We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, but pricey”
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but pricey”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We recently stayed at the Edgewater Resort in Ephraim, WI, in Door County. It's located right across the street from the Green Bay and you can view the sunsets from your balcony or from the hotel owned beachfront across the street.
We paid extra for a room that faced the water, well worth it, we thought.
The hotel staff, with the exception of the man running the desk when we arrived, were very nice. We had to switch rooms for the third night of our stay. This was highly annoying. It meant that we had to hang around close to the hotel until the guests before us in the other room left. They ended up trashing the room, but the staff did a great job getting it back to tip top order.
The decor made it feel just like you would want to at the beach, relaxed. The pillows were a little hard for my liking though.
Our only other complaint was parking. There is a restaurant that has a fish boil three times each night, so we would lose any chance of getting parking close to our room if we left for dinner. I wish that they would restrict the back parking lot to hotel guests only, for the price we paid for the room ($250 per night) I expect good parking.
There was free WiFi, but it was painfully slow and disconnected a lot. I would do your necessary research about the location before you leave home and not mess with the computer while you're there.
Overall, we had a really nice stay, I'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    169
    54
    14
    12
See reviews for
155
498
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Janesville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Edgewater Resort to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. The room was clean and the decor was lovely. We could see Eagle Harbor from our door! We loved the fireplace, in-room hot tub and the dishes provided in the room were a great touch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schwarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed here during a trip to Door County for our first anniversary. The room had a two sided fireplace, fully stocked kitchen, whirlpool tub and two doors accessing the front porch.

After we checked in the front desk called to say that since Ephraim is "dry", they couldn't leave us a bottle of champagne but would like to treat us to drinks at a restaurant in Fish Creek. We already had reservations for that night so they offered a bottle of sparkling juice, which was fine with us too!

This place isn't high-class fancy but it's cozy and a perfect place to come "home" to after a day out in Door County.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2010

My wife and I have been to Door County 6 times. We have stayed at Edgewater 3 of the 6 times because it is by far our favorite place to stay. We always go in winter because Door County is very quiet, relaxing, and beautiful at this time of year (prices are also lower). The staff is always extremely accommodating and friendly. When we left on Sunday, there was less than 1" of snow that had fallen overnight (not enough to plow parking lot) and the staff cleared a path from our door to our vehicle and around our vehicle, a testament as to the excellent service they provide.

The rooms are excellent and very clean. We enjoy having our own little kitchen, and the double fireplace with the whirlpool tub add to the romance and relaxation you find at Edgewater. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanaldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The service at the Edgewater Resort was superb. Bryan at the front desk was very accommodating and helped us on several occasions. We talked with him several times about the area and what his recommendations were.

The room was excellent. It was clean, spacious, comfortable, and pleasant to stay in. The view was wonderful. The bay was enjoyable to look at during sunset, even though it was frozen at this time of year.

The location in Ephraim is great. We took advantage of the sidewalks in the immediate area to see what else was around. Ephraim itself is near a number of state parks, which are enjoyable to visit even in the winter time. We spent much of our time at some of these parks. The Cave Point County Park and the Peninsula State Park were our favorites.

Attached are pictures of the room and of Cave Point County Park.

I would highly recommend the Edgewater Resort to anyone looking for a nice vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_reno_nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2009

My wife and I spent a weekend last month (November 2009) at the Edgewater. We were looking for a weekend getaway and decided to see what Door County was like in the off-season (we normally go each year in late June/early July). We called up the Edgewater to see if we could get our normal room for a few nights, but unfortunately that room was already booked up for the weekend. The Edgewater suggested that we give the room next door a try, which was available and which had two fireplaces as opposed to only one in our other room. We accepted their recommendation and booked the reservation.

We truly enjoyed the off-season experience at the Edgewater. The resort was actually fairly well occupied for the weekend, while many of the other properties in town were visibly closed up for the winter season. We enjoyed a slower pace, even when compared with Door County's normally sedate state. Interestingly, speed limits in the town of Ephraim were raised to 35 from the usual 25, as evidence of the lower population in the off-season. The fall scenery was great and the surroundings were incredibly quiet, a very nice getaway from our normally busy city life in Chicago.

Amenities at the Edgewater were reliable as usual. The fireplaces were delightful and easy to turn on/off at the flip of a switch. We enjoyed the "room next door" and will probably make that room our regular winter destination while opting for our usual corner room every summer. The staff was helpful as usual with dinner recommendations and they were there when we needed them. In general, another enjoyable, reliable, relaxing weekend spent at Ephraim's Edgewater resort.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagershon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Emily and Brian provided excellent customer service, answered all of our questions and offered suggestions on where to eat that evening. We thought our bedroom was beautiful and the whirlpool tub was heaven! We enjoyed walking along the beautiful shoreline and eating a delicious breakfast at a local restaurant. Everything about our stay was wonderful and we hope to go back again next year!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Property: Edgewater Resort
Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing