We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ephraim Shores Motel and Restaurant is the BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ephraim Shores Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have stayed at Ephraim Shores several times and it is the Best... Good food, Nice pool and Hot tub... The staff is the greatest... The building is always clean and cozy.. Will continue to stay there... You Gals are the Best... Thanks for being there...

Room Tip: We like a room on the 1st floor as they do not have a elevator......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We didn't stay in the motel but went to the Second Story Restaurant for a dinner. We stepped in around 7:30pm and weren't reminded that the restaurant closes at 8 PM. They took our orders and brought the food fairly quickly, but forgot to bring the basket of rolls and muffins. We had no complaint about the quality of the food, and actually enjoyed the view of the lake from the windows. Things turned bad approaching 8pm, as they kept hinting they were closing soon. First they closed the salad bar and made loud noise cleaning the bar as we sat right by it, then they sent the bill way before we finished eating. We weren't given a chance to ask about the dessert.
In the minutes after we paid the bill and were still finishing up the food, the hostess came up asking whether we enjoyed our meal. We were nice enough to give compliments, only to hear in return "I'm glad you liked it, but too bad we are closing. If you want you can sit in the downstairs lobby and continue enjoying the view." In total shock of such impoliteness we left immediately, and it was only 8:20pm! To echo some previous reviews...there are many nice places to dine in Door County so do not waste time in this particular one.

Room Tip: Go there early if you have to eat there and want a meal that isn't interrupted or rushed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank phdgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I previously rated Second Story restaurant (located above the motel) not realizing the restaurant and motel were considered the same business in Trip Advisor, so by the TA rules, I had to wait to post this review of the motel:
I stayed at Ephraim Shores Motel at the end of last season. In some ways it is a very typical motel with the usual room lay-out. The decor appeared newer, though in an out-dated 1980s style. The rooms are on the pricier side for a motel, but that is due to the unbeatable location and views of Eagle Harbor in very charming Ephraim. A very short walk from the front door across the road, the motel has prime waterfront footage with sand and chairs reserved for motel guests. (It was too chilly and windy in late Oct to do more than a quick explore, but it would be an amazing sunset view). The rooms were incredibly clean (and I'm picky). Despite the lackluster decor, the rooms offered nice amenities like a small wet bar area with microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, small table with chairs. I loved the little complimentary packet of dried cherries, great Door Co touch. The room had one recliner which was fine on this trip because I was alone, but if I'd not been alone, a second comfy chair would have been appreciated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Ephraim has plenty of eating options in easy walking distance. As others have noted, Ephraim is a dry town (no alcohol sold). I'm not sure why this perturbed some reviewers. It is only a few minutes to locations where alcohol is available, and the fridge/wet bar area works out nicely for carry-ins brought from home or picked up at wineries on the peninsula or from any number of locales that do sell alcohol. If you plan ahead, you can still enjoy your tipple in Ephraim. The Second Story Restaurant upstairs is handy. It has a large menu with big portions of basic but reliable offerings. The daily specials are a good bet. I usually stay in resort-style accommodations in Door Co when I travel with a companion, and will likely continue to do so. However, on this trip alone (for some early Christmas shopping) I very much enjoyed Ephraim Shores, and hope to repeat the experience this year.

Room Tip: Splurge for water view if you can. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christmaseve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Came here for dinner in July about 6:30 PM. Restaurant seats patrons until 8 PM. Our party of 5 was seated by 7 & the whitefish dinners were gone by that time. 3 of us ordered the perch sandwich, 1 ordered a caesar salad & 1 just dessert. The dessert (raspberry schaum torte came immediately! We waited over an hour for the sandwiches & salad. The waitress blamed the kitchen for our long wait while other tables were getting their food!! Finally the sandwiches arrived but no salad! The salad came about 15 min. later. Our waitress said it "wasn't her fault & that if she complained in the kitchen things would just be worse". The hstess also said "the cooks are doing their best". We will NEVER return here - lots of other good restaurants in Door County.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank H Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Second Story Restaurant is the kind of place I could imagine my late grandparents frequenting a long time ago (I'm 48). The menu is quite large but the offerings are very basic, not terribly imaginative. Many entrees come with "salad bar". The salad bar is very small and includes things like 3-bean salad, cottage cheese, canned fruit, and fluffy gelatin salad, along with the iceberg lettuce and a few salad toppings. Hearty food is served hot in generous portions. Decor/ambience are lacking, though a nice view of the harbor is available. Service is friendly. Prices seem a bit high for what is essentially diner fare. I can see this as a place that seniors might appreciate, or for guests of the motel who want a meal close to their accommodations. I also think someone traveling alone would feel comfortable at this restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christmaseve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We spent 2 nights at Ephraim Shores Motel in late August. We were very pleased with the motel and staff. And the location is great. We had a side balcony and the view of the Bay was perfect. The restaurant was also good. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SdPetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

All the rooms are clean and comfortable and well appointed for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The motel has an excellent restaurant with delicious menu items for breakfast lunch or dinner. Be sure to try the Moravian sugar cake for breakfast. The motel provides fantastic views of Eagle harbor, Peninsula State Park and fabulous sun sets in the early and mid summer months. The pool and whirl pool are great and they also have a gym for guest use. Truly one of the best run motels on the peninsula. Our family has been staying here for years and will continue to come for years to come! Guaranteed a winner!

Room Tip: Get the water view rooms for the little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HickoryDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
841 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
247 reviews
2.1 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
4.7 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ephraim Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ephraim Shores Resort

Address: 10018 Water Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#8 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ephraim Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ephraim Shores Motel And Restaurant
Ephraim Shores Motel & Restaurant Hotel Ephraim
Ephraim Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing