed New Carpeting in every unit, our linen was updated to a Luxury Terry and many other updates were accomplished as well. Once again, I am sorry you were disappointed with our property but please know that we continue to make upgrades and improvements each year. I thank you for your comments and will share them with the proper committee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the Edgewater Resort in Ephraim, WI for 6 nights. It definitely has the best views of any of the resorts in the surrounding towns. The sunsets are incredible and we could sit right on our front porch every evening and watch people just stopping in their cars to see what we were comfortably seeing from our very room. The rooms were equipped with everything you would need for an extended stay and were tastefully decorated as well. Julie at the front desk was very friendly and we spoke to her everyday detailing our plans for the day. We attended both outdoor theatres The Folklore and the Peninsula Players which were located just a short drive away. We were situated between all the small towns surrounding Ephraim and had fun exploring all the shops and sights. We could walk to several dining establishments which were all very good including the Old Post Office, The Second Story , Chef's Hat and of course Wilson's. We could not have asked for a more lovely place to stay or more friendly service.

Room Tip: Stay in a Water front room. It is worth the additional cost because the views are incredible. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mountainmirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Edgewater Resort. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take in the great attractions that Door County has to offer and that you chose to spend your time with us at the Edgewater Resort. I am happy to hear that your stay with us was a good one and we do hope you will be back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have stayed at the Edgewater many times over the last 10 years and it never fails to impress.
The view of Green Bay is gorgeous and it is walking distance to a number of sites especially for dining, ice cream and sunsets. The Old Post Office restaurant serves one of the best fish boils in Door County. Quiet enough, right on the water and beautifully maintained - a lovely place for a weekend (or longer) escape.

Room Tip: There is some street noise so if that's a factor, ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSCSCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was my second stay at the Edgewater. I stayed in a third story
suite with a fantastic view of the harbor and surrounding bluffs.
The weather was excellent and provided spectacular views of the
sunset in the evening. The room was immaculate and the staff was
very friendly.

Room Tip: I would recommend the third story suites if you are looking for some privacy and unobstructed view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevencw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Edgewater and we loved it again! We stayed in a second floor suite that had a fabulous view of the harbor and all of the Fyr Ball festivities (perfect view of the fireworks from our veranda!). The resort grounds are beautifully kept and the pool was clean and sparkly! Our suite was very spacious and decorated in a fresh nautical style. It was a great place to gather with family staying in other rooms at the resort. A big thank you to the staff for being so friendly and helpful. Looking forward to our next stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed June 13th - 18th, 2013. We were with extended family renting a 2nd floor suite and first floor room. The Fyre Bal celebration was being held that weekend so there were many special events going on. The Edgewater is in a central location so easy to get around. Rooms were very nice - loved our stay - can't wait to go back next tear. Also the Old Post Restaurant is located at the resort.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the water have beautiful sunset views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give a review. Fyr Bal weekend is such a fun event and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the festivities in Ephraim. It is very important to us that our guests have a wonderful experience at Edgewater Resort! Thank you and we hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great location to all kinds of places in Door County, especially Peninsula State Park and great gallery shopping! Loved the hot tub which warmed us up-June is a rather cool spring month in Door County. The only issue we had with our stay was that the internet was not working properly. We brought this to the attention of the resort office staff, but they dismissed the problem as one that comes and goes, and said that the internet is rather spotty. It depends where you are in the cottage. This was a very disappointing response. As a result, we won't be returning. : (

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rmcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Door County – there are so many activities to enjoy! With regard to the internet issue, when I was informed you were experiencing connection issues I called our internet provider who confirmed a signal to the resort. I then called our IT specialist who checked all the routers and other equipment on our property. He indicated that everything was working; however, Door County has areas that the signal isn’t strong. His recommendation was to have the guest move to the place in their unit where the signal was the strongest. While I understand that this is an inconvenience as well as sounding like we were dismissing you but please know that we do take this very serious and were trying to work with the situation. We have not dismissed your comments and we are addressing ways to overcome the obstacle of spotty internet service in our area. Once again, I am sorry that you felt disappointed with our response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
406 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
240 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
407 reviews
8.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
343 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range: £82 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing