We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel; accomodating staff”
Review of Bay Breeze Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ephraim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Breeze Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“lovely hotel; accomodating staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a lovely, small hotel located in the heart of Door County. It is a perfect location for exploring the peninsula, close to the state park, and a walkable stroll to restaurants and shops. Rooms were spotless and nicely appointed. The grounds are delightful, with beautiful landscaping and lots of chairs available to sit, read and just relax. The pool and spa are well maintained, also with lots of lounge chairs. The hotel has a small sand beach across the street, with several chairs. Perfect for watching the sunset.

Several reviews have commented on the wifi. First, there was no additional charge for access - a pet peeve of mine with hotels that do charge. Second, this is Door County and cell service can range from spotty to downright nonexistent. We actually found the wifi reasonably reliable and had no complaints.

An issue at home that needed attending required us to cut short our stay at Bay Breeze a day early. The staff could not have been more accommodating, graciously refunding one night payment. We travel a lot, both on business and for pleasure, and it so nice to find a hotel that appreciates that sometimes a change in plans is just beyond your control.

We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend Bay Breeze.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. If that is a consideration for you, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilot123Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    35
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
135
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This will be our sixth year staying at Bay Breeze. There is nothing bad I can say about any of our stays here! Bay Breeze has it all! Location, service, staff, clean, top notch in all catagories! We'll come back again and again!

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool on the lower level are my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint James, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent a week at the Bay Breeze, and we don't think we could have found a better place at which to stay! Conveniently located, well kept, nice amenities. helpful and friendly staff... what more do you need?

Lots to do within walking or biking distance, but you'll want to be careful doing either of those after mid-morning. Not a comment on the Bay Breeze - it's just that traffic on the road (that also separates the resort's rooms from its lakefront beach) is very heavy most of the day.

Room was quiet and comfortable, the cleaning crew took their time sprucing it up each day. Flower beds on the grounds were AMAZING! Lots of places to sit and soak up the sun around the pool or in front of your room. Oh, and the pool is heated - thumbs up on those crisp, windy summer mornings!

We had some issues with the resort's free wi-fi. Connecting was no problem, but the service went in and out - sometimes we'd be connected to the resort's network but not be able to connect to the Internet beyond, other times the resort's network would drop off completely. We hope for better connections in the future.

We were very happy at the Bay Breeze - if you're not looking for hopping night life (the Village of Ephraim is dry), you're likely to really enjoy it too.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easier to access - upstairs rooms are accessed by a really long climb upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian411Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Our entire family stays here once a year for a long weekend. Our family includes adults and a 3 and 5 year old. Everyone has a wonderful time, there is a beautiful pool with hot tub, but you also have beach access. The rooms are extremely clean and the staff very friendly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Quilt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have been going to Door cty. for 16 years. 4 years ago started going to Bay Breeze resort in Ephraim, and book our reservation before we leave each summer. Clean, friendly, beautiful location, and priced right.

Room Tip: We always ask for the room on the end, overlooking the water. Bonus is the Rain forest shower.
See more room tips
Green Features: I am sure they are just fine. I don't get all caught up in that.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cintate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We just got back from a week long stay at the Bay Breeze Resort and couldn't be happier. The rooms were clean and decorated so cute. Our room was the room above the office with the large deck and it was really exceptional. We had a family reunion of sorts with two other families staying at the resort and could not have been happier. The grounds are just beautifully with all at the flowers, the pool clean and refreshing and the little private beach across the street was just perfect. This is our second time staying here and would definitely come again. Thank you Bay Breeze for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: The large room above the office has 1 king bed with a huge bath area. The views are wonderful as is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHERYL9853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Not one negative. Clean, relaxing, beautiful, and friendly staff. Still here and don't want to leave!
I have never stayed in a cleaner suite.
Beds are wonderful as well. Private little beach to watch the sunset over the bay! Couldn't have asked for anything better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfield_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
757 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
370 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
2.1 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
225 reviews
21.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Resort

Property: Bay Breeze Resort
Address: 9844 Water Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#1 Family Hotel in Ephraim
#1 Green Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Breeze Resort offers the creature comforts you expect, with a view you won't forget. Your first steps on our private sand beach access will remind you that you're in beautiful Ephraim, Door County, Wisconsin. Try our KOHLER Rain Shower units or fireplace suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing