We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time!”
Review of Ephraim Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ephraim Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This our 4th. year coming to Ephraim Motel and we try to come early spring and late summer. Every time has been wonderful and a lot of fun! The grounds are very well kept and the rooms clean and quiet. The pool is our favorite and visiting with Julie and Scott always produces alot of laughs and small talk. We feel there is great value here along with a very good location! BARB & MIKE

Room Tip: Near the pool and breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

On a last minute overnight, we (two adults and 4 children) were able to secure a very affordable accommodations. Quiet, relaxing and peaceful. Beautiful gardens. Child friendly with a very clean pool and playground. Thank you Scott and Julie for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Checked in late on Friday night with 1 friend and myself. On Saturday morning went down to the desk to meet Julie (the owner). My friend who was coming up on Sat. had made the reservations and there was a mix up on how many rooms she had reserved and payment. My friend and Julie talked on the phone and were going to get it straightenned out that afternoon. That never happenned apparently and when we were heading back to the hotel at 9:30 we had a voice mail from Julie (the owner), threatening to lock us out of our room if we did not come down to the office and pay by 10 pm. When we got to the office before 10 pm and prepaid for that second night stay she said she had gone into our room, while we were gone and took out the towels and sheets!! Is this even legal? She was very accusing and rude and we had done nothing against the rules. She had assumed we had more guests staying in the room, which we did not! We were threatenned, she went in our room secretively and the next morning would not even greet us when we came down for breakfast. It was VERY disappointing and we will not be back! It is too bad she had to treat us so poorly or I would have stayed there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BelleHartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCinnkeeper, Owner at Ephraim Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Every guest is encouraged to share their experience at the Ephraim Motel on Tripadvisor. We believe it makes the Ephraim Motel a better place to stay and us better innkeepers. We expect a reviewer to be honest and share their experience in a truthful manner. This review is missing some details that would offer a more factual description of their stay with us.

Reservations, when made, are held with a deposit and confirmed with a statement showing room type, date of stay, number of guests, balance due upon check-in, and our policies. All of the rooms at Ephraim Motel have a limit as to the number of guests that may occupy them. For the safety and security of our guests and our property all guests are asked to register and pay for the balance of their stay upon check-in.

The reviewer and a friend arrived at 2:38 am Saturday morning. We knew they would be arriving after 10 pm, so a key and instuctions to check in the following morning were left for them. When these guests had not checked in by 10 am a message light was turned on so that they would contact the front desk. A short while later they called and asked if they could check in after going out for breakfast. Julie told them that this would be fine and to stop in after their return. When they checked back with us there was confusion as to who was responsible for payment. A different individual had called a few days prior to make the reservation for two nights for two people. At the time of booking we were not made aware that the person making the reservation was not the person arriving to check in. According to the reviewer the person who made the reservation was to arrive later that day with two other friends. Julie informed them the reservation they made was for two adults for two nights in a room with a maximum occupancy of three. As we did not have room to accomodate three additional people, Julie found a room at a different property that had last minute availability for the additional 3 people. They made contact with the other hotel and agreed to stop by and reserve it. During this time the person who had made the reservation was called and she advised Julie not to worry about it and that she would stop by to pay the balance on the reservation.

The reviewer then left with her friend, we thought to meet up with the other 3 friends to straighten out their situation. We did not hear back from them. We did although hear from the other hotel, who told us that they did not show up as agreed. This left us with suspicion as to what was going on. Housekeeping had also told us that these women had asked for extra sheets and towels leading us to believe that extra unregistered guests would be occupying the room. Yes, the extra items were removed from the room awaiting some sort of contact from either the reviewer or the person who made the reservation for clarification.

Late in the day Julie spoke with the person who had made the reservation and advised her that the room that was being held for her by the other hotel was no longer available because that had not gone to confirm it in a timely fashion. She said that was OK because she and the other 2 ladies had decided to go to Green Bay for the night. She also told Julie that she would contact the reviewer and let her know that she would need to stop by that afternoon to complete her check in.

After waiting all afternoon and into the evening for some sort of contact, we left a message on the cell phone of the person who made the reservation. We asked that contact from the reviewer be made by 10pm before the office closed for the evening. She called back with her cell phone number. A message was left on her cell phone asking them to register and pay for this room by 10pm or it would be locked for the night. At this point we had no idea what was going on. At 9:45 pm Saturday they returned to the motel to register for the room, still not clear on who was responsible for payment. The two ladies spoke back and forth about the individual who had booked the room and were surprised to hear that she left Door County. Apparently they never met up with her during the day. Finnally the reviewer offered her credit card for payment. They explained that the extra sheets were needed because the 2 ladies did not want to share a bed. We did give them the sheets to use the twin pullout for the evening.

We want all of our guests to enjoy their Door County vacation and we hope their stay at Ephraim Motel adds positively to it. There was much miscommunication regarding this weekend trip for the ladies involved. Most of it between the person who booked the reservation and the reviewer who thought that the booker had everything under control. We did our part to try to understand the information that was given to us, but were not able to be the middle man for parties that were not able to communicate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Ephraim Motel was a great place to stay. It was very clean and quiet. The staff was really nice and you can tell they take care of the Motel. The owners are on site and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and plan on coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMS1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I booked our stay based on a price comparison, previous reviews, and that they have a pool.

My husband, teenage daughter and I stayed her for a couple of nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Scott and Julie are wonderful hosts, providing a continental breakfast (cereal, toast, muffins, sweet rolls, milk, juice and coffee) in the lobby, which also has games and computer available. The grounds are beautiful with well maintained flowers, lawn furniture and swings, a play area for kids and the wonderful pool, which was welcoming after a day of exploring Door County. The rooms are on the smaller side, but very clean and comfortable. Having a refrigerator and microwave was a plus. Beds are comfortable and the quilts are a nice touch. It was too hot for a bonfire, lawn jarts, lasso games, etc, but perhaps on a visit this fall? Grills available, quiet location conveniently placed between Ephraim and Sister Bay. Across the street from JoJo's Pizza and Gelato, (which has excellent gelato!) and a Putt Putt Mini Golf place.

Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlaS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. It's away from the highway so it's very peaceful and easy to find. The owners were so friendly and helpful and we really liked their adorable chihuahua. The room air conditioners are loud and since we were there on the hottest day of the year everyone had their A/C going day and night. This made things a bit noisy but I'm not going to consider it a complaint since it was so hot the A/C was much appreciated.

The room was clean and comfortable but it was a little cramped especially in the bathroom area. Having a microwave and fridge were big pluses for this place. The outdoor pool was also great and the water temp was perfect. Their website along with the reviews here on TA do a terrific job of presenting this place truthfully, so there were no surprises when we got there.

With so much to do in Door County you really only need your lodging for sleeping and getting cleaned up and this place is more than adequate for those needs. I give it 5 stars as there really aren't any reasons to give them less in my opinion and the price is awesome for the area. We would stay here again.

- Mr. Kooz

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs request a room on the ground floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_0_0_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My adult daughter and I stayed at this charming motel for two nights on a little get-away and were very pleased with our accommodations. The room was very clean, the landscaping was beautiful and the hosts, Scott and Julie, were very friendly. We especially enjoyed having morning coffee on the patio that was filled with lovely flowers and plants. The location is perfect, set away from the road and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.0 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#8 of 17 in Sister Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
807 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
240 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ephraim Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ephraim Motel

Address: 10407 Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Price Range: £78 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ephraim Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ephraim Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing