We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything We Needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodgings at Pioneer Lane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodgings at Pioneer Lane
Ranked #2 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
296 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Everything We Needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was through Trip Advisor that I became aware of the Lodgings at Pioneer Lane. What really caught my eye was the affordable price for Bill's Room and we planned our two day get-away based on its availability. We weren't disappointed. First of all, the Lodgings are in the heart of Ephraim, right behind the Village Hall and just steps from everything that Ephraim has to offer. The room was rather plain but clean which is important to us. Bill's room offered a very comfortable king size bed, cable TV, a shower, and a coffee maker with Starbucks coffee. However, know that toiletries are limited to hand soap (no shampoo.) Outside the door was a small deck area with a cafe table and two chairs. The Lodgings are not a B & B so don't expect breakfast. However, there are several restaurants in the area from which to choose. Many people have suggested Chef's Hat because of its proximity. However, when you're up at 6 a.m. and Chef's Hat first opens at 8 a.m., that was not an option for us. Instead, we walked 1/2 block to the Second Story and had a delicious breakfast at 7:30 a.m. Believe it or not, one of the most notable things for us was the availability of two very nice mountain bikes which were free for the use. They are kept in the garage right next to Bill's Room and are available on a first come, first serve basis. The bikes allowed us to see more of the area than we would have seen walking. While we never met the owners, I did find one of the groundskeepers to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Bill's room doesn't have the space of the suites but is much more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
145
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I recently spent two nights at the Lodgings, and I must say that it is absolutely charming. Bill's Room was perfect with a large, comfy bed and a little outdoor patio. The Bay, restaurants, and shopping are only steps away. Alicia is a gracious innkeeper. Kudos all around!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dd1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Our experience was great. Even though you are close to the Main Street along the water, the property is quiet, quaint and just what we were looking for. Our windows were open every night and the only sounds we ever heard were the birds in the morning. We stayed in the Leaf room. Very comfortable King bed along with additional chairs, a deck with a table and chairs, a roomy bathroom with a great shower and a refrigerator, coffee maker and a microwave. This room is what you would expect in a B&B but without the breakfast. We like to get going early so we didn't want to wait for a meal in the morning. We used the 2 complimentary bikes to go to Peninsula State park. You are close to everything Ephraim has to offer. I like to run in the morning and I found a nice route from the property. Turn left on the main road to German street and take a left up the hill. Left again on Townline road until you get back to Hwy 42. Turn left once more and go back to Ephraim. 5.45 miles. If you want a shorter run turn left on Count Q from Townline and you come right back to the property for a run of just less than 3 miles.

We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougds9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

When my husband and I book rooms for our vacations, it is not unusual for us to spend many weeks researching for just the right spot. Having dropped off our daughter at camp, we were looking forward to five nights in Door County relaxing. The first two nights we wanted a place near a town where we could walk and enjoy the things near the inn or hotel. Without a doubt we found the right spot.

The Lodgings at Pioneer Lane offer stunning large suites within steps of the harbor and several eating choices. The gift box room had a kitchenette with all the supplies to eat a full meal. Microwave, fridge, glass and silverware. Toaster under the sink, if needed. Large living room and bath. Wonderfully comfy king four poster bed. Two televisions. It was one of those spaces that made us never want to leave! An afternoon of rain and cool days helped start our trip off right--napping and relaxing. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Ephraim was deserted when we arrived (in fact for all of our stay!) as it was pre-season. The key had been left for us by Alicia and Hugh as pre-arranged and all went according to plan. We were in the Leaf Room - a lovely big room with a balcony and a lake view. We didn't use the fire or the jacuzzi bath, but were blown away by how big and well equipped the room was. We even managed to borrow a kettle to be able to make that first morning cup of tea!

We were disappointed to find that that there was nowhere to eat in the evening without going outside Ephraim, as there were places we really liked the look of (but they were shut as it was out of season). However, the Chef's Hat Cafe was less than 30 seconds from our door which was brilliant for breakfast, and in season also opens in the evening. We met Hugh for a chat on our first morning and he was charming. So, all-in-all the Lodgings at Pioneer Lane are brilliant, ideally placed for restaurants (in season) and in a really beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the other rooms, but can highly recommend the Leaf Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole_NorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Perfect location. The room was lovely with a perfect view of the lake. We had a marvelous time here. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly. The owners were very sweet to us and got us checked in a jiffy. Would definitely recommend it and will stay here again on our next trip up here. Really marvelous little place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TbabydollW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We normally stay at B&Bs when visiting Door County but decided to try somewhere with more space in case the weather was bad...which it was. The Sea Chest Suite was absolutely perfect in every way! This was by far the most relaxing stay we've had in DC yet, even with the cold rainy weather. The suite itself was tastefully decorated, spacious, very clean, and had all the right amenities (fireplace, view of the water, whirlpool tub, comfortable bed, and a kitchenette). We also appreciated local touches such as handmade soap/shampoo, pottery coffee mugs, rugs, etc. The owners were very friendly and gave us great recommendations. We walked to the Chef's Hat for a wonderful breakfast each morning! We would highly recommend both the Lodgings and the Chef's Hat!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2ChemEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Point Inn
High Point Inn
#6 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgings at Pioneer Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgings at Pioneer Lane

Property: Lodgings at Pioneer Lane
Address: 9998 Pioneer Lane, Post Office Box 275, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ephraim, Door County's most picturesque vacation destination, our guests are pampered in one of our seven spacious rooms, each uniquely decorated. Appointments include: sitting area (five with gas fireplaces), secluded private balcony or porch, kitchenette, king-size bed, tiled bath and two-person whirlpools, Cable TV and WIFI. Eagle Harbor is just a few steps away from our front door. Our inn creates the perfect setting for a romantic getaway anytime of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lodgings at Pioneer Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing