We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodgings at Pioneer Lane
Ranked #3 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I take an annual getaway to Door County and have tried a number of hotels and resorts. This by far is among the best we have been to. What really sets this apart is the value you get for your money. The Gift Box room we stayed in was a very nice size and had all the amenities we could ask for. The hotel is centrally located so you can walk just about anywhere you like within Ephraim. We even took a Horse Carriage ride one evening which was amazing. We caught the sunset over the bay just as the ride was coming to an end.

There is also an amazing little cafe right down the street from the hotel that serves excellent breakfast and desserts. Wilson's is also close by for lunch or an ice cream treat.

The owners are around during the day and make a point to come and visit when you are heading out or coming back in. They go out of there way to make sure you know where you are going and what is available in the area. They really make the experience wonderful.

I have to admit when I found this hotel online, I was a bit nervous. It almost seemed to good to be true especially for the price. We also liked the fact that there was no minimum stay required. Most resorts during the busy season seem to require a 3 night stay when you include a weekend day.

We found that the roads in Ephraim are not marked very well, but we managed to find the hotel just fine. Also, the whole process of getting your room key out of the lock box was a little confusing since it was our first time.

We have found our new little hot spot for vacationing in Door County. Can't wait to try a different room next time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchwabeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stay here in Ephraim during a quick visit to NorDor. Ephraim was a great quiet town close to the state park and Fish Creek without all the crowds. The inn was a great place to stay. The room was large and clean with a views of the water.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

What a great place in a great, little historic town. Hugh greeted us as we pulled in and helped us with great suggestions for places to see and eat. All were excellent suggestions. We stayed in Bills Room, which provided the perfect accommodations we were looking for at a reasonable rate. We took a chance without a recommendation, great selection we would definitely stay there again. Don't miss Wilson's Ice Cream Shoppe...right around the corner!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judimac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

 

On our first visit to Ephraim (to celebrate our anniversary), we were lucky enough to stay at the Lodgings.  The Blossom Room was amazing - spacious, elegant, beautifully decorated and comfortable with fireplace and whirlpool.  The amount of living space was remarkable and included a dining area.  We really loved sitting on our private covered balcony while looking into the trees and enjoying a cup of coffee.  There were many thoughtful touches including snacks, Starbucks coffee and a bike for loan.  The Lodgings are convenient to the lake, yet set in a quiet area just a short walk to Wilson's Ice Cream and restaurants.  The owners, Hugh and Alicia, were very welcoming and helpful with great restaurant and hiking recommendations.  We particularly liked breakfast at the Chef's Hat (amazing scones) right around the corner We vote this the best place we have stayed in Door County -and Ephraim is our favorite place, reminiscent of a New England seacoast village.                     

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMWZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We had a small family reunion and booked the Sea Chest Room, Gift Box Room, and the cabin suite. When we arrived (it was about 4:30 p.m. on Sat....not such an unusual time), no one was available to check us in or greet us. We finally located what we figured were our rooms and found keys to two of them in little mailboxes. No note or instructions with the keys or beforehand in correspondence. I tried the buzzer on the office but there was no response. Finally I called the hotel number from my cell on my own roaming minutes and the owner asked if I wanted her to come over or if I just wanted to let myself in. She told me where the other key was (around on the other side...not by the door).....but the whole check-in procedure rather set me on edge. We didn't even see the managers all the next day....not until a small portion of the day on Monday.
The rooms are nice. They are large and it was a good place to be with a group of people. We could gather in any one of the living rooms and talk. The rooms are also very clean.
The price is somewhat high for what you get. No breakfast or anything. We have stayed many times at the Village Green Lodge in Ephraim and Sue's breakfasts are of a gourmet nature and there is a homemade tea-type snack every afternoon (Sue has her own cookbook out.) No food at the Lodgings except coffee in the room.
I was also surprised by the lack of amenities. There was no shampoo. conditioner, or lotion. There wasn't even a bar of soap. If you used the hot tub, the liquid soap dispenser was so high up on the wall that you couldn't reach it.
No pool either.... And a regular street leads into it so people are always mistakenly driving in and turning around with their headlights shining in your window.....and people walking by all of the time through the property.
When talking to the owner early on about our reunion, she had promised to set a picnic table between our units so we could use it. She said she made a note, but that never happened.
The only reason we didn't go back to the Village Green Lodge this time was that they don't take children (one came for this family reunion) and the Lodgings did. But we will definitely return to Village Green and not the Lodgings next time. With the price, lack of food, lack of attention by the managers, lack of amenities, traffic through the property, it just wasn't our favorite.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgingpioneerlane, Owner at Lodgings at Pioneer Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2010

Comments from guests are always welcome; we tend to get wrapped up in the many “pluses” of our beautiful accommodations and think we’ve thought of everything. And constructive criticisms have always produced-to the best of our abilities-an even better stay for future guests.



That being said, our Lodgings is a lodgings! We are not a B&B and we have tried very hard not to misrepresent ourselves as such. You will find coffee packets and a variety of teas to get you started in the morning. In all of our seven rooms except Bill’s we have refrigerators for your use, but you will find no common room or food service. We direct you instead to the 5 different and excellent restaurants in walking distance for your breakfast.



Our location has its special features. We are in the center of the village, hence neighbors “cut through” on their way to the shore. Cars, as hard as we try to indicate “No Exit,” do wheel in without noticing that they will have to turn around. Even with the village swirling around us, all of our guests have told us they find our location very quiet-you will get a good night’s sleep! A word about our self check-in: The steps to retrieve your key are clearly detailed in the confirmation letter, mailed or e-mailed, and it has worked extremely well for us. While our office is now located on the first floor of our Lodging building, we are not always around. With a surge of success this year-hundreds of new stays and an equal amount of return guests-we are stretched thin. We promise we will grow into our new success and be many things to many people-just not a B&B-ever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We weren't disappointed in any respect. This a beautiful property in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3peripatetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

All the little luxuries you'd expect in a B&B, but without feeling like you're staying in Aunt Millie's guest room. A well-designed, comfortable room. Quiet, but still centrally located. You can walk to shops, restaurants, and Ephraim Public Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcampbell1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
857 reviews
2.2 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
21.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
3 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
418 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgings at Pioneer Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgings at Pioneer Lane

Address: 9998 Pioneer Lane, Post Office Box 275, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range: £111 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ephraim, Door County's most picturesque vacation destination, our guests are pampered in one of our seven spacious rooms, each uniquely decorated. Appointments include: sitting area (five with gas fireplaces), secluded private balcony or porch, kitchenette, king-size bed, tiled bath and two-person whirlpools, Cable TV and WIFI. Eagle Harbor is just a few steps away from our front door. Our inn creates the perfect setting for a romantic getaway anytime of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodgings at Pioneer Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing