We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ephraim Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ephraim Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The motel is located between Ephraim downtown and Sister Bay. It is set in from the street to make it more quiet from the traffic. The staff was very nice and easy check-in. Across the street from the motel is mini golf, playgrounds,and shops. The room was small but very clean. There is a microwave and frig. The bathroom sink is located outside the bathroom(shower) area which is nice for multiple people to shower and get ready at the same time. There is a pool which is warm and clean. There is an area for a campfire and kid area to play. Contenential breakfast which includes sweet rolls, cereal, bagel, toast, coffee, tea, and juice. The Door County area is a wonderful vacation place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamayoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    71
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
85
136
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is was our second stay at the Ephraim Motel with our Hosts, Julie and Scott Barnes. To say that it was enjoyable would be an understatement. We had the pleasure of extending our stay by an extra day this year which allowed us to discover even more reasons why we love the Ephraim Motel!

To our delight, our room had undergone some recent remodeling which is an ongoing plan for the Barnes. The upgrades combined with the addition of some new artwork made the already homey room feel even more homey. I cannot emphasize enough how impeccably clean the room was again this year. Not one speck of dust or dirt to be found anywhere!!

More important is the fact that Scott and Julie treated us like family during our stay. We asked them endless questions about local attractions, restaurants, their opinions of restaurants and many other topics over the course of three days!! We changed a few of our plans based upon their recommendations and we were not disappointed with the outcomes. We even have plans for places to visit on our way up to Ephraim next summer because of our conversations with them.

Yes, water views are nice. But there is no other hotel in Door County that comes with a "Barnes View"! That is why we will always stay at the Ephraim Motel. Clean, affordable, beautiful grounds, perfects hosts!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My family of 4 stayed at the Ephraim Motel just before July 4th. My wife booked it on short notice and we knew nothing about it other than what we read here on TripAdvisor. Our experience echos all the other great reports. Julie and Scott and very gracious and helpful hosts, and that makes a big difference. They were cheerful, informative, and really care about their guests. Their Motel is well maintained, and it is very pleasant. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We visited Door County in June and chose to stay at the Ephraim Motel. As many others have commented, this motel is very clean and well priced. Overall, our stay was very pleasant. The following is not meant to be criticisms but more to alert travelers of what to expect and possibly provide some feedback to the owners. The continental breakfast is pretty light on offerings, especially fruit. While they do offer flavors for the coffee, the regular creamer was powdered. For me, there's big difference between liquid and powdered creamers. But, there is a Mobil station just up the road that has decent coffee and liquid creamer. After the first day, we just passed on the continental breakfast altogether. For the price of the room, I would not have expected any sort of breakfast, so the above is not meant as a knock against the motel. The worst part of the room was the toilet. It is the small bowl type. May work well for women to sit on but not for men as there is not enough room in front (you figure out why). Not pleasant to touch the innards of a toilet bowl with any part of my body. Again, this is overall, a very good motel and has to be the cleanest I ever stayed in. I could not find a speck of dirt or mildew in the bathroom, which is uncommon for public lodging. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brymilChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Spent 3 nights here with my two sons. Nice, clean, comfortable rooms, very friendly owners and staff. Perfectly positioned between Ephraim and Sister Bay. The bathrooms in our 2 rooms were a little small (not sure which room types the other reviewer had). We chose the Ephraim based on Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Signedgorgon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manitoba
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This motel is perfectly located in the county. All that we wanted to do was close, or a short drive away, that was great! Julie was a wealth of information and I think that every suggestion she had for us to do, we did, which was helpful as we had never been to the area and needed help deciding. The rooms were clean. Wifi was very fast, which my husband appreciate as he did have some business to conduct and wasn't hassled with sketchy wifi connections. Stay at this motel, you won't e disappointed. Beautiful grounds, pool was also very clean. Every tie we saw Scott he seemed to sweating it out, working hard to keep the property grounds looking well maintained, clearly a labour of live for both he & Julie!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Kentucky
Level Contributor
140 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This place is so awesome I don't know where to begin. The location is excellent. It is a short drive to just about anyplace on the peninsula. The rooms are excellent. They are exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the sink was very nice. It was a decorator sink shaped like a bowl, not your typical motel sink in the counter. Under the sink was drawers with plenty of space for your toiletries. The TV played well with plenty of channels to choose from. The wireless was easy to connect to and above average speed. A/C worked well. There is a microwave and mini-fridge in the room. The grounds are beautifully decorated. The pool was exceptionally clean, the water clear, and it didn't smell strongly of chlorine. It was perfect for a relaxing evening. The housekeeping staff are exceptionally friendly and do a great job, and the owners, Scott & Julie, are just great. They make you feel like you are staying with old friends instead of a motel. They really go out of their way to make sure you have a perfect stay. If you want to know anything at all about the area, just ask them. Everyplace they recommended to eat and see was excellent. This was one of the best vacations my wife and I have had, and a large part of that was due to our stay at the Ephraim. Anytime we're back in the area, this will be the only place we'd consider staying. Thanks so much, Scott & Julie for the hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicNonbelievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCinnkeeper, Owner at Ephraim Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank You so much for your wonderful review. Julie and I proud to help in anyway we can to make a visit to Door County, and especially the Ephraim Motel, a memorable experience. We are coming to realize that our first-time customers check in as guests, but return as friends. We hope you will remember your anniversary trip here fondly for years to come, and we are glad you enjoyed your King room with the bathroom I remodeled this past winter. The vessel sink was my choice and the furniture was Julies. Our wonderful housekeeping staff keeps it all looking nice, and our guests make it special. We are truly blessed, Thank You! Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
1.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Ephraim
201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
159 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ephraim Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ephraim Motel

Property: Ephraim Motel
Address: 10407 Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ephraim Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Ephraim Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing