We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The family suit was perfect!”
Review of Pine Grove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Grove Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Stoughton, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The family suit was perfect!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We just arrive back from our stay in the 4 bedroom family suit for a family reunion. We had 8 adults and 7 children ages 6 months old to 5 years. The hotel provided two pack-n-play's and the other little ones camped out on the floor in the extremely LARGE bedrooms. This condo was so spacious, and the staff was just a helpful as ever. It was full equipped with all we could need.

We all loved the view of bay, and the private beach across the street was sandy and our kids loved it. We also played in the pool too. We grilled out in the pavilion on the beach one night and watched the sunset.

Loved the short walk to Wilson's for Ice Cream and the little park in the center of the town with a play set for evening walks.

The extra cost for this space is worth all of the amenities and attention from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgrPGNordic, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
It sounds like you had a wonderful trip to Door County! We're happy that you enjoyed our beautiful and spacious family suite; it really is a home away from home! Our staff takes great pride in serving your every need so that your vacation experience is unforgettable!

Thank you for such a great review! We hope to be your host again in the coming year.

Lara Pensy
Guest Relations Manager
Pine Grove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    46
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have stayed at the Pine Grove Resort numerous times over the past years, with family and with friends. The staff has always been professional, and the current staff is no exception. The resort is very well kept, the pool and hot tub are VERY clean, and the flower beds are amazing. This is one of the few resorts where you can walk across the street and have a beach. It is small, but most places don't even have this. An added perk is the all day coffee and the complimentary breakfast. Now, the location... You are only about a half hour from the ferry to Washington Island. You are a hop, skip and a jump from golfing at Peninsula State Park, and 3 miles from Fish Creek (great shopping). You are also close to Wilson's (ice cream, etc.) We play tennis at the public Gibraltar High School courts. All good!

Room Tip: If you reserve rooms with lower numbers, you are closer to the Bay. Larger numbers are closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgrPGNordic, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for such a great review and for choosing the Pine Grove Resort as your preferred vacation destination year after year! We value your patronage and strive to exceed your expectations each time you stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the coming year!

Lara Pensy
Guest Relations Manager
Pine Grove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was excellent! The staff was very nice and the sunset are unbelievable! One thing...the first floor is nice re: the sunset. The second floor was gorgeous! The complimentary breakfast was really good. I like the shopping and the drives, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgrPGNordic, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
It sounds like you had an outstanding vacation in Door County! Thank you for choosing the Pine Grove Resort for your stay! Our Door County sunsets are really breath-taking and our resort has some of the best views in Ephraim! We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the coming year.

Lara Pensy
Guest Relations Manager
Pine Grove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee wi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was my family's third stay at the Pine Grove. We've had bad experiences in the past, this time it was much better. The location and views were great, as were the grounds. The room was much cleaner than in years past, and the staff was much more professional. A few cons: rooms are a bit dark, and the bathrooms are a bit outdated. I'd still recommend the resort.

Room Tip: Get a water facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlas000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgrPGNordic, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for your loyal patronage in choosing the Pine Grove Resort for your stay for a third time. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, our great views and amenities, and our accommodating staff. I apologize if your past experience at our resort did not meet your expectations. We strive to ensure that you have the best possible vacation experience and our staff is always here to attend to any question or need you may have. We are working on updates throughout the winter to enhance your guest experience.

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. We hope we can be your host again soon!

Lara Pensy
Guest Relations Manager
Pine Grove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Prairie, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location is very good and the staff is very nice however, the hotel has paper thin walls and you could hear the guests in the next room. The décor was dated but acceptable. Private beach is for watching the sunset not for swimming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgrPGNordic, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; your feedback is very important to us. I apologize that your stay experience did not meet your expectations. Did you let any of our staff know of your concerns during your stay? Our staff is here to address any needs you may have. We rarely have any complaints about noise and perhaps we could have moved you to a different guest room to make your stay more comfortable. We take pride in the appearance of our resort and work at making upgrades each year to enhance your stay experience. We are one of the few resorts in Ephraim that has its own private beach where our guests have enjoyed swimming and relaxing for many years.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to talk about your stay experience further. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope to have the chance to serve you again.

Lara Pensy
Guest Relations Manager
Pine Grove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Undecided... Is the best way to describe our stay here.
I'll start with the pros:
Location is perfect close to everything, but still quiet and peaceful
Beautiful views from every room
Clean pool area, hallways, and grounds
Complimentary water and popcorn was a cute touch
The Cons:
The room was not as expected. This was a special birthday/anniversary celebration we haven't been on an adult only vacation in years! So you can image my disappointment when the hotel called me THE DAY BEFORE WE LEFT AT 3pm to tell me that OUR specialty SUITE was double booked... and we were "lucky" there was still another room available. So we took the smaller non-suite room that was available but really what were our options? A weekend in the middle of summer, Everywhere was booked solid. Management apologized and told me this was due to a online reservation system them have. I was promised a "GREAT" rate on our smaller room. We didn't want to cancel our vacation... so we arrived at hotel where we waited 5 minutes for someone to come to the front desk. When she came to the front desk her mouth was full of food and she couldn't talk..... I explained the situation about the double booking. Which she did not know anything about, there was a discount applied to our bill of 5% which was about $10 off per night... I asked to speak with the manger but she was not there and was not allowed to call her. So we waited until checkout and I discussed the situation to a different women at the counter. She was much more professional and able to help us out with a better rate. So had we not had this room error I would have rated this hotel 4 star instead of 3. Additionally there were some Help Wanted signs so perhaps there is just a staffing shortage. Either way I am undecided if I would give this hotel another shot... so I will go with maybe.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMgrPGNordic, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback about our location, grounds, and amenities. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I further apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regard to the mix-up with your reservation. Our reservation system is extremely reliable on a regular basis and our staff is very professional. What you experienced is not at all typical of how we do business or how our staff serves you. I am glad that another member of our staff was able to address the situation to your satisfaction.

We would like the opportunity to serve you again in the future, as I'm sure you will find that your stay experience will be an extremely positive one. I would also like the opportunity to talk with you directly regarding your stay. Please contact me at your convenience at the number listed below. Thank you.

Lara Pensy
Guest Relations Manager
Pine Grove Resort
(800)292-9494
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Would definitely recommend it to any family or just a couple staying together. They are very courteous, have great rooms along with a pool and love the fact that they have fresh coffee from morning until night! Will come back again for sure!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swede825, General Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank You for your review and for choosing our resort for your Door County vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
3.9 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
170 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Grove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Grove Resort

Property: Pine Grove Resort
Address: 10080 Water Street, P O Box 94, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine Grove Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pine Grove Resort. We are the only resort in Ephraim to have a piece of natural, untouched shoreline, along with a private sand beach that tapers gently into the water.Our rooms are spacious, comfortable and include many amenities free of charge. Our luxury suites include private whirlpool baths. From our heated indoor pool, whirlpool or new pool sundeck, you can gaze down to the sparkling water of Eagle Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pine Grove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Grove Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing