We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and centrally located”
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just spent 4 nights in Ephraim at the Edgewater Resort. NOTE: Ephraim is the ONLY alcohol dry city in Wisconsin. Resort is a stretch but it does have a small pool and the grounds are neat and clean. It is just across the road from the lake with nice views from most rooms. Our room was large and had a small fridge. We were on the second floor so we could sit outside on a balcony to see sundown. My only negative comments are about the two people I interacted with in the office. When we checked in the evening desk person was not friendly at all and when I locked my keys in my room the afternoon desk clerk acted as if I had committed one of the 7 deadly sins. Also, the wireless internet service in room 211 is quite sketchy
The location in Door County is good and we would consider staying here again

Room Tip: Check out the view from your room before you accept it and check out the WiFi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

It had a nice kitchenette and a fireplace. Also a beautiful view from the balcony which had chairs on it. Nice restaurant attached. It rain the night they were having the fish boil, otherwise it would have been nice to sit out by the great fire.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank apollo9357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great visit, never stayed in Ephraim before, water location may be best in Door. Biked, golfed and hiked in Pen Park. Good people at the tourist info center across street. Sunset on the porch 2nd to none. Reserved same unit next year for the 4th


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater1, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again next summer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We loved our stay at Edgewater. The room was decorated very "beachy". The balcony to sit on at night and enjoy the sunset was just what we were looking for. We will recommend your establishment to friends.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gayle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater1, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We believe we have on of the best views in the county, and hope you can join us on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We really enjoyed our time and wish we could have stayed longer! Very happy you could accommodate us so last minute on a holiday weekend! Great location in my favorite spot. Loved our time spent at Edgewater!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We really wanted to give the Edgewater an "Excellent", but unfortunately we had to give it an "Average". We had planned on staying a Friday and Saturday night to celebrate our anniversary and when we arrived the place looked exactly like we were hoping. It is literally across the street from the bay and our room had a balcony facing the water.

Our room was very clean and we were looking forward to a nice quiet weekend. Unfortunately the fun ended when the family next door checked in. They had an adjoining room and it sounded like they were literally in our room with us. Their kids were loud, but even when they were just talking in normal voices we could hear everything. We went to the front desk and I will give the staff credit, they were very understanding and immediately offered us a different room. The new room was even better than the first and we had no issues with noise. The problem was it was booked the second night by another party. Our choice was go back to the first room or try and find a new hotel. We found a new hotel in Egg Harbor and still had a fun weekend.

The Edgewater is a beautiful place and I cannot say enough about how friendly the woman working the front desk and the general manager were, but the inconvenience of the room switch was disappointing. That being said, if the room we spent the night in is available the next time we are coming up we will definitely stay at the Edgewater.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WITravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

PROs- Perfect spot in Door County. Loved the harbor and sunsets, and peace and quiet there. Great walkable location

CONS-We were in the 1 bedroom cottage, good space, nice kitchen, but not luxurious, especially compared to the suites in the main building. Rooms were musty and the windows had not been cleaned in ages. It was next to the Fish Boil and the garbage for the resort. Hotel feels like a condo, not a resort- no lobby or services you find in many resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cctravelercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
414 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
8.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range: £81 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing