We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aaaaaahhhhhhhhh.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Breeze Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ephraim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Breeze Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Aaaaaahhhhhhhhh.”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We love this place. It was our first time visiting Ephraim this last weekend and though the weather wasn't great, the accommodations were! The service is very friendly and had recommendations for where we should go in Door County for dinner and sites to see.

It was extremely clean and very quiet. Even with kids and families there, we felt like we were in our own little place and it was great. I would definitely return and recommend to friends. :)

Though we didn't use it because of the weather, the pool area was clean and the hot tub looked inviting. Next time!

Room Tip: Call the office, don't book online. It seems easier that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickshizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    35
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
127
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I spontaneously decided to go up to Door County WI the Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend. Even though we did not have reservations anywhere, we rolled the dice and took our chances. Our goal was to make it to the town of Ephriam and look for a place to stay. We stopped at a couple of Hotels/Inns that advertised vacancy and looked at available rooms. Bay Breeze Resort was our third stop. Deb was at the Front Desk and was very welcoming to the two of us. She gave us keys to look at three rooms. We decided after looking at the three rooms that the basic King room would be fine for our one-night stay in Door County. As we started talking to Deb about which room we wanted, she asked some very good questions and found out this was my husband's very first time to Door County. Being the true hostess that she is and obviously very proud of the area she lives in, she made us a deal to take a larger room for the price of the King. Evidently, she wanted my husband to have the very best impression of Door County to ensure we would return again! She also provided us with a couple of DVDs and made a note we were approved for a late check-out the next day. She could not have made us feel more welcomed.

Our 1-Bedroom King Suite was very clean and very spacious. The bed was comfortable. There is a fridge and microwave available for snacks. For my husband and I, it was perfect. We were able to unload our car and then walk along Scenic 42 towards town while enjoying the beautiful sunset over the water. The walk into town is not that far and it's very scenic.

Thanks Deb for the nice welcome and the great accomodations!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This place is conveniently located. The owners are real nice and they keep the property up. They recently have upgraded tv's to flat screen. This is a great place to stay and I come every year. The house keeping staff are very friendly and do a wonderful job on the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saba613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My father, who was in the restaurant business, once said that a small menu and a specialty can be a sign of a very good restaurant. I think you can apply the same principle to resorts. Bay Breeze Resort gets the essentials right: Friendly service, clean, well-appointed rooms, and a fair price.

There are a few basics I look for in good lodging: Cleanliness, a comfortable bed, a powerful and hot shower and a microwave/refrigerator in-room. Bay Breeze offered them all, and it's pet-free, so after our former base in Door County decided to accept pets, we began to search for new lodging options.

Bay Breeze Resort's high-ranking on Tripadvisor was a deciding factor as we looked for a place for a quick getaway. We were not disappointed; in fact, we were delighted. We booked what Bay Breeze calls a "Charming King" and it was charming indeed, decorated in a discrete nautical style that pleased two boat buffs and lighthouse lovers.

The room is on the second floor, with no elevator, but we knew that in advance and we packed carryons instead of Pullman cases. The upper rooms open off a deck where you can sit and relax or watch the sun set. The room was exceptionally clean, with corner windows overlooking the woods behind the resort; we heard woodpeckers, flickers and nuthatches as we relaxed.

The closet was ample, the bathroom large, the towels white and fluffy, and there was a ceiling fan, which we appreciated even in May. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot. Internet access was steady and reliable.

The accommodations were thoroughly satisfying in every way. There are many other room options at the Bay Breeze, but the Charming King filled our needs completely. We liked it so much that upon checkout, we made reservations for another stay later this year. All the staff we met and one of the owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Bay Breeze Resort gets my highest recommendation. Staying during shoulder season (spring and fall) makes for a very peaceful retreat!

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the resort are very serene and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiJWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

It's places like the Bay Breeze where I'm tempted not to write a review so as not to spoil it too much for myself.

Located right on 42 on your way from Fish Creek to Sister Bay at the Southern part of Ephraim, this hotel was great. My family (me, wife, 4yo son, and 1 yo daughter) and my in-laws stayed here on a long weekend in Door County.

The rooms are pretty ordinary for Door county: dated, well-worn, but clean. Don't expect 3 or 4 star accommodations, but people going to Door County should already know that.

The reason it's great: nice pool and private beach. There is also a green space near the pool with nice wood chairs and wine glass holders. Nice.

The location also makes walking into downtown Ephraim possible and it's about equidistant from Fish Creek and from Sister Bay (about 10 minutes either way by car).

There is plenty of parking and the service is good.

Also note, since Ephraim is dry, you should bring your own wine/beer.

Room Tip: The hotel is split amongst a few buildings. If you can, I'd ask for a room on the 1st floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmbeerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keylargo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We live in Florida and always enjoy our visit to Ephraim. This year we stayed at the Bay Breeze which was a great find. The gardens are beautiful, the rooms were spotless and the people at the resort welcomed us with open arms. The resort was all decorated for fall and we enjoyed just sitting on the deck overlooking the water and taking in the peace and quiet. The location is the best as its a short drive to most of the county so our day trips were always an adventure. We will definitely be back...it was the best !!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeylargoDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our first time this past October. I would stay again! The view was great, staff was very accommodating, clean room, and a good central location. I've stayed at other places in Door County, and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
693 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
222 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
341 reviews
8.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
317 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Resort

Property: Bay Breeze Resort
Address: 9844 Water Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ephraim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#1 Green Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Breeze Resort offers the creature comforts you expect, with a view you won't forget. Your first steps on our private sand beach access will remind you that you're in beautiful Ephraim, Door County, Wisconsin. Try our KOHLER Rain Shower units or fireplace suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing