We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodgings at Pioneer Lane
Ranked #3 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our 10 year anniversary trip at this inn. We stayed in the Leaf Room and it was perfect for us. Quiet, clean, large room, a modern style, and had many great amenities like a whirlpool and kitchenette. It's in the heart of Ephraim, so it's within walking distance of many great restaurants and the Lake. The owner was extremely nice and gave us great restaurant recommendations. We will definitely stay at Lodgings at Pioneer Lane the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spontaneously headed to Door County. We thought, "Wineries, food, and beautiful scenery will make for a great break from the every day grind." It turned out to be the down season, but that turned out to be just fine. The couple who own and run the place were extremely welcoming, gave us a tour before we booked, and even gave us a discount due to the down season. The room was spacious, up to date, had a fireplace, a whirlpool tub, and small accommodations that made it like a home away from home. They let us checkout at our convenience and didn't require us to give them any booking notifications for any future nights. Had it not been for the difficulty of finding groceries or a reasonable place to eat, we were going to stay another night. The room, and owners, were nice enough that we even considered staying longer. We ended up running into Chef Mitch, from Chop, while hiking in Peninsula State Park. I wish that had happened sooner , because he let us know of a Piggly Wiggly and his restaurant in Sister Bay. After checking out their menu, I wish we had known before going to the White Gull Inn for dinner.

At the end of the day, the down season had us a little bummed, but the room was a great find. It had the best price, even without the discount, and was one of the largest rooms in the area. Other places were charging $100 more, with less space and less amenities. After it all, I would suggest going at any time of the year. We had a great time, even with the entire town to ourselves...literally. Had it been the prime season, it would have been ten times the find. You better book these rooms seasons out. This place will fill.

Some photos of the park and room are attached to the review.

Room Tip: We had the nautical themed room, but all are great. If you are there during the prime season (summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chan174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This inn was wonderful. So wonderful that we hated to leave! It was difficult to find an inn in Door County that would reserve a room for one night - I am very thankful we came across Lodgings at Pioneer Lane and lucky they accepted our one night reservation.

The private porch was darling - bright red Adirondack chairs greeted us as we arrived to our suite, complete with pumpkins, flowers and more flowers.

We were more than pleased with our suite - The Gift Box Suite - the online photos are right on, but the rooms were larger in person and very stylish in decor and colors (not country/crafty looking or quilt/antique filled we find in most inns) - this was perfect for someone our age (mid 40s)! The inn is so close to the water, and dining options a walk away. This is just a lovely place to stay.

Our suite had a DVD player with movies in the office, books to read & a well-equipped "kitchen" with wine glasses & an opener, which we needed after a visit to a local winery. Even included table linens! The owners left a nice letter explaining everything and giving suggestions on local shops and dining options.

The grounds were gorgeous & everything was incredible clean and well-kept. They even have bikes you can use during your stay (although we were not there long enough to bike). There was no noise from neighbors or street traffic either (just far enough from street but close enough to water & great view from our suite!)

The Gift Box Suite was fabulous. The photos really do not do it justice! The bathroom was substantial. The bath linens were large & plush. But perhaps the best part of the suite was the luxurious bed. It was soft, plenty of pillows, and the linens were a superior quality not seen in many places. As we drove around Ephraim, Fish Creek & every place further north, we KNEW we made the right choice. Yet it was just minutes to the busy Fish Creek area.

Can’t wait to come back next year and stay here again, but next time longer! Nothing could have made the Lodgings at Pioneer Lane a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Oct 9-12 2013. Blossom Room
A wonderful room on 2nd floor, perfect for 1 or 2 persons. Generally quiet. This antique furnished room evoked a nostalgic ambiance with it's comfortable queen bed, fireplace (gas), and small couch with coffee table. Several magazines and other materials about Door County adorn the table and Alicia, one of the owners, is the perfect host--very helpful and accomodating, yet not intrusive.

Kitchenette has sink, microwave, mini-fridge (no freezer compartment) and assorment of nice plates, cups, wine glasses and some utensils including several cork screws. Thoughtfully, an LED flashlight stood on one shelf. A small dining table is accompanied by two wooden chairs.

A huge jetted bathtub is in the main room and a good sized walk in shower behind a glass door in the bathroom. Plush, absorbant LL Bean towels are a welcome touch and the bathroom floor is attractively tiled. Though this is an efficiency, it is of good size. I'd guess at least 625 sq ft or more not including a large bathroom and a walk-in closet. There is a small TV with DVD player, though I could not locate a chanel guide which would have been helpful. The private covered porch has a metal table with two chairs that look out over the side parking area, but maily at a stand of trees.

WIFI is free, fast and worked well with my iPhone. If you have AT&T there is little or no cell phone service on most of the peninsula. Edge at best in some spots. There is no phone in the room. Several shops and restaurants, including Wilson's Ice Cream Parlor, are within a short walk as is Eagle Harbor. Lodging at Pioneer Lane will always be on my short list for great lodging in Door County.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGJones_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Beautiful large room with nice amenities in a beautiful setting. Loved the jacquizi, the porch, the fireplace and the ambiance. Quiet and very convenient to everything. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Think about dinner in Wickman House in Ellison Bay about 15 minutes away - if you do go try the artisan salad.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank creativity2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed in Bills room. Was wonderful and the price was right. The owners decorate with character and truly like to please their guests. Gave helpful information and recommendations. Hope to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlalovesMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This inn has the appearance of an original old historic building, but it was constructed new! The couple that owns and runs the inn also designed and built it. The husband is an architect builder. They did a fantastic job of making it appear that this building was here for a century! I think there are 7 rooms (see their website ). There are 3 suites on the 2nd floor, 2 on the first floor, and 2 adjoining suites in the building next to the main inn. These last 2 are actually 2 large bedrooms joined together with a nice living room but can be booked separately also.

We stayed in the Cabin room, which is on the 2nd floor facing the front of the inn. Which means it faces the water. There is a small balcony in the front with chairs so you can relax out there and enjoy the view. The view of the water is partially obstructed by the huge tree that is in front of the inn, but you can still see the bluffs and other parts of the neighborhood. You enter all the rooms via the side porch. This entry is locked which is nice to know. You park in front of the inn or on the side by the porch so loading and unloading is easy.

The Cabin room is very large with lots of windows that open. Nice king bed with very nice sheets! Large night stands/tables with lamps. Large gas fireplace in one corner with a small couch and coffee table. Also a large flatscreen tv and video player. Small kitchen area with built in cupboards, small fridge, and microwave and sink. A small coffee maker with Starbucks coffee packets and lots of creamers!! Both the real creamers in the fridge and lots of powder ones as well. I used almost all of them! There is a also a toaster and silverware, lots of nice dishes, bowls, and glassware, including tumblers, wine glasses, and beer glasses. Wine opener. A table with 2 antique chairs. (These chairs are kind of small and not all that comfortable for reading the computer. I had to move to the couch.) There is a large whirlpool tub also. The bathroom is very nice. The sink area is separate from the toilet and shower room. There were 2 toilets in this room, regular and a bidet. Nice large tiled shower with seat and great water pressure!! Towels were super thick and soft from LL Bean. At the sink is a liquid soap dispenser. I found that this soap did not get very foamy so I would have preferred a nice bar of soap. There is a nice size walk in closet next to the sink where you can lay out your luggage and hang clothes on the rod with hangers provided. There is a built in ice machine in the hall outside the door. (Blends in with wainscoting and no noise from it!)

We had to turn the wall a/c unit on since it was quite warm. There is hot water heat controlled by a wall thermostat for cold weather. Everything was very nicely decorated with the up north cabin theme! It was very up to date and clean. The innkeeper was also very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this inn!

I have a just a couple of small nitpicks / suggestions. There were no paper napkins or paper towels that I could find. It would be nice to have some. At first the bed seemed comfortable, but it is just a tad on the soft side. My husband got a lower backache from sleeping on it. But the sheets were SUPER smooth! And the small antique chairs at the table were not comfortable after a few minutes of using my laptop. I had to sit on the couch to use my computer.

Room Tip: The other room on the 2nd floor that faces the water is the Leaf room and it has an outside balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
841 reviews
2.2 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
8.8 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
3 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgings at Pioneer Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgings at Pioneer Lane

Address: 9998 Pioneer Lane, Post Office Box 275, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range: £111 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ephraim, Door County's most picturesque vacation destination, our guests are pampered in one of our seven spacious rooms, each uniquely decorated. Appointments include: sitting area (five with gas fireplaces), secluded private balcony or porch, kitchenette, king-size bed, tiled bath and two-person whirlpools, Cable TV and WIFI. Eagle Harbor is just a few steps away from our front door. Our inn creates the perfect setting for a romantic getaway anytime of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodgings at Pioneer Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing