We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always a fun visit”

Wilson's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“always a fun visit”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we have been coming here for 20 years now. we always enjoy visiting and the views are spectacular. the food is always hot and good tasting. the ice cream is delicious and i can highly recommend the rootbeer. also, it is one of the few restaurants in Door County that serves Coke products so if you are picky like i am about soda here's a place you can get fountain Coca Cola

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    216
    79
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Root beer and 50's music”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

For a trip into the past this is a great place and the root beer here is phenomenal. The food was good and there was a lot. I don't think anyone finished their plate.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank diane_StPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A Must-Do in DC”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'll go ahead and echo the chorus here: you must visit Wilson's when you are in DC, especially if you've never been.

We recently went for lunch during our first trip to the region, and it really lived up to the hype.

We were lucky to go during the week. So, it wasn't very busy, but it was obvious that this place is hoppin' on the weekends. (Even though we easily got a table, the ice cream counter was PACKED.)

The location is great, and you can sit outside with a view of the water. Wilson's has tons of local, vintage charm. They also have the BEST root beer floats I've ever had!

The food is basic diner fare, but it actually exceeded our expectations (good char burgers and great onion rings).

Wonderful stop in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emiliewasmyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historic and great ice cream!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Food is good, but ice cream is the best. :-) And, they put a jelly bean in each cone to keep the ice cream from dripping.. and, it is historic. Just a cool place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank middleton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“MUST stop for Ice Cream”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Another 'must-do' while on the peninsula. Always stopped for ice cream as a girl, now I take my son. The old saying is still true: the further north you travel, the bigger the scoops for a smaller price. Never eaten in the restaurant - this is always just dessert. Pick a number, wait with many other families, then have your order taken by high school kids. Zanzibar chocolate is a dark treat, while black cherry (what else!) is popping with berry taste. Whether an afternoon treat or the last stop of the day, travel back to a simpler time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilson's Restaurant also viewed

 
Ephraim, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Wilson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing