We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“clean and good sunset view from balcony” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Grove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pine Grove Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“clean and good sunset view from balcony”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed there in Aug for 3 nights. Clean room and nice service. Walk across 42 and there is Resort Private Beach. However, for beach fun, I still prefer Nicolet Beach inside Pen State Park. Breakfast is fully stock, but don't expect gourmet meal. Free cookies and lemonade in the afternoon. The mattress is quiet comfortable, at least all of us had good sleep thru out the stay.

The most worthy point is the sunset view from every balcony.

Room Tip: King Suite has lake facing window to view the the sunset. But I would choose the 2nd floor King Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
41
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Came up for the Door County Half Ironman. Stayed in Room 114 at Pine Grove. The room was very clean and comfortable. The small deck off the room faced the water and I had full view of the sunset each night which was kind of cool. They have a continental breakfast. It is within walking distance to Wilson's restaurant and a number of other places to eat. My room had a small fridge, a microwave, and a coffee pot which was awesome to have in a room. I did not use the indoor pool but it looked nice. i would stay here again. It is one of few hotels in DoCo that doesn't have cheesy decor.

Room Tip: I got the sense that all the rooms have sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Very nice resort with a small, private beach and adequate continental breakfast. Our room had a private patio and a water view. Lovely grounds. Close to all the activities in Door County and within walking distance to many Ephraim restaurants. Bathrooms clean, but could use upgrading.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margola61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McFarland, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

For our first experience visiting Door County for my Daughter and myself, I chose the Pine Grove Resort in Ephraim for six nights June 24-30, 2012. After booking, I discovered Ephraim is a 'dry town'! We laughed about that; but not to worry. You can bring your own wine, etc., you just can't buy it. As it was we only ended up eating our evening meal once in Ephraim, the other evenings were other delicious eating spots in Fish Creek and Sister Bay. The Pine Grove Resort was above and beyond our expectations! Sure, it's older, but VERY well maintained, and the rooms have been remodeled. We had a 'water view' and what a spectacular view it was!! My Daughter was inspired to run each morning along the very scenic landscape - totally safe too, as there are walking paths on both sides of the street. There is an expanded continental breakfast every morning.........the scones are so addicting! The staff was very helpful and so friendly. I wouldn't hesitate staying at his resort again and again, in fact my Daughter and her Husband have booked Pine Grove Resort to celebrate their 1st anniversary this October!

Room Tip: Get a water view room, it may cost a tiny bit more, but so worth it!! Enjoy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee wi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights in July. Overall the views were great, and the location was good. Loved the free bottled water each day and the snacks. The rooms were a great size and the beds were decent. The bathroom was rather ugly though. Also, the cleaning people left their supplies in our room one day which was careless. Finally, when we went to check out the front desk worker did not acknowledge us. instead she continued a conversation about a tv show that she was having. Overall I'd recommend this resort for the views, but if a nice courteous and well kept staff is important to you, I'd go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a water facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlas000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I visited Pine Grove Resort in July with my girlfriend and we couldn't have been happier. One of the most affordable rates in Door County with a complimentary breakfast - can NOT be beat! The resort is right on Hwy 42 overlooking Green Bay with gorgeous views of Peninsula State Park and Horseshoe Island. It was very quiet during the night - I suppose because Ephraim is a "dry town" (no alcohol), very family friendly which was fine with us because you can ride your bike to the two nearest towns that have some great restaurants. The private beach was very nice and clean - they really had a great maintenance crew. The only downside is that our room was on the backside of the resort, so you couldn't see the water from the room, but we were in our room for maybe 5 minutes during the day - there's so much to do in the area that you won't have time to just sit around. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Very good rates, but keep in mind that the lower the rate, the more likely you're room will be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel was very convenient to all the sites we wanted to see in Door County. It had a nice private beach, although small, across the street from the hotel. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds very comfortable. It does have an indoor pool but we didnt use it. They do offeryou a smallgreat variety ofof breakfast foodswith in thethe AM. It was a really good value for 4th of July week. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
3.9 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.2 mi away
High Point Inn
High Point Inn
#6 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Grove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Grove Resort

Property: Pine Grove Resort
Address: 10080 Water Street, P O Box 94, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine Grove Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pine Grove Resort. We are the only resort in Ephraim to have a piece of natural, untouched shoreline, along with a private sand beach that tapers gently into the water.Our rooms are spacious, comfortable and include many amenities free of charge. Our luxury suites include private whirlpool baths. From our heated indoor pool, whirlpool or new pool sundeck, you can gaze down to the sparkling water of Eagle Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pine Grove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Grove Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing