We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superlatives...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodgings at Pioneer Lane
Ranked #3 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Lodgings is one of maybe only three places I'd recommend staying in Door County, and I've been coming up here for more than forty years. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay the ultimate retreat. If you put a high premium on privacy, quiet, and a luxurious and beautifully appointed room, then this is the place for you. I parked my kids at Grandma's and had a lovely romantic weekend. The Lodgings is walking distance from some of the quaintest little beaches and spots along the water, and centrally located to many of the finer restaurants, galleries and shops. From your room you can wander down the lane and rent a kayak, or jump on a bike and get into Peninsula State Park, where you can hit the links or hike gorgeous trails. Ephraim really is picturesque! I have relatives with homes up here, but often opt to stay at this cozy little Inn because it absolutely top-notch, and I think, very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Each room, or suite is unique and pictures are available online, so no surprises. What you see is wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennerWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is the third time we've stayed here and each time we've enjoyed it more. If you're going to stay on the "noisy" side of Door County, this is the location that I'd recommend. It's just off the main road in Ephraim but it's tucked away to almost be secluded. You can walk to the water, Wilson"s or a great spot for breakfast, the Chef's Hat in under three minutes. Yet when your in your room, it's quiet and relaxing. Each time we've stayed in the Sea Chest room, with a large bath, separate bedroom, small kitchen area and big living space with plenty of windows. The rooms are themed and and they've done a great job with the decorations. There's a porch with a view of the harbor which is a great space to put your feet up and just relax.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

For our first visit to Door County I spent a lot of time researching towns, hotels, inns and attractions before deciding on the Lodgings at Pioneer Lane in Ephraim. What a great choice! We stayed in the Gift Box Suite. It is on the first floor in the front of the building, had a little kitchenette, a living area, bedroom and fantastic bathroom. The king size bed was very comfy and I am on a mission to get the same sheets for my own home. The little front porch was perfect for relaxing with a cup of coffee or a glass of wine. Alicia and Hugh were perfect hosts who checked in with us each day and gave us great tips on attractions and restaurants. Ephraim is a lovely little village, very picturesque and centrally located for just about anything you want to do in Door County. If you go, we can recommend Stones Throw Winery for a tasting, Chef's Hat Restaurant for a great meal, the ferry to Washington Island from Northport Pier and Bea's Ho-made Jam and Bread and Butter Pickles for gift giving.

Room Tip: We liked the Gift Box location on the first floor. It's in the front of the building but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BARBS9754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful rooms. Reasonably priced. Great views. Very romantic. Highly recommend this place. Jacuzzi and fireplace with small kitchen type area perfect for snacks and sipping wine overlooking the water.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovethissight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great location in the heart of Ephraim across the street from the lake and the beautiful sunsets. The rooms are cozy, clean and beautifully decorated. The owners are very friendly and ready to help you feel at home. We felt like we were staying with old friends!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgingpioneerlane, Owner at Lodgings at Pioneer Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

We’d like to take this opportunity to say to this guest and all our other guests from this season and season’s past: We’ve got the best, most interesting, thoughtful and respectful guests innkeepers could ever imagine. Not only do they enjoy staying at the Lodgings and coming “home” after a day of adventure they often recount their experiences serving to re-acquaint us, as often too busy year around residents with how great it is to be here in Door County. Thanks, one and all-we want you all back to continue the friendship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Imagine...waking after a thoroughly restful night's sleep on a bed fit for a king. This, after an evening relaxing in the whirlpool. watching a DVD, or heating up a slice of scrumptious cherry pie in the kitchenette and washing it down with a glass of chilled Door County Riesling. It's 7 AM, you've fixed the pot of Starbucks in the Cuisinart, splashed water on your face in the finely-appointed bathroom, and you step out onto the balcony overlooking Eagle Harbor.

Taking your seat on the antique iron chair you look out over the bay, its still waters like a mirror, reflecting multiple sailboats at anchor, glistening in the morning Sun. You look up at the sky and see a breathtaking array of seagulls gliding on motionless wings, riding the currents as if pulled by a string, and you think to yourself..THIS is what life is all about.

And such was the indelible impression made by our stay in the Leaf Room at the Lodgings at Pioneer Lane. Regardless of whether it's a first time visit to Door County as was our case, or if you've been there before, you would be hard-pressed to find a more perfect setting.

Denis M.
Hudson, Iowa

Room Tip: It's a matter of personal preference...whether one prefers first or second floor, lively colorfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discriminatingdiner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was our 3rd or 4th stay here in the past few years. Hugh and Alicia are great hosts. The rooms were very clean and quiet, spacious too. Very well appointed. Located behind the Ephraim Village Hall, this is the perfect Door County location for us. Very close to water and walking distance to Wilson's and the Old Post Office restaurant. I wish we could come here more often

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John13355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
839 reviews
2.2 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
8.8 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
21.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
3 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgings at Pioneer Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgings at Pioneer Lane

Address: 9998 Pioneer Lane, Post Office Box 275, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range: £112 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ephraim, Door County's most picturesque vacation destination, our guests are pampered in one of our seven spacious rooms, each uniquely decorated. Appointments include: sitting area (five with gas fireplaces), secluded private balcony or porch, kitchenette, king-size bed, tiled bath and two-person whirlpools, Cable TV and WIFI. Eagle Harbor is just a few steps away from our front door. Our inn creates the perfect setting for a romantic getaway anytime of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodgings at Pioneer Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing