We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayside Bakery & Cafe' - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bayside Bakery & Cafe'
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We ate there two different mornings. The Cherry Danish was awesome! We really loved the homemade granola. We got cookies for later- the Triple Berry Oatmeal was so good. Will definitely go back to try more goodies!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint James, Missouri
Level Contributor
244 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Misleading listing in local Door County magazine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Bayside Bakery is listed in the big magazine of "where to eat in Door County" (that the tourism folks publish) as a "gluten free bakery."

No. Not even close.

Admittedly, Bayside Bakery doesn't claim this on their website. They only state they have gluten-free bread for their sandwiches.

But if you don't have internet service while traveling and are relying on the written word... you can be mislead. Not sure who's more responsible for that - the tourism folks or the bakery. Either way, it was an issue for us.

When we got to the counter, we asked what gluten-free options they had for lunch. They didn't mention the gluten-free bread (perhaps they were out?) but offered gluten-free chocolate chip cookies. To us, that's not lunch.

We ordered salads - they were OK, but nothing that would make us go back to try again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian411Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We ate breakfast 2 of the mornings we were there, and it was very good! We also ordered a birthday cake, and it was delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Homey bakery in heart of D.C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stopped in for a small bite to eat. Was pleasantly surprised by the assortment of from-scratch items this bakery sold. The O.M.G. brownies are amazing! Hope to visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julius F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayside Bakery & Cafe' also viewed

 
Ephraim, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing